TBR Thursday 98…

Episode 98…

The TBR continues to hover in roughly the same position – this week, up 1 to 178. But I’m sure it’s going to start dropping dramatically any time now… I feel it in my bones…

Here are a few that will be rising to the top of the pile soon…

The Classics Club Spin winner…

passingThe number that came up on Monday’s spin was 1, so here it is. Good choice – short! And comes highly recommended by both the lovely heavenali and my good blogbuddy Lady Fancifull

The Blurb says: Irene Redfield, the novel’s protagonist, is a woman with an enviable life. She and her husband, Brian, a prominent physician, share a comfortable Harlem town house with their sons. Her work arranging charity balls that gather Harlem’s elite creates a sense of purpose and respectability for Irene. But her hold on this world begins to slip the day she encounters Clare Kendry, a childhood friend with whom she had lost touch. Clare—light-skinned, beautiful, and charming—tells Irene how, after her father’s death, she left behind the black neighborhood of her adolescence and began passing for white, hiding her true identity from everyone, including her racist husband. As Clare begins inserting herself into Irene’s life, Irene is thrown into a panic, terrified of the consequences of Clare’s dangerous behavior. And when Clare witnesses the vibrancy and energy of the community she left behind, her burning desire to come back threatens to shatter her careful deception.

* * * * *

Fiction

himselfCourtesy of NetGalley. Picked entirely on the basis of the cover, the blurb and the publisher, this début novel is published by Canongate and sounds like it might be fun…

The Blurb says:  When Mahony returns to Mulderrig, a speck of a place on Ireland’s west coast, he brings only a photograph of his long-lost mother and a determination to do battle with the village’s lies. His arrival causes cheeks to flush and arms to fold in disapproval. No one in the village – living or dead – will tell what happened to the teenage mother who abandoned him as a baby, despite Mahony’s certainty that more than one of them has answers.

Between Mulderrig’s sly priest, its pitiless nurse and the caustic elderly actress throwing herself into her final village play, this beautiful and darkly comic debut novel creates an unforgettable world of mystery, bloody violence and buried secrets.

* * * * *

Crime

the-blood-cardCourtesy of NetGalley. The third book in Elly Griffiths’ new Stephens and Mephisto series. I loved books 1 and 2 so have high hopes for this one…

The Blurb says: Elizabeth II’s coronation is looming, but the murder of their wartime commander, Colonel Cartwright, spoils the happy mood for DI Edgar Stephens and magician Max Mephisto. A playbill featuring another deceased comrade is found in Colonel Cartwright’s possession, and a playing card, the ace of hearts: the blood card. The wartime connection and the suggestion of magic are enough to put Stephens and Mephisto on the case.

Edgar’s investigation into the death of Brighton fortune-teller Madame Zabini is put on hold. Max is busy rehearsing for a spectacular Coronation Day variety show – and his television debut – so it’s Edgar who is sent to New York, a land of plenty worlds away from still-rationed England.

* * * * *

Horror

a-night-in-the-lonesome-octoberCourtesy of NetGalley. A new edition of this is being released by Farrago just in time for the spooky season and, since regular commenter BigSister (who just happens to be my big sister) says she reads this every Hallowe’en, I couldn’t resist…

The Blurb says: An overdue reissue of the last great novel by a giant of fantasy – essential October reading.

All is not what it seems . . .

In the murky London gloom, a knife-wielding gentleman named Jack prowls the midnight streets with his faithful watchdog Snuff – gathering together the grisly ingredients they will need for an upcoming ancient and unearthly rite. For soon after the death of the moon, black magic will summon the Elder Gods back into the world. And all manner of Players, both human and undead, are preparing to participate. Some have come to open the gates. Some have come to slam them shut.

And now the dread night approaches – so let the Game begin.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads or Amazon.ok

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

* * * * *

36 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 98…

  1. Looking forward to the Griffiths, and I hope you love the Zelazny – I think you will have no trouble identifying the characters!

    • The Griffiths should be good! The Horowitz was great by the way, should you not have got hold of it yet. I’m looking forward to the Zelazny – I should get to it just about in time for Hallowe’en…

      • It’s very short – I literally always read it on Hallowe’en, and given that I also have a big party, I’d say it’s about a 2-hour read.

        • See, that’s why you’ve read so much more than me – I reckon from the size of it, it’ll take me considerably more than twice that. I’m not really a quick reader. Looking forward to it though!

  2. I am really interested in the Griffiths, FictionFan! She is so talented, don’t you think? And two such different series, too. I didn’t know about the Zelazny – I’ll have to tell Mr. COAMN – he’s a fan of Zelazny’s fantasy/sci-fi work.

    • Yes, she is, and I love this new series. I prefer it to the Ruth Galloway books, in fact – partly because it’s written in the past tense, and as you know I much prefer that. Looking forward to it! I’ve never read any Zelazny before, so I’m putting my trust in BigSister… she’s usually a pretty good guide… usually… 😉

  3. Hurrah! Hurrah! I knew that spinning widdershins and kissing one of the endangered species toads (without expecting it to turn into a prince – it didn’t) would gain me entry level status on my ‘get your magic spells to work’ course. You may remember I posted this as being one of the title options I was wishing for you!

    PS Can neither bear to stop reading, not bear to go on with, The Magpie Murders. It is so far, SUCH a delight that I’m trying to ration the pleasure out rather than doing the equivalent of polishing the box of chocs off in one swell foop rather than savouring each nugget of delight. I’m keeping everything permanently crossed. Which makes typing without mistakes, not to mention walking across the room, extremely hard!

    • I do indeed remember! I should have known you’d be carrying out your nefarious spells – couldn’t you turn your skills to providing me with chocolate as well as books? I’m looking forward to Passing though – considering how short it is I should really have been able to fit it in before now…

      It’s super, isn’t it? I gave up in the end and read more or less the whole second half in one ginormous session that lasted well into the morning… it’s been a while since that last happened! I wish the Christie estate had got him to do the Poirot books instead of the dreadful Sophie Hannah versions – he’d have done them brilliantly!

  4. Gee, I’d have an impossible time choosing which of these to read first, FF! They all sound positively readable … and perfect for October’s chill and longer nights. Break out the hot chocolate and enjoy!

    • They do sound good, don’t they? And I shall deserve a treat after Moby-Dick, I feel – starting it today finally! Let’s hope they all live up to their blurbs! 🙂

    • If The Blood Card is as good as the first two books in the series, it’ll be great! Really looking forward to it. And Himself – the blurb just appealed to me so I took a chance. So far I’ve only seen one review of it, but it was a positive one, so fingers crossed!

  5. Good spin! Passing is also on my never-ending to-read list.
    Also, the cover of Himself is very nice – let’s hope its insides are just as good!

    • Passing’s been on my TBR for ages, so I’m delighted it came up. That will give me the push to finally read it!

      Ha! Yes, I don’t often pick a book based just on the cover and blurb but both appealed to me with Himself, so I have my fingers crossed…

          • Oh, I’m not worried. I know you’ll come up with one! I think you know my tastes by now. The Girls is my favorite read of the year so far. It’ll be hard to beat. I’m having a hard time reading now because of it. I want every book to be of that caliber!

            • That’s always the problem with a great book – it makes the next couple feel dull in comparison. But I’m glad you liked The Girls so much – it’ll be appearing on my best of the year for sure… unless I read five even better ones between now and the end of October… hmm… *glances at Moby-Dick and shakes head*

    • Hurrah! It always cheers me up when I can add to other people’s TBRs instead of my own for a change! But look on the bright side – maybe they’ll all be rotten… 😉

    • Oh, that’s good to know! The blurb is certainly intriguing. Haha! That cheers me up – you were putting us all to shame! I look forward to seeing what you’ve acquired…

    • Haha! Frankly it all sounds very weird to me, but my sister assures me I’ll enjoy it so who am I to argue… 😉 She also tells me there’s cats in there somewhere…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

