Mrs Hudson and the Malabar Rose (Mrs Hudson 2) by Martin Davies

The other mastermind in 221b…

😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

mrs hudson and the malabar roseTwo clients turn up at Sherlock Holmes’ rooms in 221b Baker Street – a woman whose son-in-law has gone missing, and a representative of the Home Office who is concerned for the safety of the Malabar Rose, a priceless ruby gifted to the Queen with the condition that it is put on public display. Rather dismissively, Holmes brushes off the woman, suggesting her daughter’s husband has merely left her and will no doubt show up soon. He then turns his attention to ensuring the security of the ruby. Fortunately, Mrs Hudson doesn’t share his lack of concern regarding the missing man and decides to undertake her own investigation, with the help of her servant, our narrator, young Flotsam. As the two cases proceed, it gradually appears that there may be some links between them…

Well, I have to say that, despite all my anti-Holmes-pastiche prejudices and against all expectation, I thoroughly enjoyed this romp! It’s very well written with a good plot, and the Victorian world as seen through the eyes of Flottie is believably depicted. It’s a slightly cosier London than the one the original Holmes inhabited, but that works fine with the gentle humour in the book and the friendliness and support of the little community that surrounds Mrs Hudson and Flottie.

There is a tongue-in-cheek aspect to the portrayal of both Holmes and Watson, each with their well-known traits slightly exaggerated. Holmes, it transpires, is perhaps not quite the great mastermind we thought, or at least not the only one in the household. As Mrs Hudson’s genius reveals itself, each of her discoveries is met by a knowing nod from Holmes as if to say he knew all along… but the reader isn’t so sure! Watson seems to have upped his alcohol intake quite a lot, along with his buffoonery and his susceptibility to a finely-turned ankle. Normally, these things would have me frothing at the mouth and possibly even gnashing my teeth but, partly because Holmes and Watson aren’t the central characters in the book, and partly because the mockery is done with warm affection for the originals, somehow it all works.

Martin Davies
Martin Davies

Flottie herself is a great character. A young orphan, Mrs Hudson took her in at a point when Flottie had been heading towards crime in order to survive. Flottie’s gratitude and admiration for her benefactor make both characters very likeable. I was particularly impressed by the way Davies handles Flottie’s ‘voice’. Although she is a 14-year-old uneducated maidservant at the time of the case, Davies quickly lets the reader know that Flottie is in fact telling the story in retrospect from when she is much older. In the intervening years, Mrs Hudson set her on the path to a good education and a successful career. This allows her to speak with an educated voice and a good vocabulary – no faux Cockney maid talk! It also means she can be more insightful and humorous about events than would sound realistic from the mouth of a 14-year-old.

The plot takes us into the world of theatre with conjurers, exotic dancers, and elaborate trickery, and it all takes place around Christmas so we get some mouthwatering descriptions of the kind of Christmas fare Mrs Hudson whips up for her lodgers when she’s not out detecting. The mystery is not so much whodunit as how was it done – or, in the case of the potential theft of the ruby, how will it be done and how can it be prevented. There are enough nods to the original stories to satisfy Holmes geeks, but catching these references isn’t necessary to enjoying this story on its own account. All in all, excellent writing, a strong plot, some likeable characters and plenty of humour – I’ll certainly be reading more in this series. Most enjoyable!

NB This book was provided for review by the publisher, Canelo.

Amazon UK Link
Amazon US Link

26 thoughts on “Mrs Hudson and the Malabar Rose (Mrs Hudson 2) by Martin Davies

    • Yes, I think the secret is probably not to have Holmes as the main character – it was fun in this one to see Holmes and Watson from a different angle. If you do get to read it, I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

  1. I have to say, FictionFan, this does sound like fun. Like you, I don’t usually go for the pastiche, and certainly not for follow-ons. But sometimes those homages do turn out to be quite good, indeed. And this one sounds like it’s well done. Always a treat when such things work out well, isn’t it?

    • It is! I keep trying them in the hopes I’ll find the occasional good one, but they’re rare. This one was a lot of fun though – good writing and the humour around the characters of Holmes and Watson was very affectionate. 🙂

    • I’ll be adding the Spirit’s Curse to the never-ending list – this was one of the better spins on Holmes, perhaps because it’s not really a pastiche…

  2. Sounds like the author was having quite a bit of fun with this one. Not a bad thing at all!

    Just popping my head in here for a moment. Returned from family visits and am now preparing a suitcase full of manuscripts for critique at a workshop, starting this coming Monday. You won’t see hide nor hair of me until I return on the 25th. I’ll be home for a week before heading off on “The Great American Road Trip,” not to be confused with the GAN.

    • Indeed! I don’t mind so long as they do it with affection, and he does. Good stuff!

      Goodness! You’re going non-stop this summer! The Great American Road Trip sounds exciting… whole lotta roads over there! You’re not standing for President, are you…?

      • Maybe that’s what I should do, go on a whistle stop candidate’s tour. NEVER! We’re taking in Yellowstone and Grand Teton national parks, the Grand Canyon (maybe), the Badlands/Black Hills/Mt. Rushmore/Crazyhorse, the Great Lakes, Niagara Falls, and the Fingerlakes before ending in Maine. My husband will fill a U-Haul with his inherited treasures and drive them back across the country (stopping to drop some things at his brother’s house) while my son and I will fly home. I’m exhausted just thinking about this….

        • Wow! It does sound exhausting but also fabulous! My dream trip if I ever went to America, in fact! Have a stupendous time… look forward to hearing about your experiences… 😀

  3. I can’t believe you’ve enjoyed this one quite so much – it really must be good even if the author has made London slightly cosier than the original. I’m nearly tempted to get it myself but since I’m drowning under books at the moment, it will have to wait for a little while 😉

    • Nor me! When Watson started guzzling the booze, it nearly lost me for a moment, but it was all done affectionately so I forgave him! Yes, I’m really having to be strict with myself too at the moment – it’s all getting completely ridiculous. No more books until… well, until the next time I visit NG probably!

  4. Sherlock Holmes must be out of copyright if people are able to use the characters in their own books! I’ll bet there are tons of people doing just that to make money, so finding a good story with Sherlock might be challenging. My first introduction to Sherlock Holmes was Disney’s The Great Mouse Detective. Ahhhh…a peg-legged bat, Vincent Price, and a determined pair of mice!

    • Yes, I’m sure he is – the world is awash with Holmes pastiches, most of them pretty poor. But sometimes you come across a goodie, like this one, so I keep trying them out. Haha! Poor Sherlock! He’d be horrified! I think my first introduction was through the short stories, though I might have seen one or two of the old Basil Rathbone films first.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

