TBR Thursday 43…

Episode 43

 

There’s good news and bad news on the TBR front this week. First the good news – the list has dropped below 100! To a stunning 98 in fact, which only represents about ten months worth of reading. (Short pause while I sob…)

The bad news is that, in a moment of madness, I decided to see how many books are sitting unread on the Kindle that are not included in the existing TBR. The answer is 58. (Long pause while I howl and punch the walls…) So combining the two makes a total of…er…um…156. Or roughly a year and four months worth…

One day I must also go through the physical books and see what horrors lurk there (not to mention unlistened-to audiobooks)…but not today…

So the plan (go ahead, laugh!) is – no more than two NetGalley requests or other review copies a month – and no more than two added from temptations spread before me by my fellow bloggers. And no more than two purchases a month. That way I should be down to zero by…um…2020, roughly. Hands up all those who think I’ll stick to it – Ah! Just you, then, Ms Gullible…

Oh well, here are a few that have mysteriously snuck on since I last checked…

Crime

 

red queenA few weeks back, I read Orange Pekoe’s great review of this book and, in her comments section, bemoaned the fact that Honey Brown’s books aren’t available over here yet. (OP had been brought a copy by a visitor from Australia.) She straightaway offered to post her copy to me – isn’t that just the kindest thing? So thank you, Orange Pekoe – I’m very grateful and thrilled to have this one to read…

The Blurb saysShannon and Rohan Scott have retreated to their family’s cabin in the Australian bush to escape a virus-ravaged world. After months of isolation, Shannon imagines there’s nothing he doesn’t know about his older brother, or himself – until a stranger slips under their late-night watch and past their loaded guns.

Reluctantly the brothers take the young woman into their fold, and the dynamic within the cabin shifts. Possessiveness takes hold, loyalties are split, and trust is shattered. Before long, all three find themselves locked into a very different battle for survival.

 * * * * *

the life i left behindCleo’s been at it again – her glowing review of this one on Cleopatra Loves Books left me with no alternative but to request it from NetGalley…

The Blurb saysFive years ago Melody Pieterson was attacked and left for dead. She coped by burying the person she was, locking away her memories and creating a new life for herself. Her attacker is behind bars. In four weeks’ time she will get married. She’s almost normal. Then the body of another woman is found, close to where Melody was discovered. Like her she has blond hair and green eyes. Like Melody police find a gold bird cage necklace at the scene. And Melody realises her attacker has been out there all along. The woman’s name is Eve Elliot. Melody sets out to discover everything she can about Eve to work out why they were targeted. But the more she gets to know her the more she realises what’s wrong with her own life. Eve may be dead but she’s the only person who can teach Melody how to live again.

* * * * *

Factual

 

what galileo sawCourtesy of Cornell University Press via NetGalley. I’ve just started reading this one, and the first couple of chapters make me think it’s going to be a challenging but thought-provoking read…

The Blurb saysThe Scientific Revolution of the seventeenth century has often been called a decisive turning point in human history. It represents, for good or ill, the birth of modern science and modern ways of viewing the world. In What Galileo Saw, Lawrence Lipking offers a new perspective on how to understand what happened then, arguing that artistic imagination and creativity as much as rational thought played a critical role in creating new visions of science and in shaping stories about eye-opening discoveries in cosmology, natural history, engineering, and the life sciences.

What Galileo Saw bridges the divide between science and art; it brings together Galileo and Milton, Bacon and Shakespeare. Lipking enters the minds and the workshops where the Scientific Revolution was fashioned, drawing on art, literature, and the history of science to reimagine how perceptions about the world and human life could change so drastically, and change forever. “

* * * * *

Fiction

 

what i found out about herCourtesy of University of Notre Dame Press via NetGalley (I love all these University Presses!). No reason for this one – I just liked the blurb. Hmm…stylistically daring…wonder what that means…

The Blurb saysWhat I Found Out About Her: Stories of Dreaming Americans, winner of the 2014 Richard Sullivan Prize in Short Fiction, reaffirms Peter LaSalle’s reputation as one of the most startlingly original writers working in the short fiction genre today.

In this collection of eleven stories, LaSalle explores how everyday life for many—an FBI agent, a study-abroad student, a drug dealer’s chic girlfriend, a trio of Broadway playwrights, among others—can often take on something much larger than that, almost the texture of a haunting dream. Marked by stylistic daring and a rare lyricism in language, this is intense, thoroughly moving fiction that probes the contemporary American psyche, portraying it in all its frequently painful sadness and also its brave and unflagging hope.

 * * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from NetGalley or Amazon.

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

84 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 43…

  1. I guess I’d choose the LaSalle short stories. Even though I don’t currently feel like
    being haunted, dared, moved, probed or experiencing painful sadness maybe
    I would in the new year! And isn’t it some comfort to know you always have
    something to read?

    • Haha! When you put it like that, it does sound as if it’s going to be a…challenging read! But fictional painful sadness is so much more fun than the real thing… No, I think I passed the comfort level about a hundred books ago! 😉

  2. FictionFan – I’m deliberately refusing to count the number of TBR items on my Kindle. That’s what I bought the Kindle for: to hide – er – be discreet about – the number of books I still haven’t read. Still, I think you have some tempting reads there. And I’ve found Cleo’s blog to be dangerous to my TBR too!

    • 😆 Yes, too easy to hide them there – especially these ridiculous ‘collected works’ ones which must be another 100 or so books if I was daft enough to count them all separately…

  3. Every time I count my TBRs, I come up with a different number – probably because I keep forgetting the books in the back row, the ones that aren’t in the study, the ones that are on my husband’s Kindle or the ones that are in pdf format on my laptop etc. etc.
    I’ve also been heavily tempted by the Colette McBeth – and I’m becoming quite a fan of short stories too…

  4. Take my advice FF, and do some creative accounting on the TBR like I’ve done with my Kindle Voyage – park stuff in different folders in the Cloud, so that even you are no longer quite so sure where and what they are. I’m now waiting to be offered gainful employment by someone wanting to evade taxes (Amazon, perhaps) I’m sure I can provide lots of advice about offshore virtual folder havens.

  5. It never pays to take inventory, lol. I ‘think’ that about 75% of the unread physical books in house are listed on my tbr at Goodreads which currently stands at 174. I don’t count any on my reader since they’re all free from Project Gutenberg or other sources. Actually I happen to be reading two 19th Century books on it now – maybe I should count them, lol.

    Anyway, good for you!

    • Thankfully I don’t keep a wishlist on Goodreads – but I still haven’t included all the books on my Amazon wishlist…till they hit the Kindle, they don’t count! Haha! I like the idea of not counting free books – that would cut my list a lot. Maybe I could exclude all the ones that I got as £0.99 Daily Deals too… 😉

      Thanks for popping in and commenting! 😀

  6. Well my rule is when they’re on the Kindle they aren’t real books so don’t count, and I’m sticking to that! It’s all these bargains that pop up; books you wouldn’t pay full price for but will gamble 99p on. I guess what all of us need to ask ourselves is, would we pay full price for this?? But then again, it’s great to gamble sometimes on new authors. The short stories sound great (I also like University Presses; have you looked on that other book request site, I think it’s Edelweiss?? Lots of Uni Presses, and it’s all non fiction, as far as I can work out. Could be dangerous for you…!) Got the Colette McBeth too; loved her first book Precious Thing, hope the second matches up to it! Honey Brown’s an author I’ve heard people mention good things about – although her first name suggests, term, 50 shades territory. Glad to see that cover uses her initials!

    • Haha! You can’t not count Kindle books – that’s cheating!!! Funnily enough, that’s the rule I’ve been using – the ‘would I pay full price for this’ – since I realised the situation was getting out of hand. I was a sucker for all these daily deals for ages, but I don’t even look at them now. But if I fancy a book I stick it on my wishlist and hope the price will drop at some point. And I try new authors via NetGalley rather than buying. To be honest, even if I never read another new author I probably still wouldn’t be able to keep up with all my favourites.

      I did have a look at Edelweiss ages ago, but really hated the whole layout and got rejected for the first couple I requested. So I gave up. But I don’t miss it – I don’t feel I’m short of books at the moment!

  7. So exactly how were you counting your TBR if it didn’t include books on your kindle, physical books or unread audiobooks?? Although I laugh I have vowed to cut down on the review books in 2015 so that I can get around to reading some of those I own, you’ll see why in my post later this month. How brilliant you have one of Honey Brown’s books. I have seen a couple posted on blogs over the last few months and have my fingers crossed that they’ll get to the UK soon. Thank you so much for the mention, I really hope you enjoy The Life I Left Behind.

    • Haha! Well, you see, I have a spreadsheet – and I really thought almost everything was on it…till I started checking! Then when I spotted one or two missing, I became intrigued…big mistake! Yes, I’m definitely cutting down on review copies – I’ve only got 10 or so left, and I’ve not been requesting many recently. I’d love to have time for some re-reads next year. I’ve been seeing great reviews for Honey Brown all over the place, so I’m delighted to get to read one – I don’t know why they’ve not been published here yet. And definitely looking forward to the Colette McBeth… 😀

    • Trying to meet deadlines for review copies has become a real bind this year, I must admit – another good reason to take fewer of them. The Colette McBeth looks great – and Cleo’s recommendation is usually to be relied on! 😀

  8. I haven’t read the others, but I can highly recommend RED QUEEN. It’s a couple of years since I read it, but it’s a book that has stayed with me. A stunning debut from one of my favourite Australian authors.

    • Yes, your reviews, along with Carol’s from Reading, Writing and Reisling, have been what have made me want to read her. So I’m delighted to finally get a chance… 😀

    • I think the Galileo book is a new publication – October if memory serves me right (slaps own wrist at being two months behind on reading review copies). It’s looking very interesting – one of those that is definitely making me slow down and think…

      The short stories won a prize, so…that could well mean they’re dreadful! 😉

    • I’ve only read a couple of chapters so far, and it’s definitely interesting, but I haven’t quite decided on the style yet – might be a bit more academic than I normally go for…

      • Oh dear – now if YOU say its more academic than you usually go for, what hope the rest of us, as you do pretty well at sticking with the ‘pay close attention’ factual stuff. Perhaps you can do a good thorough resume of it and tell us so we are able to bluff our way through seventeenth century thought without too much sweat and cold towels wrapped round the head.

        • Sadly I stopped after chapter 2 (my fault again, not the book’s) and I know I’m going to have to go back and read them again ‘cos I’ll have forgotten. Extensive notes may have to be the solution…

          • Oh GOOD. Excessive notes should be posted in your review, so we can be educated by the review without needing to do the hard work ourselves. Or, let’s be honest, so I can be educated by the review without needing to do the hard work MYself. I shouldn’t tar all your fdllowers with my laziness

            • Unfortunately my brain seems to have turned to mush recently – I think you’ll have to start reading and summarising all these books for me! I shall send you a list…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

