TBR Thursday 82…

Episode 82…

 

Ooh, the TBR has dropped 2 this week – to 167! So tchah! to all you gloaters who were trying to push me up to 200 – your nefarious schemes have failed!! (So far…)

Here are some of the ones that are getting close to the top of the heap…

Fiction

Travels with my AuntA re-read from many years ago, by one of my favourite authors, this will take me on a journey on the Orient Express for the #AW80Books challenge…

The Blurb says: Henry Pulling, a retired bank manager, meets his septuagenarian Aunt Augusta for the first time in over fifty years at what he supposes to be his mother’s funeral. Soon after, she persuades Henry to abandon Southwood, his dahlias and the Major next door to travel her way, Brighton, Paris, Istanbul, Paraguay. Through Aunt Augusta, a veteran of Europe’s hotel bedrooms, Henry joins a shiftless, twilight society: mixing with hippies, war criminals, CIA men; smoking pot, breaking all the currency regulations and eventually coming alive after a dull suburban life.

In Travels with my Aunt Graham Greene not only gives us intoxicating entertainment but also confronts us with some of the most perplexing of human dilemmas.

* * * * *

 

chapel springs survivalWell, this is listed on Amazon as “Religious and Inspirational Women’s Fiction” so you may well wonder why it’s turned up on my TBR! Because it’s edited by our very own Susan P, regular commenter, fellow cat-lover and all round good chap… how could I resist? I’ll be keeping a close eye on the grammar… 😉

The Blurb says: A mail-order bride, a town overrun with tourists, and illegal art ~ How on earth will Claire and Chapel Springs survive?

With the success of her Operation Marriage Revival, life is good for Claire Bennett. That is until the mayor’s brother blabs a secret: Claire’s nineteen-year-old son, Wes, has married a Brazilian mail order bride — one who is eight years older than him. When Claire tries to welcome her new daughter-in-law, she’s ridiculed, rebuffed, and rejected. Loving this girl is like hugging a prickly cactus. Will Claire and her family survive her son’s marriage? From the first sighting of a country music star in Claire’s gallery, The Painted Loon, to the visit of a Hollywood diva, Chapel Springs is inundated with stargazers, causing lifelong residents to flee the area. When her best friends, Patsy and Nathan, put their house on the market, Claire is forced to do something or lose the closest thing to a sister she’s got. With her son’s future at stake and the town looking to her to solve their problems, it’s Claire who needs a guardian angel.

* * * * *

Crime

 

ruling passionContinuing my gradual re-read of the Dalziel and Pascoe series, this is book 3…

The Blurb says: From Yorkshire to the sleepy village of Thornton Lacey is only a morning’s drive, but for Detective-Sergeant Peter Pascoe, the distance will close off part of his life forever. Motoring down for a reunion with old friends, he arrives to find not a welcome but a grisly triple murder. Out of his jurisdiction, Pascoe is in an untenable position: one of his oldest friends is wanted for murder, his boss is ordering him back to Yorkshire, and his instincts are telling him that the local constabulary will never suspect that the crime’s true motive lies not in the obvious places…but in the unexplored zones of passion within a twisted heart.

* * * * *

Sci-fi

 

2001 a space odysseyI think this is the last of my Christmas books – and I have the film to go with it! I’ve tried watching the film in the past but never made it all the way through – I’m hoping reading the book will help…

The Blurb says: Written when landing on the moon was still a dream, made into one of the most influential films of our century, brilliant, compulsive, prophetic, 2001: A Space Odyssey tackles the enduring theme of man’s place in the universe. On the moon an enigma is uncovered. So great are the implications that, for the first time, men are sent out deep into the solar system. But, before they can reach their destination, things begin to go wrong. Horribly wrong.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

55 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 82…

  1. I enjoyed Travels with My Aunt… and 2001 Space Odyssey is a classic (although, if you didn’t like the film, you may not think much of the book either, there are some similarities…)

  2. The Dalziel and Pascoe series are very much worth the re-read, FictionFan. I’m glad you’re making time for those novels as you work your way through the TBR. And Marina Sofia is right; the Clarke is a classic. I’ll be really interested in your reaction to the book as opposed to the film. Now, be sure you don’t get complacent about that TBR; the universe may be plotting against you even now… 😉

    • I am enjoying doing a bit more re-reading this year, and Dalziel and Pascoe seemed a good place to start. I suspect I’ll enjoy the book of 2001 a good deal more than the film – and I’m hoping that in turn reading the book might make me appreciate the film more. Of course, it could all go horribly wrong… 😉 Haha! I suspect the TBR dip may turn out to be a temporary blip…

  3. Travels With my Aunt is terrific! And bizarre. Bizarrely terrific! (Although it’s been a while since I read it, so it’s fuzzy in my brain, but I do remember being surprised by how much I enjoyed it.)

    Also, you might like to know, I did some Spring cleaning of my TBR and whittled it down to UNDER 600. 🙂 I’m trying, honestly!

    • Oh, good! I have a vague memory of enjoying it, but that’s all I remember – it’ll be like reading it for the first time again. I love his more serious stuff though, so I’m very hopeful…

      Hahaha!! That makes me feel so much better about my own… how many years would it take you to read 600?? 😉

  4. Well GG is one of MY favourite authors too – though I’ve never read this one, curiously. So we are (I think) likely to be good friends with Greene.

    I’m going to sulk, big time, re your dropping TBR. We will all need to try MUCH harder, my bookie friends, to make sure Fiction Fan stays well clear of the straight and narrow diminishing book path.

    I, on the other hand, have 2 Vine books, arrived, want to re- read another Woolf for April, found that the postman brought a missing book from my old 4 volumes of Orwells letters, Essays and Journalism, which Karen’s 1938 made me yearn to re-explore and then a book mysteriously downloaded itself for my book club. And finally the friend I met for lunch showed me a book which I’m thinking about……………

    • I’m planning to read more of Greene over the next year or two – re-reading is making a comeback to my TBR at last! What a pleasure! I don’t think I liked this one as much as his more serious ones first time around though, but I was pretty young when I read it – I suspect it might be one that works better for the *ahem* more mature person.

      Haha! Would it cheer you up to know that the reduction only came about because I abandoned one and deleted another by the same author? I’m having a rubbish reading year so far, with only the occasional standout. It’s mainly because I’m so fed up with the way crime writing has gone to the dogs, and attempting to replace it with classic crime isn’t working since so much of that is pretty bad! Couldn’t you please write a few good crime novels for me please?

      • Well I strongly recommend re-reading . One of the inevitable challenges of new reads is the dreadful overhyping not to mention the fact that with the real money to be made in film, TV etc, geared to an appetite for fast pace action, different kind of writing exists, and factory clone stuff is churning out. ( I think we have all made these gripes before) Re-reads are for sure going to figure large on my books of the year. It is such a relief to surrender again to writers who powerfully spoke, in different ways, to me in youth, and discover they have even more to reveal to the ahem mature reader, as a lifetime of reading gives you resonances and subtle appreciation missed the first time round, when caught up in what-happens-next. I wish I could get back to my reading the twentieth, but I have been subverted into out of sequence by canny bloggers with short Sharp challenges!

        • Unless things pick up I’ll struggle to do the FF Awards this year – I can’t remember abandoning as many books as I have done recently either. I’m sure it must be partly me going through an extended slump, but really the quality of all types of books has seemed particularly poor recently. There have been a few goodies, but my overall average rating is way down, and I’m as bored writing dismal reviews as everyone else must be reading them. But if I only reviewed good books, the blog would be quiet indeed!

          I wish you could get back to your challenge too! I was looking forward to following your journey. I fear I really haven’t got caught up in all these re-publishings of mid-century women – not really my bag unfortunately. I do have Cluny Brown on the Kindle, but the more reviews I read of it the more I realise it’s probably going to have the same effect on me as Ms Mitford… ah well! Perhaps I’ll be pleasantly surprised…

          Signed: Moaning Minnie

          • Dear Minnie, I am sorry to hear of your disappointing recent slump. I appear to be suffering from Conrad’s curse. No doubt I, as you, will recover. Freud, with his marvellous multi linguistic skills, has not been helping.

            • No, alas, that would be cheating on my challenge, I need to read the text, not someone’s interpretation. Failing to climb out of 1900 would be a better option than a short-cut. I’m a hard taskmistress on myself.

            • Discipline, that’s what you need, ma’am! Read 20 pages of Freud a day before you let yourself read anything else! This is my system for factuals and the only reason I get through some of them at all. Then 50 pages of fiction before I let myself relax into crime. What do you mean, OCD??? Me?? Never!!

  5. I’m keen on Dalziel and Pascoe too – although for me it’s reading them for the first time. I watched all the TV programmes but never read any until a few years ago. I’m reading them as I come across them so that means out of order. I was lucky on Tuesday when I went to Barter Books in Alnwick and found three I haven’t read, so my stock of them is building up nicely.

    As fast I reduce the numbers of TBRs I find more to replace them!

    • Oh, I’d love to be reading them for the first time again! For years I used to pre-order them and quite often take a day’s leave from work on publication day so I could read them immediately! But I’ve never read the early ones in order before so it’s interesting to see how the characters originally developed. I think those, Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes are the only series that I’ve read and own every one of… oh, and Jane Casey, more recently.

      Haha! Join the club!!

  6. I enjoyed Travels, despite not being a hugh Greene fan, and I thought 2001:the book was MUCH better than 2001:the film. Maybe the D & P?

  7. Yikes, you ARE on a roll. And not just because your TBR has dropped. I think I could read…and enjoy…any of the books you’re listed here. Surprised?? I’d probably want to start with 2001 (and I don’t usually read Sci-Fi, ha!)

    • Yes, they’re a good bunch this week! Haha! It’s my mission in life to persuade non sci-fi fans that there really is good stuff out there, though sometimes it can be hard to find! I’m hoping this is one of the good ones…

    • I used to read far more sci-fi than I do now, but I’m trying to get back into it. Must say I tend to enjoy the old classics more than contemporary sci-fi, though – so often the line between sci-fi and fantasy gets too blurry for me…

  8. Hahahahaha! Well, you might pass over 200 in a few weeks. After all, going down just 2 isn’t that huge of a deal, you know. 2 is 2. I bet you could read 2 books in an hour.

    A mail order bride? *laughing lots*

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

