TBR Thursday 67…

Episode 67

 

Well, I’ve been on my very best behaviour this week, so could someone kindly explain how the TBR seems to have gone up again? Hmm? To 152 – and if that’s you I hear laughing at the back, there’s going to be big trouble…

Still, it’ll only take a bit of willpower to make a huge dent in it before the end of the year, won’t it? So here are some that I shall be getting to soon…

Factual

 

london fog coverFrom Harvard University Press via NetGalley. I’m hoping this won’t be too academic in tone, and am a bit sorry I have the Kindle version since it claims to be generously illustrated. But if it’s written accessibly, it should be fascinating…

The Blurb says In popular imagination, London is a city of fog. The classic London fogs, the thick yellow “pea-soupers,” were born in the industrial age of the early nineteenth century. The first globally notorious instance of air pollution, they remained a constant feature of cold, windless winter days until clean air legislation in the 1960s brought about their demise. Christine L. Corton tells the story of these epic London fogs, their dangers and beauty, and their lasting effects on our culture and imagination.

As the city grew, smoke from millions of domestic fires, combined with industrial emissions and naturally occurring mists, seeped into homes, shops, and public buildings in dark yellow clouds of water droplets, soot, and sulphur dioxide. The fogs were sometimes so thick that people could not see their own feet. By the time London’s fogs lifted in the second half of the twentieth century, they had changed urban life. Fogs had created worlds of anonymity that shaped social relations, providing a cover for crime, and blurring moral and social boundaries. They had been a gift to writers, appearing famously in the works of Charles Dickens, Henry James, Oscar Wilde, Robert Louis Stevenson, Joseph Conrad, and T. S. Eliot. Whistler and Monet painted London fogs with a fascination other artists reserved for the clear light of the Mediterranean.

Corton combines historical and literary sensitivity with an eye for visual drama—generously illustrated here—to reveal London fog as one of the great urban spectacles of the industrial age.

 * * * * *

Fiction

 

lolita 2Next up for the GAN Quest! A book I have been meaning to read for years…

The Blurb says Humbert Humbert – scholar, aesthete and romantic – has fallen completely and utterly in love with Lolita Haze, his landlady’s gum-snapping, silky skinned twelve-year-old daughter. Reluctantly agreeing to marry Mrs Haze just to be close to Lolita, Humbert suffers greatly in the pursuit of romance; but when Lo herself starts looking for attention elsewhere, he will carry her off on a desperate cross-country misadventure, all in the name of Love. Hilarious, flamboyant, heart-breaking and full of ingenious word play, Lolita is an immaculate, unforgettable masterpiece of obsession, delusion and lust.

* * * * *

Crime

 

death on demandVia NetGalley again. An author I know nothing about, but the book is published by Severn House and they’ve introduced me to a few crime authors I’ve enjoyed, so here’s hoping…

The Blurb says This is the stunning new Shaw & Valentine mystery. When the newspapers turn up to cover Ruby Bright’s 100th birthday, they find her seaside care home is a murder scene. Someone spirited Ruby away by wheelchair down to the water’s edge on the idyllic north Norfolk coast, and strangled her. But why kill a harmless centurion? As Detective Inspector Shaw and Detective Sergeant Valentine investigate, it’s clear Ruby wasn’t the first victim, and nor is she the last. All trails seem to lead back to the old Parkwood Springs estate, close to the docklands. There’s only one way in and one way out of the estate – through the derelict Lister Tunnel. But what is the secret within…?

* * * * *

boxes

Pascal Garnier is everywhere right now, including all over NetGalley, so time to get introduced! And if it’s not good, there are so, so many bloggers I’ll be able to blame! The blurb is pretty uninformative but I’m led to believe this is a grim, dark, twisty tale…

The Blurb says “He was the sole survivor of the natural disaster that at one time or another strikes us all, known as ‘moving house’.

Brice and Emma had bought their new home in the countryside together. And then Emma disappeared. Now, as he awaits her return, Brice busies himself with DIY and walks around the village.

He gradually comes to know his new neighbours including Blanche, an enigmatic woman in white, who has lived on her own in the big house by the graveyard since the death of her father, to whom Brice bears a curious resemblance…” 

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads.

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

42 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 67…

  1. *Snicker, snicker* – Oh – ahem – excuse me. 😉 – Really, I have no business snickering, as my own TBR is completely out of control. But we’re not here to talk about that, are we?? At any rate, I think London Fog sounds fascinating, and I do hope it lives up to your expectations. London has so many stories, both real and fictional, associated with it. It’s got such a rich history, too. I’m looking forward to learning what you think of that one.

    • Huh! I’m not surprised you’re snickering, since you’re one of the main reasons for my TBR issues! *glares* Yes, I think that one looks great – the whole London fog thing has added so much to fiction over the years – it’s almost a pity they’ve cleaned up the air now… 😉

  2. You can blame me for the Pascal Garnier, that’s true, as I’m a big fan. Although Boxes is not necessarily one of his best – so I am curious to see what you think of it…

    • Yes, I remember you saying that on Cleo’s blog, so I’ve also picked up A26 from NG – what do you think of it? I thought I’d at least try a couple, rather than maybe letting one that’s not his best put me off altogether. But I’m hopeful – Cleo certainly thought it was well worth reading…

  3. London Fog sounds good. I’ve read Lolita ,so that’s one I can miss out, and I don’t really fancy the Garnier, despite the cat picture.

    • The blurb of the Garnier isn’t very appealing, but I’ve been seeing so many positive reviews of him all over the place recently, so we’ll see! The London Fog one does sound good – hope it’s not too academically written…

    • 19!!!! Oh, we must do something about that! Perhaps I should run a post asking everyone to recommend ten books each to you… you’d feel obligated to add them all then… 😉

      Looking forward to Lolita – can’t think why I haven’t read it before…

    • Haha! In truth, I haven’t got the book yet – I just copied that cover because some of the others are so yucky! But I’m looking forward to both of those books – should be fun!

  4. I read Lolita in sneaky snippets when I was not quite out of in the territory of being one – my dear mother made the fatal mistake of saying ‘I don’t want you to read this one you are too young’ after having raised me on ‘anything you want to read you can because if you are too young for it it won’t interest you/will be too hard for you’ Of course, she only read lit fic so there would not have been erotica in the house unless it were erotiica by lit ficcy writers. This meant I picked up all sorts of books which were beyond me in the house, and probably missed getting into any juicy bits, if there were any, because the language was too dense.

    But yes, you guessed it, this drew me like a magnet because I had been told not to read it, so I searched for where it might have been hidden.

    I might be safe from your inroads on my TBR this time.

    Gosh, isn’t booksandbuttons mean about the size of her TBR – it looks positively stunted. I think everyone should make a conscious effort to cause booksanduttons TBR to engage in a growth spurt. Where’s that bookie version of stuff gardeners use to grow plants?

    • I didn’t come across it in my yoof – too busy reading Lady Chatterley, I think! Of course, my Victorian parents would have been horrified, so no chance of it being on the bookshelves. After all, my mother wasn’t even keen on me watching Neighbours… (truly!)

      Oh, I thought the London Fog might appeal to you – I’m expecting it to be full of nice literary references.

      Outrageous! I don’t think it should be allowed actually! So I think we should make her up a list of a couple of hundred or so. They’ll need to be fairly obscure though, ‘cos I get the impression she’s read most everything already…

        • Hmm… I suspect Lady C might be another of these books best read in one’s teens. Even back in the day I didn’t think it was nearly as good as some of his other stuff. I’m reluctant to revisit Lawrence at all actually – I loved him so much in my late teens, I fear being disappointed…

          • Well, there is that……it WAS my teens that had me reading pretty well everything except Lady C (not sure if the library didn’t have it, or if it was always OUT because of it’s notoriety. I probably went looking for it and it was never on the shelves so I picked up other stuff. I remember Sons and Lovers as the one which ‘spoke’

            • Yes, it was Sons and Lovers for me too. And some of his poetry. We had a lecturer at Uni who loved Lawrence and also happened to be great at reading poetry – he could reduce a lecture hall of 300 to tears with his reading of Bavarian Gentians. But again, it doesn’t have the same impact on me now, sadly…

  5. Gee, the one that sounds most intriguing here is Death on Demand (but the blurb is wrong in referring to the wheelchair-bound woman as a “centurion.” That’s a Roman officer, if memory holds. I think they meant to say “centenarian,” which is someone who’s lived to the ripe old age of 100). Don’t fault me — I used to be a journalist!!

    • It does sound interesting and will make a nice change from murdered children! (Haha! I didn’t pick up on that, but I did notice that something sounded not quite right about the sentence, but couldn’t think what! Centurion is also a word that they use over here for a batsman who scores 100 in cricket – maybe she’s a great cricketer! 😉 )

  6. Haha haha haha 🙂 So glad you’ve got the Garnier added, I do hope you enjoy it. I haven’t read Lolita either but I’m most tempted by the Jim Kelly, I read the Water Clock by this author and enjoyed it.

    • Don’t you laugh, madam! I hold you and Margot largely responsible for the state of my TBR! Detention after class for both of you! Oh, glad to hear that about the Jim Kelly book – I just took a punt based on the blurb and publisher so had no idea whether it’d be good or bad.

    • So many good books out there! That’s the problem, of course! Yes, I can’t think why I’ve never read Lolita before now – looking forward to both it and the London Fog book. They’re my top two of this week’s batch.

  7. *laughing* I’m not laughing, really! Still. I could help you with your TBR. That being said, the first one is an easy pop-pop…but the last three (especially the third) sound really, really good. I shall await your review of Lolita. That’s never a book I’d expect you to read! You’re always a surprise and a few.

  8. No giggling here as I’m so out of control that I’ve had to comandeer part of Mr Liz’s TBR shelves for my piles of books not in the main sequence! The London Fog one looks excellent.

    • Fortunately most of my TBR is on the Kindle – otherwise I’d really have to move to a bigger house! Yes, I’m looking forward to that one – sounds fascinating…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

