TBR Thursday 91…

Episode 91…

Look here! It’s not my fault, and I can prove it! First of all, after loving Douglas Skelton’s Open Wounds, Amazon sent me an e-mail telling me the first three books in the series were all on sale at £0.99 each. What could I do? Then they sent me another one telling me they’d put 500 books into their summer sale… including three that were already on my wishlist! Again, I ask you, what choice did I have? Clearly Amazon have joined the international conspiracy to drive me over the edge! All of which means this week’s TBR total has reached Himalayan heights… 177!! I don’t want to talk about it…

Here are some of the ones that I should be reading soon…

Fiction

enigma 2From my 20 Books of Summer list…

The Blurb says: Bletchley Park: the top-secret landmark of World War Two, where a group of young people were fighting to defeat Hitler, and win the war. March 1943, the Second World War hangs in the balance, and at Bletchley Park a brilliant young codebreaker is facing a double nightmare. The Germans have unaccountably changed their U-boat Enigma code, threatening a massive Allied defeat. And as suspicion grows that there may be a spy inside Bletchley, Jericho’s girlfriend, the beautiful and mysterious Claire Romilly suddenly disappears.

* * * * *

different classCourtesy of NetGalley and another of the 20 Books. And one of my favourite covers of the year…

The Blurb says: After thirty years at St Oswald’s Grammar in North Yorkshire, Latin master Roy Straitley has seen all kinds of boys come and go. Each class has its clowns, its rebels, its underdogs, its ‘Brodie’ boys who, whilst of course he doesn’t have favourites, hold a special place in an old teacher’s heart. But every so often there’s a boy who doesn’t fit the mould. A troublemaker. A boy with hidden shadows inside.

With insolvency and academic failure looming, a new broom has arrived at the venerable school, bringing Powerpoint, sharp suits and even sixth form girls to the dusty corridors. But while Straitley does his sardonic best to resist this march to the future, a shadow from his past is stirring. A boy who even twenty years on haunts his teacher’s dreams. A boy capable of bad things.

* * * * *

Crime

jane steele 2NetGalley again. 20 Books again. I think there’s a pattern here. This could be brilliant or awful… but it’s certainly irresistible…

The Blurb says: Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked – but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors.

A fugitive navigating London’s underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate’s true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household’s strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him – body, soul and secrets – and what if he discovers her murderous past?

* * * * *

the seekerNetgalley. 20 Books! A bit of historical crime and another great cover…

The Blurb says: London, 1657, the Protectorate of Oliver Cromwell. No one knows where Damian Seeker originated from, who his family is, or even his real name. Mothers frighten their children by telling them tales of The Seeker. All that is known of him for certain is that he is utterly loyal to Cromwell, and that nothing can be long hidden from him.

In the new, fashionable coffee houses of London, a murder takes place. All London is ringing with the news that John Winter is dead, the lawyer Elias Ellingworth, found holding a knife over the bleeding body of the dying man, held in the Tower. Despite the damning evidence, Seeker is not convinced of Ellingworth’s guilt. He will stop at nothing to bring the right man to justice…

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

37 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 91…

    • I’ve read and enjoyed a previous SG MacLean book (or Shona MacLean as she seems to be sometimes) so hopefully The Seeker will be good. And I’m really looking forward to Enigma – should be starting it this weekend hopefully…

  1. Well, I can’t possibly see there’s any fault on your part, FictionFan. If Amazon conspires to force you to buy books, that’s hardly your doing, is it? I say it’s a perfectly reasonable explanation. And you can be sure there are others with long TBR lists *coughs**Looks down sheepishly.*

    I do like your choices. They’re all intriguing, with the Harris really getting my attention. I’ll be keen to know what you thought of that.

    • Exactly! I’m glad you understand! We can’t be held responsible in any way… it’s all a fiendish plot! 😉

      I’m really looking forward to the Harris – and to watching the film afterwards. I’m sure I’ve seen the film before and enjoyed it, but don’t remember too much about it, as usual.

  2. More, more I say! Keep adding to the TBR so I can convince myself my compulsive book buying is reasonable behaviour 🙂 The Seeker sounds good, I’ll try to resist adding it to my towering TBR…

    • Not fair!! If I keep adding, so should everybody else!! 😉 I’ve read one of SG MacLean’s books before and enjoyed it, so hopefully The Seeker will be as good as it looks…

  3. ooh 177 well who’s laughing now?? I have been eying up the Jane Steele book… but obviously my willpower is stronger than yours (for the moment) plus my reading levels have fallen away sharply this month so…

    • Huh! I knew you’d laugh! 😉 I’m the same – my reading has dipped ridiculously. But I’m beginning to get back on track now and racing (slowly) through the 20 books. Jane Steele could go either way…

  4. My TBR totals never go down because as fast as read one I add more – I ‘blame’ other bloggers as well as Amazon! I thought I’d read Enigma, I thought I had a copy of it – both wrong! I haven’t and I don’t – but it is a book I’d identified as one I wanted to read. A Different Class is already on my wishlist. I’ve read and loved some of SG MacLean’s books too, but not that one – so that’s going on my list. I’m not sure about Jane Steele – I’m not so keen on books based on classics. As you say it could be brilliant or awful … I’ll hold back on that and see what you think when you’ve read it.

    • Definitely other bloggers are a problem! I now stick them on my wishlist as I get tempted and then wait a week or two and see if I’m still as enthusiastic – that helps, but not much! I’m really looking forward to Enigma – that’s the one out of this batch that I’m most looking forward to, though I think they all look good. Yes, it was you that headed me towards SG MacLean, and I enjoyed the one I read, so I have high hopes for it. Jane Steele – hmm, I’ve read loads of super enthusiastic reviews, but I can be a bit picky about these reworkings of loved stories… I’ll see!

  5. Hah! Well funnily enough, the Robert Harris – I’m deep within Imperium, another Harris which Amazon cheapy offers twisted MY arm on some time ago. And remarkably good it is too. Deep in the corruption and savagery of ancient Rome. And virtually every corrupt populist politician is strangely thatch haired in my imagination, rather beefy and red faced, and looks remarkably like the Republican party’s nominee. Though the idea of a toga makes me feel positively ill, so somehow he fetches up in the Senate in a suit! Imperium is I think book one of a Roman trilogy. Cicero is the hero at this point. I like the narrator, Tiro, who gives lots of opportunities forI’m tempted by the Harris, Joanne, no relation I assume. I got very quickly bored by her Chocolat, Blackberry Wine, Segments of an Orange etc etc batch, as they seemed to be progressively less good same olds same olds of each other, but I DID enjoy Gentlemen and Players, which was very different. Though will I find this one a same old same old of that one? It has vanished from the 99p Kindle, so I may never know, though there is always the library………..

    • Yep, I picked up Imperium on an Amazon cheapie too, and found another of the Roman ones in a charity shop – Dictator, I think. So I’m glad you’re enjoying it! These 99p deals are the bane of the TBR, even worse than other bloggers. Psychologically I’m incapable of passing up on a bargain, even if I can’t imagine when I’ll find time to read it! Yes, I’m the same with Joanne Harris – found the whole Chocolat thing got too, I don’t know, whimsical or something in the end. I haven’t read Gentlemen and Players, so this will be almost like a first for me. I love the cover! I got it from NG and it looks like it’s still available…

      • Yes, thanks me daer – I spotted, and have requested it. We shall see! Imperium is great, and i shall keep eyes peeled for charity shops.

        Coincidentally, there was a topic on today about an on-line 12 lesson learn Latin course. I did 4 years of Latin, and was very badly behaved in class, and wish I’d paid more attention. I’m considering running up a toga from an elderly sheet, and enrolling. I do have a pair of rather attractive Roman sandals and could probably find a brooch somewhere to complete the look whilst I conjugate and decline.

        • I did Latin for years too and for a period I was pretty good at it – able to translate stuff well enough to at least get the sense of it. But like so much of my school education, it’s faded considerably now. I still think it’s essential study for anyone who wants to learn either English or most European languages. It still allows me to make sense of some Italian and Spanish even though I’ve never studied either of those. Good luck if you do the course! Amo, amas, amat…

  6. Enigma is excellent, although I remember being frustrated that he didn’t describe EXACTLY now the machines worked, and I had to read another book for that. Ali has just read the Joanne Harris and rated it highly and luckily I don’t personally fancy the others, either – phew, frankly!

    • Oh good! I’ve read very little of Robert Harris, but liked him a lot so I have high hopes. But I recently watched The Imitation Game and I’m hoping I don’t get too bogged down in comparisons. I saw Ali’s review of Different Class but just skimmed it because I knew this was coming up on my own list very soon – I was glad to see she liked it a lot. I don’t know about Jane Steele – I might love it or hate it… I’m intrigued though!

  7. Is Joanne Harris also the author of CHOCOLAT? If so, her book might be excellent. Enigma has a good premise though. The Jane Steele one is debatable.

    I can’t blame you for purchasing, since Amazon went through all the trouble to contact you and remind you of the sale. I feel that way when they contact me about books on my wish list.

    • She is indeed! Though I get the impression this will be very different – less whimsical and more gritty, I think. I’ve got my fingers crossed! Enigma I’m pretty confident about – he’s a great writer and the setting really appeals. Jane Steele… hmm… well, it could be awful but I’ve seen so many glowing reviews I couldn’t resist!

      I knwo – it’s so kind of them to take the trouble to make sure we all never run out of books… 😉

    • Oh, I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying it! She’s so good at creating voices, and I loved Rose. I suspect you’ll like Three-Martini Lunch even more… 😀

  8. Jane Steel is awesome. I absolutely loved it.

    177 isn’t so bad, really. I’ve recently gotten rid of some of my TBR books, culling it down to a measly 545! Ha ha!

    • I’m hoping I do too – if I ever get to it. My reading speed seems to have slowed to a crawl this summer.

      Haha! It always cheers me up to hear of people who’ve got less self control than myself – so thank you! 😉

    • I have a love/hate relationship with spinoffs and follow-ons – can’t resist them even though I often end up gnashing my teeth in fury. But this one has had a lot of praise around the blogosphere so I’m hoping I’ll like it too. I liked her writing in The Gods of Gotham so she’s off to a good start…

      Thanks – I’m beginning to pick up speed now but it’ll be touch and go! 😉

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

