TBR Thursday 41…

Episode 41

 

The TBR is still going down. (Hurrah!) Currently standing at an almost respectable 103, it will hopefully dip back down to two figures within the next few weeks…if I can continue to withstand the temptation of all your lovely reviews, that is. So here’s another bumper crop of pre-Christmas treats on the list – though Christmas may have to be put back a couple of months to give me time to read them all…

Crime

 

moriartyIt’s publication day for Anthony Horowitz’s second Holmes follow-on (though I’m not sure Holmes is actually in it), and it’s already arrived on my Kindle. I thought he caught Watson’s voice incredibly well in his first, The House of Silk, though I was slightly less enamoured with some aspects of the plot. Intrigued to see where he takes us in this one…

The Blurb saysSherlock Holmes is dead. Days after Holmes and his arch-enemy Moriarty fall to their doom at the Reichenbach Falls, Pinkerton agent Frederick Chase arrives in Europe from New York. The death of Moriarty has created a poisonous vacuum which has been swiftly filled by a fiendish new criminal mastermind who has risen to take his place. Ably assisted by Inspector Athelney Jones of Scotland Yard, a devoted student of Holmes’s methods of investigation and deduction, Frederick Chase must forge a path through the darkest corners of the capital to shine light on this shadowy figure, a man much feared but seldom seen, a man determined to engulf London in a tide of murder and menace.

 * * * * *

want you deadNow, I blame Cleo for this one. She’s always raving about Peter James, so when I was offered a copy of this from Pan MacMillan, I found it impossible to say no. Click to read her review on Cleopatra Loves Books – but be warned. Visiting Cleo’s blog can severely damage your TBR…

The Blurb saysWhen Red Westwood meets handsome, charming and rich Bryce Laurent through an online dating agency, there is an instant attraction. But as their love blossoms, the truth about his past, and his dark side, begins to emerge. Everything he has told Red about himself turns out to be a tissue of lies, and her infatuation with him gradually turns to terror.

Within a year, and under police protection, she evicts him from her flat and her life. But Red’s nightmare is only just beginning. For Bryce is obsessed with her, and he intends to destroy everything and everyone she has ever known and loved – and then her too…

* * * * *

Factual

 

the edge of extinctionCourtesy of NetGalley. I haven’t come across too many environmental/wildlife books this year, so looking forward to this one…

The Blurb saysJules Pretty’s travels take him among the Māori people along the coasts of the Pacific, into the mountains of China, and across petroglyph-rich deserts of Australia. He treks with nomads over the continent-wide steppes of Tuva in southern Siberia, walks and boats in the wildlife-rich inland swamps of southern Africa, and experiences the Arctic with ice fishermen in Finland. He explores the coasts and inland marshes of eastern England and Northern Ireland and accompanies Innu people across the taiga’s snowy forests and the lakes of the Labrador interior. Pretty concludes his global journey immersed in the discrete cultures and landscapes embedded within the American landscape: the small farms of the Amish, the swamps of the Cajuns in the deep South, and the deserts of California. From these accounts of people living close to the land and close to the edge emerges a larger story about sustainability and the future of the planet. Pretty addresses not only current threats to natural and cultural diversity but also the unsustainability of modern lifestyles typical of industrialized countries. In a very real sense, Pretty discovers, what we manage to preserve now may well save us later.”

* * * * *

Fiction

 

gutenberg's apprenticeFrom bookbridgr (sic) this time – a paper book! Do I still remember how to read them? But it seems rather appropriate that this book should be printed ‘properly’…

The Blurb says “In the middle of the 15th century, scribe Peter Schoeffer is dismayed to be instructed by his father to give up his beloved profession of illuminating texts in Paris. Instead he is to travel to Mainz in Germany to be apprenticed to Johann Gutenberg, an entrepreneur who has invented a new process for producing books – the printing press. Working in conditions of extreme secrecy, the men employed by Gutenberg daily face new challenges both artistic and physical as they strive to create the new books to the standard required by their master. In a time of huge turmoil in Europe and around the world, Gutenberg is relentless in pursuing his dream and wooing the powerful religious leaders whose support is critical. Peter’s resistance to the project slowly dissolves as he sees that, with the guidance of a scribe such as himself, the new Bibles could be as beautiful in their way as the old. Today we can see that beauty in some of our museums, but few know the astonishing tale of ambition, ruthlessness and triumph that lies behind it.

 * * * * *

london a literary anthologyAnd on the subject of beautiful books, I am the lucky recipient of a hardback copy of this courtesy of The British Library. It is sumptuously illustrated – if the content lives up to the look and feel of this one, it will be a thing of pure joy…

The Blurb says“There’s nowhere like London really you know,” says Ginger in Evelyn Waugh’s Vile Bodies. From the innumerable books written about London or set in the city, it would seem countless other writers agree. This anthology features a broad collection of poems and scenes from novels that stretch from the fifteenth century to the present day. They range from Daniel Defoe extolling it as “the greatest, the finest, the richest city in the world,” and Rudyard Kipling declaring impatiently, “I am sick of London town,” to William Makepeace Thackeray moving among “the very greatest circles of the London fashion,” and Charles Dickens venturing into an “infernal gulf.”

Illustrated with evocative prints, drawings, and full-color artwork from British Library collections, the book explores London as never before. Experience London for the first time with Lord Byron’s Don Juan and James Berry in his Caribbean gear “beginning in the city.”  Plunge into the multiracial whirlpool described in William Wordsworth’s Prelude, Hanif Kureishi’s The Black Album, and Zadie Smith’s White Teeth, and see the ever-changing city through the eyes of Tobias Smollett, John Galsworthy, and Angela Carter. From well-known texts to others that are less familiar, London: A Literary Anthology brings London to life through the words of many of the greatest writers in the English language.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from NetGalley, Goodreads or Amazon.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

51 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 41…

  1. FictionFan – You have such discipline! I like the look of London quite a lot! But I think Cleo’s right about the Peter James series, so if I could only choose one it would be that one. But hey, why stop at one? 😉

    • Why indeed? 😉

      Yes, I don’t really know why I haven’t read more Peter James – I read one years ago and enjoyed it, but then he just fell off my radar somehow. The London book looks fantastic…

  2. I always love reading about London, so that one is rather tempting. I think Anthony Horowitz is an excellent writer and I think he could quite well to the ‘Holmes’ world justice. He should have written the new Poirot, it would have been brilliant.

    • I was an adopted Londoner myself for a while so feel quite sentimental about the old place – and the book is gorgeous! I read the first chapter of the Horowitz last night and he has me hooked already… the first book was probably the best faux-Holmes I’ve ever read.

  3. The London book looks marvellous, you lucky thing. And I like the sound of the Peter James…but as my TBR is in a similar state to yours, I’m trying to be good. Trying v hard….

    • I know! I feel lucky with that one! Much though I love my Kindle, sometimes a beautiful hardback is a real treat. I’m being very, very strong at the moment – it’s killing me admittedly… 😉

  4. Hm London looks good, (well, London IS good!) and I’m swithering over the Horowitz – I remember YOU pushing me towards the highly enjoyable House of Silk. Let’s see if you high five this before I past from my hard earneds

    I did think long and hard about Gutenberg but in the end passed it by, wasn’t really sure if it would hit the spot for me, and I have too many which are right on target jumping to be attended to

    • Well, I’m hoping to make you drool with envy when I review the London book – assuming it’s as good as it looks, that is. I read the first chapter of the Horowitz last night and he hooked me straight away. I’m not sure Holmes is going to be in it at all, but the Pinkerton guy sounds interesting and it’s Holmes’ world… we shall see!

      Yes, I have mixed feelings about Gutenberg too, and it seems to be getting a fairly mixed response. Again, the proof of the pudding is in the eating…

  5. Oh, and a local bookstore holds a “School Daze” book sale in the fall where various schools receive 15% of the profits whenever the school is mentioned during a purchase. At the bookstore, I found myself seduced by “All the Light We Cannot See” by Anthony Doerr. At least it’s 240 pages shorter than The Goldfinch. But at the same time, I bought a slim little novella by Tolstoy and translated by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky. I can’t believe I’ve never read “The Death of Ivan Ilyich.” And then there are others, but I’ll stop there. 😀 Like I said, the TBR pile is doomed to remain above 100.

    • Sometimes I think you’re worse than me though… 😉

      I haven’t read the Doerr but it sounds very familiar – I seem to remember it was one LF raved about? And I swore I wouldn’t be reading any more Tolstoy for at least a decade after the great War and Peace marathion of 2012…

  6. Oh I do hope you enjoy the Peter James and thank you so much for linking to my review. The London book looks simply amazing! I’ve quibbled over Gutenberg’s Apprentice so I’ll be interested to see what you make of that one.

    • Thanks, I hope I will – though that would mean I’d have to add all the rest of the series to the TBR! The London book is gorgeous – the occasional lovely hardback is a must, even for the Queen of the Kindle! Hopefully I’ll get to Gutenberg in the next few weeks but although the TBR is going down, I feel completely swamped at the moment – so many books with publication dates at this time of the year! My willpower must stay strong…

  7. I don’t think that I could choose just one. London is a must, but Guttenberg would be very tempting. Any book that talks about the problems of extinction has to be read. I’m not any help, am I.

  8. “London” looks awesome! Though I have to ask. Didn’t you have a post on here a few weeks ago about publishing trends you were just sick of? And didn’t Austen/Christie/Conan Doyle/Wodehouse “continuations” make the list? (Though that being said, I see the temptation. I’m about to start “Death Comes to Pemberley,” despite vowing to never read an Austen spinoff.

    • Haha! You should never expect me to be consistent! Though I did say in that post that I’d have to read them all just to be sure they were really bad… 😉

      I haven’t read ‘Death Comes to Pemberley’ – funnily enough I really couldn’t bring myself to. I want to imagine Lizzie and Darcy living happily ever after… I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it…

  9. *laughs* I’m late! Sorry… I’m laughing ’cause you’re still over 100. I mean, if you stop and think about it, that’s a lot of books. Would take me a few years to read that many. Maybe 20 years.

    But…FEF…where’s the 5th Wave?

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

