TBR Thursday 115…

Episode 115…

Well, suddenly my reading has dropped to almost non-existent this week, due to a whole variety of (too boring to mention) factors. Hopefully normal service will be resumed next week. Given that, I’m delighted that the TBR has stayed stationary – at 196! My Queen of Willpower crown is still shining…

Here are a few that will rise to the top of the pile soon…

Sci-fi

Courtesy of Amazon Vine. Having loved the Oxford World’s Classic edition of The Time Machine recently, I was delighted to be offered this companion volume, especially since this one is on my Classics Club list…

The Blurb says: “The creatures I had seen were not men, had never been men. They were animals, humanised animals…”

A shipwrecked Edward Prendick finds himself stranded on a remote Noble island, the guest of a notorious scientist, Doctor Moreau. Disturbed by the cries of animals in pain, and by his encounters with half-bestial creatures, Edward slowly realises his danger and the extremes of the Doctor’s experiments.

Saturated in pain and disgust, suffused with grotesque and often unbearable images of torture and bodily mutilation, The Island of Doctor Moreau is unquestionably a shocking novel. It is also a serious, and highly knowledgeable, philosophical engagement with Wells’s times, with their climate of scientific openness and advancement, but also their anxieties about the ethical nature of scientific discoveries, and their implications for religion. Darryl Jones’s introduction places the book in both its scientific and literary context; with the Origin of Species and Gulliver’s Travels, and argues that The Island of Doctor Moreau is, like all of Wells’s best fiction, is fundamentally a novel of ideas.

* * * * *

Crime

Courtesy of NetGalley. I enjoyed Kanae Minato’s Confessions very much, so have been looking forward to this one being released…

The Blurb says:  The tense, chilling story of four women haunted by a childhood trauma.

When they were children, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into separating from their friend Emili by a mysterious stranger. Then the unthinkable occurs: Emili is found murdered hours later. Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko weren’t able to accurately describe the stranger’s appearance to the police after the Emili’s body was discovered. Asako, Emili’s mother, curses the surviving girls, vowing that they will pay for her daughter’s murder.

Like Confessions, Kanae Minato’s award-winning, internationally bestselling debut novel, Penance is a dark and voice-driven tale of revenge and psychological trauma that will leave readers breathless.

* * * * *

Fiction

Courtesy of NetGalley again. (You can tell my plan to cut down on review copies is really working, cant’ you?) Another one I’ve been waiting on for a very long time, since 2011 in fact when I loved his Gods Without Men

The Blurb says: Two twenty-something New Yorkers: Seth, awkward and shy, and Carter, the trust fund hipster. They have one thing in common: an obsession with music. Rising fast on the New York producing scene, they stumble across an old blues song long forgotten by history — and everything starts to unravel. Carter is drawn far down a path that allows no return, and Seth has no choice but to follow his friend into the darkness.

Trapped in a game they don’t understand, Hari Kunzru’s characters move unsteadily across the chessboard, caught between black and white, performer and audience, righteous and forsaken. But we have been here before, oh so many times over, and the game always ends the same way…

Electrifying, subversive and wildly original, White Tears is a ghost story and a love story, a story about lost innocence and historical guilt. This unmissable novel penetrates the heart of a nation’s darkness, encountering a suppressed history of greed, envy, revenge and exploitation, and holding a mirror up to the true nature of America today.

* * * * *

Crime

And yes, you’ve guessed – NetGalley again! I still haven’t managed to backtrack on this series since jumping in at number 7, but now here’s number 8 arriving and I couldn’t resist…

The Blurb says: What if all your secrets were put online? Sam Morpeth is growing up way too fast, left to fend for a younger sister with learning difficulties when their mother goes to prison and watching her dreams of university evaporate. But Sam learns what it is to be truly powerless when a stranger begins to blackmail her online, drawing her into a trap she may not escape alive. Who would you turn to? Meanwhile, reporter Jack Parlabane has finally got his career back on track, but his success has left him indebted to a volatile source on the wrong side of the law. Now that debt is being called in, and it could cost him everything. What would you be capable of? Thrown together by a common enemy, Sam and Jack are about to discover they have more in common than they realise – and might be each other’s only hope.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

* * * * *

38 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 115…

    • It’s odd, but the blurb kinda makes me go “Hmm!” I certainly wouldn’t have picked it on that basis, so I’m just trusting him based on how much I enjoyed his earlier book… we shall see!

  1. Well, I give you all credit, FictionFan, for keeping that TBR pile stable! Well done! As for your books, the Minato interests me very much. Like you, I thought Confessions was well done, and I’d like to what she’s done with this one. And of course, Brookmyre’s got a lot of talent.

    • Haha! Of course, since I wrote that little blurb the position may have changed somewhat… 😉 Yes, I’m looking forward to Penance, though I must say I was surprised by how similar the blurb sounds to Confessions. But we shall see!

  2. I also have a copy of Want You Gone. I also seem to have gained a copy of it with its different (I guess US) title. Oops ah well will be able to get them both ticked off on NetGalley together

    • Hahahaha! You made me go check since I currently have two books by him from NG, which seemed odd – and yes, me too!! Really must pay more attention to blurbs! Oh well, maybe I’ll read them chapter about, one with an American accent and the other with a Scottish accent… 😉

    • I think it sounds utterly horrific – I’ll be amazed if I manage to get through it! But hopefully the introduction will be fun… 😉 If Penance is anything like her last book, it’ll be pretty dark too, but more in a psychological way…

    • Oddly, I don’t think I’d have picked White Tears based on the blurb. I’m kinda trusting him because of how much I enjoyed his previous book… we shall see!

  3. I think you’ll struggle with Dr Moreau – I never managed to finish it. Vivisection is one of my pet horrors.
    I really must get around to Brookmyre – my friend I. is a great fan and keeps recommending the Parlabane series.

    • Yeah – I even struggled to get through the blurb!! But maybe the introduction will be fun… 😉

      Well, this will only be my second, so I’m not far ahead of you. Sadly I believe he has a pretty big back catalogue…

  4. I would choose Dr. Moreau, though why, I don’t know. I have tried to read it before and been unable to……wishful thinking perhaps? Out of all it sounds the most interesting to me.

    • For some reason I’ve never tried it, and looking at the blurb I’ll be amazed if I manage to get through it! Maybe I should have checked the blurb before putting it onto my Classics Club list… 😉

  5. I read The Island of Doctor Moreau a few years ago and remember finding it very disturbing – but maybe not quite as bad as that blurb makes it sound! It was interesting, though, and worth reading if you can manage it. 🙂

    • Well, I’m pleased to hear it might not be quite as bad as the blurb sounds! I do always find HG Wells interesting though, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed – and even if I can’t get through the book, I bet I’ll enjoy the introduction… 😉

  6. I only have ONE Netgalley book to read now and one I’m waiting to hear on. I’m quite proud of myself as I have resisted some of those pesky emails lately. However I do have five more Elizabeth Fair novels to read, courtesy of their republisher. But it’s a lot better than it was.

    • Wow! That’s fantastic! Frighteningly, between NetGalley, publishers and Amazon Vine, I currently have 38 outstanding – and another two I know of on the way! I need help… 😉

  7. My mother had a copy of The Island of Dr Moreau by the side of her bed for years and the cover terrified me. It was one of the few books which I got rid of quite happily after my parents died. I never read it!

    • Ha! I’m really regretting choosing it – the cover of this edition looks kinda horrific too, though not as horrific as the blurb! Still, at least it’s short – maybe I’ll just read it with my eyes closed… 😉

  8. Oh my goodness, no wonder you’re having such trouble lightening the TBR. There’s just so many delicious-sounding books out there, begging to be read! I do admire your restraint, FF, and that’s one lovely crown. Bet it looks fabulous on you, too!!

    • Haha! I know! Somehow I have to stop looking at all the new shiny books so I can find time to read some of the poor old neglected ones already on my shelves… The crown is gorgeous (but don’t tell the Queen I’ve stolen it, though – she might start yelling “Off with her head!” *shudders*)

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

