TBR Thursday 113…

Episode 113…

Well, the TBR briefly touched the magic 200 but fortunately I managed to finish a few books quickly (not Trotsky obviously – the book is longer than the Revolution).  So phew! I’m back down to 198 and totally confident that a downward trend is just around the corner… if only I could get to the corner past the stacks of books in the way…

Here are a few that will hit the top of the heap soon…

The winner of the Begorrathon Poll

sirenGosh, I think that’s the closest poll I’ve ever held! But this one took the lead right from the beginning and held on all the way through. Thanks to everyone who took part! I’m looking forward to reading and reviewing Siren in March, and will get to the other books over the next few months…

The Blurb says: Róisín Burns has spent the past twenty years becoming someone else; her life in New York is built on lies. A figure from her Belfast childhood flashes up on the news: Brian Lonergan has also reinvented himself. He is now a rising politician in a sharp suit. But scandal is brewing in Ireland and Róisín knows the truth.

Armed with the evidence that could ruin Lonergan, she travels back across the Atlantic to the remote Lamb Island to hunt him down. But Lonergan is one step ahead; when Róisín arrives on the island, someone else is waiting for her…

* * * * *

Fiction

bright-air-blackCourtesy of NetGalley. I once had the great good fortune to see the wonderful Diana Rigg perform as Medea in a brilliant stage production and have been fascinated by her story ever since. So this book has quite a lot to live up to…

The Blurb says:  In Bright Air Black, David Vann transports us to 13th century B.C. to give a nuanced and electric portrait of the life of one of ancient mythology’s most fascinating and notorious women, Medea.

In brilliant poetic prose Bright Air Black brings us aboard the ship Argo for its epic return journey across the Black Sea from Persia’s Colchis – where Medea flees her home and father with Jason, the Argonauts, and the Golden Fleece. Vann’s reimagining of this ancient tale offers a thrilling, realist alternative to the long held notions of Medea as monster or sorceress. We witness with dramatic urgency Medea’s humanity, her Bronze Age roots and position in Greek society, her love affair with Jason, and her tragic demise.

Atmospheric and spellbinding, Bright Air Black is an indispensable, fresh and provocative take on one of our earliest texts and the most intimate and corporal version of Medea’s story ever told.

* * * * *

Crime

the-legacyCourtesy of Amazon Vine. I’ve read a few of Yrsa Sigurdardóttir’s books now and I’ve always liked and sometimes loved them, so I’m looking forward to this one. And it’ll be nice to actually start a series at the beginning for once!

The Blurb says: The murder was meant as a punishment – but what sin could justify the method? The only person who might have answers is the victim’s seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she’s not talking.

Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children’s House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn’t best pleased. But she’s determined to keep little Margret safe.

It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He’s telling a dark and secret story – but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

* * * * *

Fiction on Audio

the-tsar-of-love-and-technoCourtesy of Audible. Regular visitor underrunner recommended this book to me some months ago. Although it’s not about the Revolution as such, it looks at the history of the USSR and Russia over most of the last century so I’m hoping it will fit in with my Reading the Russian Revolution Challenge. From the sample, the narration sounds as if it will be great… and isn’t it a fab cover?

The Blurb says: This stunning, exquisitely written collection introduces a cast of remarkable characters whose lives intersect in ways both life-affirming and heartbreaking. A 1930s Soviet censor painstakingly corrects offending photographs, deep underneath Leningrad, bewitched by the image of a disgraced prima ballerina. A chorus of women recount their stories and those of their grandmothers, former gulag prisoners who settled their Siberian mining town. Two pairs of brothers share a fierce, protective love. Young men across the former USSR face violence at home and in the military. And great sacrifices are made in the name of an oil landscape unremarkable except for the almost incomprehensibly peaceful past it depicts. In stunning prose, with rich character portraits and a sense of history reverberating into the present, The Tsar of Love and Techno is a captivating work from one of our greatest new talents.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

* * * * *

43 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 113…

  1. The Legacy looks really good! It’s on my TBR, I haven’t read any of her books yet but I also want to read The Silence of the Sea and The Undesired. They all sound good:)

    • I read The Undesired and enjoyed it – I’ve enjoyed any of her books that I’ve read, and loved one or two of them, so I have high hopes for The Legacy. I also have The Silence of the Sea on my Kindle, but just can’t seem to fit in anything but review copies at the moment! Grrr!

  2. Well, I say you deserve a piece of cake for pulling that TBR back from the brink, FictionFan!! As to the books here, I’m really interested in The Legacy. I already like Yrsa Sigurðardóttir very much, and I’d like to find out what she does with this plot.

    • I do, don’t I? Two pieces, in fact! 😉 I have very high hopes for The Legacy since, as you know, I’m a bit of an Yrsa fan. And I do like the idea of actually reading the first of a series, for once…

  3. I like the sound of all of them (The Tsar of Love and Techno is on my TBR list too) but, like you, I am somewhat obsessed with Medea, so that would be my choice for this week and it will go on my TBR list too. Which is only slightly higher than yours (by an additional zero at the end).

    • Hahaha! I’d end up in a home for quivering wrecks if my TBR ever reached 2000!! Mind you, my wishlist is getting out of control – but it doesn’t really count… does it? 😉 I’m really hoping the Medea one is as good as the blurb makes it sound – between it and Toibin’s new take on Clytemnestra I shall be having a Greek month! And The Tsar sounds great – the audiobook has several narrators, some with lovely Russian accents, so I’m looking forward to the listening experience too…

        • I used to include my wishlist too, but I changed it because most people seemed to think of the TBR as books they own. Plus it cut the overall figure dramatically, which felt nice… 😉

  4. I thought The Tsar of Love and Techno was close to perfection but some of that came from reading A Constellation of Vital Phenomenon first. A few characters or their predecessors from the novel can be found in the short stories. The novel was a 5 star read for me and it was like getting a piece of good chocolate every time one of them showed up in the short stories. Gah! That novel did a number on me.

    That said, I think the short stories probably fit your Russian Reading Challenge better than the novel does.

    As for me, I’ve added Bright Air Black to my never ending wish list. I’m almost afraid to say that the others were already on it.

    • Ah, I haven’t read A Constellation – pity! And I won’t be able to fit it in first, since this one is a review copy and I’m already overdue with it. But hopefully, the stories stand alone and, assuming I enjoy them as much as I hope, I’ll know the book is well worth backtracking to! Glad to hear you rate his writing so highly. 🙂

      Bright Air Black sounds great too – in fact, this is a particularly appealing bunch this week, I think. Haha! Sounds like your TBR is no better than mine! Thanks for popping in and commenting. 🙂

  5. I really want to read THE LEGACY. I have several of the author’s books here, but that one really calls to me. I’ve preordered it. Now to be patient until it comes.

    • I’ve enjoyed any of her books I’ve read so far, so I have very high hopes for The Legacy, and it will be nice to actually start a series at the beginning for once! Hope we both enjoy it! 😀

  6. The Legacy looks good, but I still want to read Siren. No wonder your TBR keeps growing, FF — you’re surrounded by such fascinating books!! Glad to hear you marathoned through a couple to keep it just shy of that 200-mark, though!

    • I should be starting Siren very soon, tomorrow maybe. Actually, I like the sound of all of these this week – sometimes by the time I get around to reading them my enthusiasm has waned, but not this week. Haha! I know – I seriously have to use so much willpower to stop the situation getting even more out of control… nice problem to have, though! 😉

  7. Well, I didn’t vote for Siren, but that one sounds best to me. I don’t get on very well with story collections in audio format, so I am curious to hear how that will work for you. Happy Reading, as always!

    • Funnily enough, I find listening to short stories easier than novels usually – I can only concentrate for short periods to audiobooks, so with novels I keep finding I’ve zoned out and missed bits. It all depends on the narrator though… Siren does look good, doesn’t it? But then, they all do… *sighs*

    • Hahaha! It’s funny how even we’re too frazzled to think straight, we can still add books to the TBR! 😉 Good choices – I’m looking forward to both of those… 😀

  8. I’m very tempted by Siren but having carefully negotiated my way around the books I have the corner just in sight so I’m going to resist until you review this one 😉 Fortunately I have Legacy on my list already and should be reading it this weekend!

    • Woo, you must give me a copy of your map! Vine and Audible seem to have ganged up with NetGalley recently to push me over the top… 😉 I’ll be reading Siren next, but should get to The Legacy in a week or so, I hope…

  9. That was a close call… but I’m thinking that 200 mark is still going to happen. 🙂
    Siren sounds good – looking forward to hearing about it!

    • Haha! You mean you don’t trust my iron willpower?? I fear you may be right! 😉 It does, doesn’t it? But then I think they all do *sighs*. Should be starting Siren today…

    • Hahaha! A little bit of Trotsky goes an awful long way, I’m finding… 😉 I love the sound of Bright Air Black – hopefully I’ll get to it next week sometime…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

