TBR Thursday 92…

Episode 92…

On the one hand, the TBR hasn’t gone down this week. But on the other hand it hasn’t gone up either! Still 177. So I’m declaring that a major success! (Did I hear you laughing??)

Here are some more that will be falling off the edge of the pile soon…

Factual

the magnificent spilsburyFrom my 20 Books of Summer list. This one’s been on my list for ages, since I read and enjoyed the author’s later book, The Curious Habits of Dr Adams back in August 2013. Finally…

The Blurb says: In the dark opening months of the First World War, Britain became engrossed by ‘The Brides in the Bath’ trial. The horror of the killing fields of the Western Front was the backdrop to a murder story whose elements were of a different sort. This was evil of an everyday, insidious kind, played out in lodging houses in seaside towns, in the confines of married life, and brought to a horrendous climax in that most intimate of settings — the bathroom. The nation turned to a young forensic pathologist, Bernard Spilsbury, to explain how it was that young women were suddenly expiring in their baths. This was the age of science. In fiction, Sherlock Holmes applied a scientific mind to solving crimes. In real-life, would Spilsbury be as infallible as the ‘great detective’?

* * * * *

Factual

sorrow of the earthCourtesy of NetGalley and only about novella length, which is highly unusual for a factual book. Actually I’m a bit baffled as to whether this is indeed factual, or whether it’s a fictionalised account. An “entertaining critique of human cruelty”?? Sounds a bit odd…

The Blurb says: How did Sitting Bull feel as he rode out into the ring of Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show? The great warrior, veteran of Little Bighorn and Wounded Knee, reduced to re-enacting his defeat night after night, in front of whooping crowds. Buffalo Bill Cody’s world-famous spectacular of horse-riding and sharp-shooting toured all over North America and Europe, even performing for royalty such as Queen Victoria.

But there is another side to this tale: that of the Native America participants in the show, of their humiliation and of the simplification of their painful and complex stories for popular consumption. Vuillard’s short, incisive book is a fiercely intelligent and highly entertaining critique of human cruelty, colonialism and dumbing down.

* * * * *

Fiction

the kite runner2Another one that’s been on my list since 2013, and also on the 20 Books list. I loved And the Mountains Echoed and am just a tiny bit scared that this one can’t possibly live up to my ridiculously high expectations…

The Blurb says: The unforgettable, heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father’s servant, The Kite Runner is a beautifully crafted novel set in a country that is in the process of being destroyed. It is about the power of reading, the price of betrayal, and the possibility of redemption; and an exploration of the power of fathers over sons—their love, their sacrifices, their lies.

A sweeping story of family, love, and friendship told against the devastating backdrop of the history of Afghanistan over the last thirty years, The Kite Runner is an unusual and powerful novel that has become a beloved, one-of-a-kind classic.

* * * * *

Crime

a rising manNetgalley and 20 Books again! I must admit to being utterly intrigued by the idea of someone of Indian heritage, London birth, and a childhood spent in Glasgow writing a book about an Englishman in Calcutta during the Raj… gotta be pretty much the definition of post-postcolonial…!!

The Blurb says: The winner of the Harvill Secker/Daily Telegraph crime writing competition.

Captain Sam Wyndham, former Scotland Yard detective, is a new arrival to Calcutta. Desperately seeking a fresh start after his experiences during the Great War, Wyndham has been recruited to head up a new post in the police force. But with barely a moment to acclimatise to his new life or to deal with the ghosts which still haunt him, Wyndham is caught up in a murder investigation that will take him into the dark underbelly of the British Raj.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

26 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 92…

  1. Personally, FictionFan, I think you should take an inordinate amount of pride in the fact that your TBR list hasn’t gone up. Something to celebrate! Your choice this week do look really good. I’ve been wanting to read the Mukherjee, so I’ll be especially keen to know what you thought of it. And the Robins looks great, too. Spilsbury was such an interesting person, I think.

    • I may throw a celebration party! Though by the time I send the invites out, it’ll probably have gone up again… 😉 I’ve seen good reviews of the Mukherjee, so I’m hopeful about that one. And Cleo rated the Spilsbury book highly, so I can always blame her if it’s not good…

    • Haha! Glad to have your endorsements and (*sticks tongue out delicately*) I finished one last night after I’d written this, so we’re even… and I feel I’m on a downward trend now, my willpower is just so strong! 😉

  2. Congrats on your TBR, FF! At least you’re keeping it in check! I don’t think I could read the one about Sitting Bull — far too much injustice and sadness there. However, The Kite Runner and A Rising Man sound pretty interesting to me.

    • Thank you! 😉 Yes, the Sitting Bull one does sound odd – I’m finding it hard to see how it’s going to be “entertaining”, but I’ll see! The Kite Runner should be brilliant, I think, and A Rising Man has been getting good reviews, so fingers crossed…

  3. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who hasn’t read The Kite Runner. I’ve not read it because I’m afraid it will be too sad for me to handle. I’ll be interested in what you think.

    My TBR has only gone up this week. (548!) Congrats on a stable week!

    • I think that might be what’s stopped me for so long too. I absolutely loved And the Mountains Echoed but it left me emotionally wrung out. But I’m feeling in the right mood for it now… I hope!

      Haha! You have no idea of how hard I’ve had to struggle to maintain that stability… 😉

    • I’m really looking forward to The Kite Runner – I don’t know why I’ve kept letting it slide down the list. And A Rising Man really appeals to me – I love books set in India, but they do tend to be kinda heavy and gloomy. This looks as if it will be a bit lighter and more enjoyable – hopefully!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

