Tuesday Thriller! Here Be Dragons: A Short Story (Lacey Flint) by Sharon Bolton

Going undercover…

 

A summer evening in London, and Mark Joesbury is steering a Marine Unit boat up the Thames. He’s under orders but not from his superiors. An undercover mission is going badly wrong, his cover is blown and the bad guys are holding a gun to Lacey Flint’s head…

Tuesday Thriller white gunslinger

What a brilliant story! Any fan of the Lacey Flint series must read this, and it would actually work fine as a standalone too. In terms of time period, it crosses over with the ending of A Dark and Twisted Tide, tying in with things we learned in that one, while avoiding any spoilers for it. It’s novella length – I’m rubbish at converting from Kindle length (881) to pages but I’d guess about 60 or 70. Long enough for Bolton to give us a really believable, satisfying story, with as much depth as most novels achieve, but just the right length to read in one session.

The plot is great and frighteningly credible, based on a terrorist threat, which is as much as I’m going to tell you about it. It’s the gorgeous and lovely Mark Joesbury who’s in the starring role for once, and he fills it perfectly, though of course Lacey has a part to play too. As she did in A Dark and Twisted Tide, Bolton brings the Thames to life, with its shifting tides and hidden dangers lurking beneath its moody beauty, running between some of the most important buildings in the UK. Her descriptive writing really is second to none at creating an atmospheric sense of place.

Here Be Dragons

Although in a sense it’s a police procedural, because it’s based around Mark’s undercover work it reads much more like a true thriller. There’s no real detection element to it, certainly not as far as knowing who the bad guys are anyway, but there’s still a big element of suspense in not knowing exactly what’s going to happen.

And tension! Oh yes! Brilliant build-up, fantastic dénouement. Pulse-racing stuff – can’t remember when I last enjoyed a short story so much (sorry, James Joyce!). And as for the ending… trust me, Lacey fans, you’ll want to have read this one before the next novel comes along. Which I hope will be soon!! The best kind of cliffhanger – the type that leaves you satisfied but also wanting more…

Can you guess I’m recommending this one? *turns cartwheels while blowing a horn*

* * * * *

Yippee Ki Yay rating:     😮 😮 😮 😮 😮

 

It's a Bruce Willis!
It’s a Bruce!

Amazon UK Link
Amazon US Link

47 thoughts on “Tuesday Thriller! Here Be Dragons: A Short Story (Lacey Flint) by Sharon Bolton

  1. Oh, what a great mental image, FictionFan – you turning cartwheels and blowing a horn! Can I guess, then, that this one lived up to the rest of the series in your opinion, and is worth the read? 😉

    In all seriousness, I’m not surprised. Bolton does do such a great job crafting atmosphere, I think. And Joesbury is enough of an interesting character that it makes sense to focus a story on him. There’s enough there, if that makes sense. Hmm….is there room in my TBR? ? *Pushes hard and shoves some books aside. Other books come tumbling down.* Here’s a spot!

    • Haha! It’s amazing how supple I can be… online! 😉

      The joy of this one is that it’s short! Even our gronaing TBRs can’t complain too much about something that only takes an hour or two to read – can they? And it’s really good to see Bolton do a thriller-style story – it’s amazing how much she manages to pack in, too! Enjoy! 🙂

  2. Wow, this sounds bloody good! I am not aware of the author or characters but I feeling rather inspired to give it a go. And look how young our Bruce looks there – that picture must be pre-war 😉

  3. Hee hee. i saw the photo of Bruce Willis and got giddy. This sounds like a great story! But is this a good place to start if I haven’t read this author’s books before?

    • I so love Bruce in Die Hard! He should really be in my hunks gallery… 😉 Well, in truth I think the series is better read in order but this one does standalone because it’s from the perspective of Mark rather than Lacey. It would be good for getting a taste of her style if you weren’t sure if you wanted to start another series…

      The first one is Now You See Me, by the way…

    • Amazon has got it wrong – the whole thing is a short novella. It only took me about an hour and a quarter or so to read, so I’m guessing 60 or 70 pages. I don’t know for sure, but I think it’s probably Kindle only – just to give fans something to go on with between books…

  4. “Yippee Ki Yay, m–!” Sorry. But you made me do it. I love Bruce. He’s kinda really cool. Especially when he’s bald. Nice.

    Love, love your Tuesday Thriller pic! It’s quite awesome. I’m almost tempted to read this, too.

    • Oh, no, you can’t blame me! Go wash your mouth out, sir! He is cool – I kinda like the hairy version too. He should be in the hunks gallery really. It’s getting crowded in there though…

      *curtseys* Thank you! Haha! I was going to make it purple just for you, but it didn’t look right somehow. *faints* You?! Now don’t be hasty! You know that if I like it you’ll probably hate it!

      • But he says it!! Well, I think you need to clear it out. Choose your favorite-ist hero…and that’s the chap that should be in there. None others! None, none, I say.

        Purple. I hate purple. But funnily enough, this girl just guessed it was my fav color. I don’t understand life, the sudden. But we have similar tastes! Haha.

        • And just because lemmings jump over cliffs, does that mean you have to, too?? *looks over top of spectacles disapprovingly* Hmm… so… just you, then! OK!! Send me more pics! How about a hundred and six of you in your velvet jacket… *swoons dramatically*

          No you don’t – you love it! *hypnotises Prof* Girl? Girl?? *growls* I thought we’d agreed you’d stay away from those beasts… *laughs* Oh, yes, I forgot!

          • I might. I mean, look, if you saw a bunch of lemmings having fun and jumping over cliffs…wouldn’t it make you want to do the same? Haha. Love that image. Me?! Whyever do you want pics of me? That’d scare you lots and lots.

            Do not neither! Haha. It was just some girl somewhere. I forget now, even. I run into girls, you know, from time to time.

            • *laughs and shakes head* I should have known that would appeal to you! Wear a bungee rope!! In fact get all the lemmings to wear bungees ropes too and get Nick to film the whole event – a youtube sensation guaranteed! Well, if I’m only to be allowed one hunk in my gallery, I can’t make do with just one pic!! In fact I’ll need one of you dressed like Darby (wet shirt) and Rafa (shorts/muscleman shirt) too please…

              Do! Do! Better if you ran over them… *glowers*

            • We’ll all be screaming as we plummet and bounce back up. It’ll be fantastic. It’ll be HUGE. With a wet shirt? I only have one of those after a supersoaker gunfight. I’m always wearing muscleman shirts. In the summer, that is.

              If you get me a bike…

            • *laughs* You’d all be stars! You should probably wear a lemming costume so you don’t feel left out. Well, if you’re not willing to send pics, I shall have to keep Rafa and Darby in the gallery, I fear…

              Steam-road-roller…

  5. A short story? We’ll make a convert out of you yet. I love it when an author says what (s)he has to say and then stops – all 600 padded pagers please note!

  6. I prefer Sharon Bolton’s standalone novels (Little Black Lies is my favourite) but I do love the Lacey Flint series too. I didn’t know she had written a new short story – it sounds great and I can’t wait to read it!

    • I haven’t read many of her standalones, but I actually prefer the Lacey Flint series to Little Black Lies. I do tend to like series so I can get invested in the characters. But she’s such a great writer she can do both really well. Enjoy this one – it’s a treat!

  7. Awesome find, FF, and this sounds like it should go on my TBR pronto! Cartwheels? Golly, I haven’t done those since I was a kid — wonder if I still remember how??

  8. I didn’t know Sharon Bolton has a new book out and I love her books! Never mind this is a short story…. I’m going to grab it anyway. 🙂

    • This is a real treat – and she has another new one coming out in June I think – Daisy in Chains. If you’re a NetGalley person, it’s on there now…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

