TBR Thursday 47…

Episode 47

 

The main TBR (excluding the pre-TBR, the wishlist, the unread-Kindle-books list, and the pile hidden under the bedside cabinet) currently stands at 134. Those of you with calculators will realise that this means I’ve added (almost) nothing for nearly two weeks! I’m so proud! The new system of scheduling my reading is working well, but I’ve fallen behind a little due to the unfortunate Australian habit of playing tennis in the middle of the night.

C'mon, Andy!
C’mon, Andy! (He’s in the final!!!)

So here are a few of the delights which will be forthcoming once I’ve stopped blinking like an insomniac owl…

owl gif

Crime

 

second lifeCourtesy of NetGalley. After the huge success of Before I Go To Sleep, which I loved, the tricky second novel from SJ Watson…

The Blurb says Julia’s life is comfortable, if unremarkable, until her sister’s brutal murder opens old wounds. She finds solace in her sister’s best friend, Sophie, but when Sophie reveals the extent of her sister’s online life, Julia becomes convinced that the truth about her death lies deep in the dark, sordid world of online chatrooms and internet sex.

What begins as Julia’s search for the truth about her sister quickly turns into an exploration of herself and her own desires. After all, the internet is her playground, and why be just one thing when you can be as many as you like? What could possibly go wrong? After all, it’s only cybersex, isn’t it? No one’s going to get hurt. But then she meets the dark and mysterious Lukas in an online chat room, and things begin to get very dangerous indeed.

 * * * * *

Factual

 

huck finn's americaAlso from NetGalley. I wasn’t hugely thrilled by Huckleberry Finn, so I’m interested to see if this will influence my opinion…

The Blurb says “In Huck Finn’s America, award-winning biographer Andrew Levy shows how modern readers have been misunderstanding Huckleberry Finn for decades. Twain’s masterpiece, which still sells tens of thousands of copies each year and is taught more than any other American classic, is often discussed either as a carefree adventure story for children or a serious novel about race relations, yet Levy argues convincingly it is neither. Instead, Huck Finn was written at a time when Americans were nervous about youth violence and “uncivilized” bad boys, and a debate was raging about education, popular culture, and responsible parenting — casting Huck’s now-celebrated “freedom” in a very different and very modern light. On issues of race, on the other hand, Twain’s lifelong fascination with minstrel shows and black culture inspired him to write a book not about civil rights, but about race’s role in entertainment and commerce, the same features upon which much of our own modern consumer culture is also grounded. In Levy’s vision, Huck Finn has more to say about contemporary children and race that we have ever imagined—if we are willing to hear it.

* * * * *

Fiction

 

J a novelShortlisted for the 2014 Booker and nominated for the 2015 Folio Prize, so it must be brilliant. Mustn’t it? Again NetGalley.

The Blurb says “Set in the future, a world where the past is a dangerous country, not to be talked about or visited, J is a love story of incomparable strangeness, both tender and terrifying. Two people fall in love, not yet knowing where they have come from or where they are going. Kevern doesn’t know why his father always drew two fingers across his lips when he said a world starting with a J. It wasn’t then, and isn’t now, the time or place to be asking questions. Ailinn too has grown up in the dark about who she was or where she came from. On their first date Kevern kisses the bruises under her eyes. He doesn’t ask who hurt her. Brutality has grown commonplace. They aren’t sure if they have fallen in love of their own accord, or whether they’ve been pushed into each other’s arms. But who would have pushed them, and why?

Hanging over the lives of all the characters in this novel is a momentous catastrophe – a past event shrouded in suspicion, denial and apology, now referred to as What Happened, If It Happened.”

* * * * *

Sci-Fi/Fantasy

 

the 5th waveHugely popular and not at all my kind of thing, I’ve been talked into this one by Professor VJ Duke. So it’ll be his fault if it all goes horribly wrong…

The Blurb says After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

 * * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from NetGalley or Goodreads.

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

62 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 47…

  1. I’ll be truly contrary here and say that I didn’t like the first novel by SJ Watson too much – but I loved Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn. And yes, I felt that he understood children or youth culture and that ‘subversive’ streak, so it sounds like a long over-due reinterpretation.

    • Yes the Watson seemed to be a marmite one, but somehow it appealed to me. The Huck Finn book sounds intriguing – I wondered when I was reading HF itself how much my opinion was being influenced by my expectations of its ‘anti-racism’ which I didn’t feel came through nearly as much as I’d anticipated. So this book might help me to think of it differently…

  2. Who can blame you, FictionFan, for your interest in tennis?? 😉 And I’m very happy for you about your TBR. Wish mine would at least stay the same, instead of always going up… And as for those TBR choices? The Levy interests me.

    • Having been up now for roughly 28 hours staright, with only an afternoon nap (or two) to sustain me, I’m seriously thinking I’ll have to find a sport Australians don’t play… 😉

      The Levy does look interesting – I’m keen to see if it changes my opinion of the book at all…

  3. 134! That’s crazy. But if it wasn’t for the tennis…your list probably would be bigger. So glad Andy won! And you look good as an owl.

    Wow! Can’t believe you’re reading the 5th wave. That’s a wonder and a few. I think you’ll utterly hate it. I’m in so much trouble now.

    No reading love stories! And the Huck Finn one would definitely be of interest. Just like the wily Twain to do something like that.

  4. Andy’s matches have all been in the middle of the night for us here in the States, too. Usually we get to see him at least once during an Oz Open, but not so far this year. (Not sure what time the final is . . .)

    At least NZ and SL have for the most part been playing each other at cricket at a more reasonable hour.

    • I think they said the final is an evening match too which will be the middle of your night again, and dawn for me again! Shame you’ve missed him – he’s really playing brilliantly at the moment. At risk of jinxing him completely, I reckon he’s in with a good chance…

      Ah, I do like test cricket but not quite enough to lose sleep over, I’m afraid! But there’s something very soothing about a game that lasts for five days… the one day matches don’t have the same relaxing effect on me… 😉

      • In fact, it’s ODIs they’ve been playing, usually starting at 5pm for me. In fact, because I’ve been slogging away at the new magnum opus, it’s been more a case of getting an hour or two of cricket before bedtime.

        Thanks for the gloomy news about the final’s timing. I too think he’s in with a chance — it’s not as if he hasn’t been Djoco before on a big occasion.

        • Yeah, that’s the problem with cricket – it’s great if you have a whole day free but doesn’t fit into small spaces very well. Mind you, some of the men’s tennis matches go on nearly as long.

          I haven’t seen many of Djokovic’s matches this time so don’t know how his form is, but I’m hoping his semi with Wawrinka goes on for 5 sets and exhausts the winner totally. I’m so sporting! 😉

  5. I’m with MarinaSofia in NOT being that enamoured of the S.J. Watson. I wore my critical and unbelieveable hat far too often, and picked holes. But I’ll add that photo of that chap with the racket to my pile of TBR. What do you mean that isn’t an author photo? C’mon Andy! And I’d love that owl! Big time. I’ve added H is for Hawk to the TBR so an owl reading over my shoulder would be scrumptious.

    I think I must have made a New Year’s Resolution, without realising it, on behalf of the Kindle Voyage, to make it as unmanageable, as early in the year, as possible.

    Now I think we should all have a tot of whisky, just to show support for C’mon Andy. The sky is very grey and louring, so it’s impossible to tell where the yard arm is……………

    • Yes, I enjoyed it a lot, but wouldn’t rate it as anything more than light entertainment. It’ll be interesting to see how he does in this one…

      Andy apparently is an author! i spotted there’s a book he’s ‘written’ about winning Wimbledon. Hmm…oddly I had no desire to add that to the TBR. I don’t think H is for Hawk is my kind of thing, but every review I’ve seen of it has been glowing, and it does sound very much like your kind of thing…so enjoy!

      We’ve had quite a lot of snow, but it’s thawing already. I’m well stocked with the essentials anyway – cat-food and chocolate…

      • I always know the snow has come somewhere (without listening to the weather forecast) because that review I did way back when for Yaktrax starts getting lots of votes! I think I’ve had occasion to use them only ONCE since that first year, which was I think about 4 or 5 years ago, when I was using them LOTS. I’ll probably find they have been chewed apart and nested in by the mice the cats bring in and release…..clearly, I’m giving them too much cat food and chocolates!.

        And yes, H is for Hawk will absolutely have my name on it. I heard her being interviewed and reading an extract some months ago when she was up for the Samuel Johnson. There will probably be a lot of dismemberings…………of mice

        • The remaining snow has now frozen over, so I will have to dig out my own Yaktrax later. Not to mention defrosting the car which is covered with about half an inch of frozen snow. Why didn’t I clear it when it was soft and fresh? I could pretend I was busy saving a blue-eyed child, or the planet or a wahle, but I suspect you wouldn’t believe me anyway…

          • Too right, you were ensconced on the sofa, eyes propped open with matchsticks, staring at the telly, popping chocolates and yelling ‘Cmon Andy’. Only 2 more days to go and you can do the defrosting. Who knows, it might even have melted of its own accord. You could even help this along with a special tip just for you – buy a couple of kilos of catnip, sprinkle liberally over car, and wait for the heat generated by a job lot of wriggling, rolling neighbourhood cats to melt the snow. Of course, any areas which are slightly sticky or oily might acquire a decoration of fur, but it will be a warmer car to clean.

            • That sounds like a brilliant plan – especially since I seem to be a 3-cat houehold at present, since a massive tom has taken to eating here a couple of times a day. He doesn’t look like a stray, but he does seem to be really hungry as opposed to just stealing a bit of food for fun, so since it’s so cold, I’ve been letting him eat when he wants, much to the disgust of my own two. If he doesn’t go away of his own accord, I’ll deal with it (somehow) once it gets a bit warmer…

  6. Always happy to see a picture of Andy Murray in action, thanks for that. Today I am not much in the mood for any of these books, except maybe the one P.VJ suggests, but that’s only because he suggests it. I am ashamed to say that I have been distracted from my reading by -shock, horror – something else. Which I am too ashamed to say. Also, that owl is lovely.

  7. None of these appeals to me much, thank goodness. Enjoying Andy though – I’ve got so many things crossed I can hardly move!

  8. First and last (yes, the one VJ urged … ). My own TBR list is NOT increasing, thank Heaven. They still all fit in my book box, which is great news. Mantra: “I will not add more, I will not add more … “

  9. I have Second Life although I’ve fallen behind my schedule and since my plan of reading more of my own books and less review copies appears to be failing I’ll have to stay up all night reading while you are blinking 😉 I’ll be interested to see what you think of J, I’m tempted but will let you test ride it first!

    • Haha! We’re all better at making schedules than sticking to them, aren’t we? I’ve been pretty good at not requetsing loads of NG stuff, but I still have 15 of them to read, some from ages ago that I really must get through. J does sound tempting… we shall see!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

