TBR Thursday 104…

Episode 104…

I’m delighted to say my reading slump appears to be finally over, and I powered through the books during my blogging break, with the result that there’s been a massive drop of 5 in the TBR since I last posted – down to 176! I’m still keeping strict control over NetGalley and publisher requests – the outstanding list of review copies has dropped 2 to 36. I’m feeling quite smug! I wonder how long that will last…

Oh, and I finished Moby-Dick!!! *turns double somersault and harpoons Melville out of sheer joie de vivre* Review soon!

Here are a few that will make it to the top of the heap soon. I’m still trying to clear as many review copies as possible before the end of the year…

Factual

deep-lifeCourtesy of Princeton University Press. I’m hoping this is as exciting as it sounds!

The Blurb says: Deep Life takes readers to uncharted regions deep beneath Earth’s crust in search of life in extreme environments and reveals how astonishing new discoveries by geomicrobiologists are helping the quest to find life in the solar system.

Tullis Onstott, named one of the 100 most influential people in America by Time magazine, provides an insider’s look at the pioneering fieldwork that is shining vital new light on Earth’s hidden biology–a thriving subterranean biosphere that scientists once thought to be impossible. Come along on epic descents two miles underground into South African gold mines to experience the challenges that Onstott and his team had to overcome. Join them in their search for microbes in the ancient seabed below the desert floor in the American Southwest, and travel deep beneath the frozen wastelands of the Arctic tundra to discover life as it could exist on Mars.

Blending cutting-edge science with thrilling scientific adventure, Deep Life features rare and unusual encounters with exotic life forms, including a bacterium living off radiation and a hermaphroditic troglodytic worm that has changed our understanding of how complex subsurface life can really be. This unforgettable book takes you to the absolute limits of life–the biotic fringe–where today’s scientists hope to discover the very origins of life itself.

* * * * *

radio-girlsFiction

I don’t often get sent unsolicited review copies (which I’m quite glad about, since I always end up feeling obliged to read them). But Allison & Busby sent me a little batch a few months ago, none that are really in quite my usual style, but which each look quite intriguing of their kind. Might be fun to try something a bit different – this is the one that appeals most…

The Blurb says:  London, 1926. Maisie Musgrave is thrilled to land a job at the fledgling British Broadcasting Corporation whose new and electrifying radio network is captivating the nation. Famous writers, scientists, politicians – the BBC is broadcasting them all, but behind the scenes Maisie is drawn into a battle of wills being fought by her two bosses. John Reith, the formidable Director-General and Hilda Matheson, the extraordinary Director of Talks Programming, envisage very different futures for radio. And when Maisie unearths a shocking conspiracy, she and Hilda join forces to make their voices heard both on and off the air . . .

* * * * *

Crime

design-for-murderCourtesy of NetGalley. As cosy afternoon viewing, there’s nothing to beat six episodes of Murder, She Wrote one after the other! Will the books have the same relaxing, uplifting effect? I’ve often wondered – now’s the time to find out…

The Blurb says: Jessica is in Manhattan to attend the debut of a new designer. Formerly Sandy Black of Cabot Cove, the young man has reinvented himself as Xandr Ebon, and is introducing his evening wear collection to the public and—more important—to the industry’s powers-that-be: the stylists, the magazine editors, the buyers, and the wealthy clientele who can make or break him. At the show, the glitz and glamour are dazzling until a young model—a novice, taking her first walk down the runway—shockingly collapses and dies. Natural causes? Perhaps. But when another model is found dead, a famous cover girl and darling of the paparazzi, the fashion world gets nervous.

Two models. Two deaths. Their only connection? Xandr Ebon. Jessica’s crime-solving instincts are put to the test as she sorts through the egos, the conflicts of interest, the spiteful accusations, and the secrets, all the while keeping an amorous detective at arm’s length. But she’ll have to dig deep to uncover a killer. A designer’s career is on the line. And another model could perish in a New York minute.

* * * * *

Crime

death-on-the-rivieraCourtesy of NetGalley. And to round off what must surely be the cosiest TBR post ever, another from the British Library Crime Classics series…

The Blurb says: When a counterfeit currency racket comes to light on the French Riviera, Detective Inspector Meredith is sent speeding southwards – out of the London murk to the warmth and glitter of the Mediterranean. Along with Inspector Blampignon – an amiable policeman from Nice – Meredith must trace the whereabouts of Chalky Cobbett, crook and forger.

Soon their interest centres on the Villa Paloma, the residence of Nesta Hedderwick, an eccentric Englishwoman, and her bohemian house guests – among them her niece, an artist, and a playboy. Before long, it becomes evident that more than one of the occupants of the Villa Paloma has something to hide, and the stage is set for murder.

This classic crime novel from 1952 evokes all the sunlit glamour of life on the Riviera, and combines deft plotting with a dash of humour. This is the first edition to have been published in more than sixty years and follows the rediscovery of Bude’s long-neglected detective writing by the British Library.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

* * * * *

46 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 104…

  1. Ooh, that Bude does look good, FictionFan! And that Stratford is mighty appealing, too. You have some good ‘uns there. You’re right, too; Murder, She Wrote is tailor-made for those grey afternoons when you need a break. The perfect accompaniment to a lazy day. But mostly, I’m delighted that you finished Moby Dick!! I say you deserve a box of Godiva just for that. 😉

    • I’ve been meaning to try one for years. Mind you, I’m hoping it’s not too good, since there’s about a zillion of them – think what that would do to my poor TBR! 😉

  2. Congrats on wading through the WHALE-TALE!! Gee, that’s such an accomplishment I might be tempted to rest on my laurels until 2017, ha! That said, I rarely missed an episode of Murder, She Wrote when it was on TV, so that’s the book I’d start with. I’d have to be *deeply* motivated to get into Deep Life!! Did someone say chocolate … and LOTS of it?!!

    • Thank you! I may be reading light cosies for the next six months after Moby… 😉 I love Murder She Wrote – I can watch them endlessly. I’m kinda worried about the book though – if it’s good, I’ll need to add the other zillion to my poor TBR! Arrgh! Deep Life does look a bit heavy, I must admit, but I have my fingers crossed… and extra chocolate on order!

  3. Well done for beating the slump and for finishing Moby Dick – I’m tempted to send you a medal!! I’m a little bit jealous of your reduction and now hoping that the books I’m expecting don’t arrive until I’ve read some more 😉 although, I’m fascinated about the BBC book

    • I’m exceptionally smug about finishing Moby! Such a thrill for it to disappear from my TBR for ever! I think I deserve a medal… or cake! Haha! I wonder how long my amazing reduction will last… still going strong this week though. Yes, I think that one sounds intriguing too and it seems to have been getting reasonably good reviews… so we shall see…

    • I’m proposing to spend the weekend on the Riviera – virtually! Hope I don’t become the next victim… Haha! The M-D review is written, and sounds… bitter! I may let it percolate for a bit before posting… 😉

    • I’ve been enjoying the British Library Crime Classics – the quality is variable, of course, but they’re nearly always fun! And I’m intrigued by Radio Girls… not my usual thing but it sounds interesting… 🙂

  4. I’m happy to say I’m untempted by your haul, as I have QUITE enough of my own. However, I could wish that the President Elect had stayed beneath the crust. A troglodytic worm, not to mention radiation eating bacteria seems to have curious resonance….

    • Yes, it’s kind of cosy crime week over here! Ha! Between the rabid Brexiteers – the ones who really want to break off diplomatic relations with Europe altogether – and the whole Trump scenario, I’m seriously thinking of burrowing deep beneath the ground myself, and hibernating for a century or two…

  5. Congratulations on finishing Moby Dick! I’m curious to hear about why you didn’t abandon it – something must have kept you going!
    Out of the upcoming books, Deep Life sounds the most interesting to me, then Radio Girls.

    • Thank you! Haha! Sheer stubborn obstinacy, I think, combined with a desire to get it off my TBR finally and forever! 😉 Plus I really did want to know who won – Ahab or Moby…

      Yes, I think Deep Life sounds fascinating – hope so anyway, since it’s a bit of a brick. And Radio Girls does sound intriguing, even if it’s not quite my usual thing…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

