TBR Thursday 46…

The People’s Choice 5…The Result!

 

An exciting contest this time! On Day 1, it looked like there would be a runaway winner, but gradually two other contenders narrowed the gap, and it looked as though there might be a major upset. But in the end the frontrunner held its lead – this week’s winner is…

the unquiet dead

The Blurb – Despite their many differences, Detective Rachel Getty trusts her boss, Esa Khattak, implicitly. But she’s still uneasy at Khattak’s tight-lipped secrecy when he asks her to look into Christopher Drayton’s death. Drayton’s apparently accidental fall from a cliff doesn’t seem to warrant a police investigation, particularly not from Rachel and Khattak’s team, which handles minority-sensitive cases. But when she learns that Drayton may have been living under an assumed name, Rachel begins to understand why Khattak is tip-toeing around this case. It soon comes to light that Drayton may have been a war criminal with ties to the Srebrenica massacre of 1995.

 *******

Thanks to all who voted, and to Carol at Reading, Writing and Riesling for the review that brought this book to my attention.

Now all I have to do is find time to read it…

(Somehow or another, The Murder of the Century snuck on to the TBR as well. Don’t know how that happened…!)

*******

And here’s a few more that should be rising to the top of the pile soon…

Fiction

 

stay up with meCourtesy of NetGalley, this collection of short stories has been nominated for the 2015 Folio Prize…

The Blurb – The stories in Tom Barbash’s evocative and often darkly funny collection explore the myriad ways we try to connect to one another and to the sometimes cruel world around us. The newly single mother in ‘The Break’ interferes with her son’s love life over his Christmas vacation from college. The anxious young man in ‘Balloon Night’ persists in hosting his and his wife’s annual watch-the-Macy’s-Thanksgiving-Day-Parade-floats-be-inflated party, while trying to keep the myth of his marriage equally afloat. The young narrator in ‘The Women’ watches his widowed father become the toast of Manhattan’s midlife dating scene, as he struggles to find his own footing. The characters in Stay Up With Me find new truths when the old ones have given out or shifted course. Barbash laces his narratives with sharp humour, psychological acuity, and pathos, creating deeply resonant and engaging stories that pierce the heart and linger in the imagination.  

* * * * *

 

a tale of two citiesIn accordance with my resolutions, some Dickens – I shall be reading my beautiful Nonesuch edition of A Tale of Two Cities, courtesy of Santa Claus (Christmas, 2012, I think!)…

The Blurb – After eighteen years as a political prisoner in the Bastille, the ageing Doctor Manette is finally released and reunited with his daughter in England. There the lives of two very different men, Charles Darnay, an exiled French aristocrat, and Sydney Carton, a disreputable but brilliant English lawyer, become enmeshed through their love for Lucie Manette. From the tranquil roads of London, they are drawn against their will to the vengeful, bloodstained streets of Paris at the height of the Reign of Terror, and they soon fall under the lethal shadow of La Guillotine.

 * * * * *

Crime

 

the ice princessThis one has been on the TBR since I read The Stranger in May 2013! Time I got around to reading it, I think…

The Blurb – In this electrifying tale of suspense from an international crime-writing sensation, a grisly death exposes the dark heart of a Scandinavian seaside village. Erica Falck returns to her tiny, remote hometown of Fjällbacka, Sweden, after her parents’ deaths only to encounter another tragedy: the suicide of her childhood best friend, Alex. It’s Erica herself who finds Alex’s body—suspended in a bathtub of frozen water, her wrists slashed. Erica is bewildered: Why would a beautiful woman who had it all take her own life? Teaming up with police detective Patrik Hedström, Erica begins to uncover shocking events from Alex’s childhood. As one horrifying fact after another comes to light, Erica and Patrik’s curiosity gives way to obsession—and their flirtation grows into uncontrollable attraction. But it’s not long before one thing becomes very clear: a deadly secret is at stake, and there’s someone out there who will do anything—even commit murder—to protect it.

* * * * *

Sci-fi/Fantasy

the glittering worldCourtesy of NetGalley. Not quite sure if this is sci-fi, fantasy, horror – or all three. But hopefully I’ll know after I read it…

The Blurb – When up-and-coming chef Michael “Blue” Whitley returns with three friends to the remote Canadian community of his birth, it appears to be the perfect getaway from New York. He soon discovers, however, that everything he thought he knew about himself is a carefully orchestrated lie. Though he had no recollection of the event, as a young boy Blue and another child went missing for weeks in the idyllic, mysterious woods of Starling Cove. Soon thereafter, his mother suddenly fled with him to America, their homeland left behind.

But then Blue begins to remember. And once the shocking truth starts bleeding back into his life, his closest friends—Elisa, his former partner in crime; her stalwart husband, Jeremy; and Gabe, Blue’s young and admiring co-worker—must unravel the secrets of Starling Cove and the artists’ colony it once harbored. All four will face their troubled pasts, their most private demons, and a mysterious race of beings that inhabits the land, spoken of by the locals only as the Other Kind…

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads or NetGalley.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

(And aren’t all four of these covers gorgeous this week?)

61 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 46…

  1. A-ha! I knew that The Unquiet Dead would prevail. 😉 – And I do hope you’ll enjoy The Ice Princess. In my opinion, it’s got a harder edge and more of a focus on the mystery at hand than some of the others in that series. I’ll be keen to know what you think of it.

    • I’m always surprised by the winner! But that’s what’s fun about doing these – I like to see what other people pick. I certainly enjoyed the only Lackberg novel I’ve read, so I’m looking forward to The Ice Princess – part of my campaign to catch up on some of the series I’ve jumped into the middle of… 🙂

  2. A Tale of Two Cities – the first Dickens I ever read. I might join you in the re-read – but on Kindle, not in hardback.

    • Well, my new regime says I shall be reading it between 27th Jan and 10th Feb. (How long do you reckon I’ll stick to this reading plan??) I’ll end up reading it half paper/half Kindle – I can’t see me carting the hardback into the bath…

  3. Ah, a moment of nostalgia for It was the best of times; It was the worst of times. You know I might join you and big-Sis on a re read. Possibly the most romantic Dickens. All that it is a far far better thing that I do than I have ever done, it is a far far better rest that I go to than I have ever known. Cue a pantechnicon delivery of tissues and an even larger pantechnicon bearing the chocolates to try and assuage the grief of inconsolable sobbing. Pretty sure it was my first Dickens too. And i certainly sobbed. And sobbed. AND SOBBED. No wonder I’ve never been able to take up knitting. It seems so unfeeling.

    The Unquiet Grave does look potentially interesting and I shall await your review with interest

    • A Tale of Two Cities is scheduled to be read between 27th Jan and 10th Feb. A precise number of pages must be read each day equivalent to exactly one fourteenth of the book – no slacking, no jumping ahead! Should you require a day off or an extension, a request must be submitted in advance and countersigned by a responsible adult….

      Oh dear, so sorry! This scheduled reading plan business is having unfortunate side effects. I am in severe danger of falling behind and haven’t decided what punishment to give myself… HELP!!! Perhaps I’ll bump Sidney off and take his place…or give up books altogether, and knit and cackle while everyone else struggles to cope with their TBRs…

    • I love Dickens, even though the one they made us read at school was the sickly-sweet Oliver Twist. (Sometimes I think they were trying to put us off reading altogether!) It’s years since I read A Tale of Two Cities – it’ll be almost like reading it for the first time. 🙂

    • I hope we both enjoy it, but if not we can blame Carol! It always cheers me up to hear that other people’s TBRs are growing too – makes me feel less feeble… 😉

    • It was nearly five – took all my strength not to add all the ‘losers’!

      The Ice Princess is the first in my new determination to backtrack on series where I enjoyed a later one, so if I enjoy this one too, then the plan is to gradually read them all in order…

  4. I think I’ll add both this and Murder of the Century to my queue. I don’t feel bad about adding six books to it this week since reading four books in the last five days. It’s amazing what I can accomplish when I’m stalling on writing (and cleaning).

    • Cleaning? Oh, yes – I remember I used to do that once too! But you know what they say – after four years the dust doesn’t get any thicker… 😉

      These both look good though – hope we both enjoy them!

  5. Not fair!!! I lost. Hmm…shouldn’t my vote count for 10? That’s such a good suggestion.

    You know, FEF, do you suppose you should stop adding books? Maybe just until you finish everything I’ve given you to read?

  6. Just FYI, the stories in the collection, “Stay Awake” by Dan Chaon, influenced Barbash’s collection (IMHO), so I’d read Stay Awake first. I also think that Chaon is the “go to” guy, with a slightly better book. If I hadn’t read Chaon’s first, I would certainly have recommended Barbash’s. I found that I couldn’t put Chaon’s down, while I didn’t feel compelled to finish Barbash’s (read it about six monhs after reading Chaon’s book), although I saw it through to the end. Maybe I would have felt differently if I hadn’t read Chaon’s work first. Hmmm. Perhaps you should read them side by side and see what you think! 😀

    • Ah, I should have done it that way – but the Barbash is a review copy so I had to read it quickly. I’m about a third of the way through, and it’s heading for a solid but rather uninspiring 4 stars. I like his writing, and the characterisation is good, but the actual story part isn’t really there for me. They read more like the beginning of stories – the characters and situations get nicely set up and then…it just stops. Only one of them so far has felt fully satisfying as a complete story. Not that I think shorts should necessarily always have a beginning, middle and end, but I feel the reader should feel satisfied by them. The Chaon remains on the TBR, and my new system should, in theory, mean these books that are lingering should finally start to climb…

        • Howling at the Moon – the one about the boy who caused the car crash that kills his brother? Interestingly, however, despite making a brief note at the time, I already don’t remember a great deal about it – never a good sign…though, to be fair, I’m currently sleep deprived due to the Australian Open (tennis) being played in the middle of the night…

          • Interesting. I don’t recall that one at all right now. I do recall the last story, but then I heard him read it at the Squaw Valley Writers conference. Tennis will be the death of you, I’m sure. 😀

            • The rest of the collection is on hold at the moment. My brain is so addled I may have to re-read some Enid Blyton – though even that might be too complex for me to get to grips with… If only Rafa and Murray would lose, and I could get some sleep…zzzzzz!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

