Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

little liesAll for one and one for all…

😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

Trivia Night at Pirriwee Public Primary School in New South Wales doesn’t turn out quite as planned. We learn in Chapter 1 that the evening ends with a murder, but we don’t know the victim, the murderer or the motive. We are then whisked back six months to meet the various characters and follow the events leading up to the murder. It all begins on the day the mothers bring their five-year-olds along to the Kindergarten ‘Let’s Get Ready’ Orientation Day…

This is such a clever book. The mothers are brilliantly observed, completely believable – people most of us have met. They each have quirks and flaws, they can be annoying, but they’re also intensely likeable – you can’t help but feel that it would be so much fun to spend time with them. And this despite the fact that they are ‘helicopter’ parents – obsessed with every aspect of their little dears’ lives. So when an accusation is made that one child has bullied another, the mothers are much more upset about the whole thing than the children seem to be. There is so much humour in the book that it’s only gradually the darker underlying subjects begin to show through. Moriarty avoids the temptation to over-dramatise so that, even as we learn of the secrets some of the women are hiding, the characters remain totally credible. And as the book progresses, the author keeps a perfect balance between the serious side of the story and the humour – like in real life, she allows her characters to have both happy and sad times, rather than burying them under a blanket of angst. Oh, and she writes in the third person past tense – I think I love her!!

She’d once been appalled to hear of women claiming PMT as a defence for murder. Now she understood. She could happily murder someone today! In fact, she felt like there should be some sort of recognition for her remarkable strength of character that she didn’t.

As the book starts, Madeline has just turned forty. On her second marriage, she’s far older than most of the other mothers and takes on a sort of maternal role with them too. She’s loud, extrovert and feisty – but she’s also kind, generous and understanding. She may be very happily married now, but that doesn’t stop her being very bitter (and extremely funny) about her first husband, Patrick, who deserted her not long after the birth of her eldest daughter. And now he’s moved to Pirriwee with his wife Bonnie and new daughter – Madeline is less than thrilled. On the surface, Celeste has an ideal life – stunningly beautiful, she is the mother of a set of agreeably naughty twin boys, and the wife of rich and handsome Perry. But it’s soon obvious that the marriage is not as golden as it appears. The third of the main characters is Jane, a young single mother new in town, whose son is the child accused of bullying. Upset by this, Jane is taken under the wing of an outraged Madeline and so begins a war between Madeline’s crowd and the Blonde Bobs – the yummy-mummies who think they rule the school. But what starts as something reasonably light-hearted will soon begin to spiral out of control…

Perhaps Madeline should take up yoga so she and [her daughter] Alice would have something in common? But every time she tried yoga she found herself silently chanting her own mantra: I’m so boooored, I’m so boooored.

Liane Moriarty
Liane Moriarty

I loved this book. The characterisation is great, as is the writing. These women may have problems in their lives, but ultimately they’re survivors, with a strength that comes from their friendships and mutual support. The book reminded me of some of the great female ensemble films of the past – Fried Green Tomatoes, Steel Magnolias or even 9 to 5. There’s a lovely device where comments made by some of the uninvolved mothers during police interviews after the murder give a kind of running commentary on how the rest of the community viewed the growing feud. The ending managed that difficult feat of being both surprising and yet entirely consistent with what had gone before. This will undoubtedly be one of my favourite books of the year – highly recommended.

Thanks again to Cleo from Cleopatra Loves Books, whose excellent review persuaded me to read this book.

NB This book was provided for review by the publisher, Penguin Books UK.

Amazon UK Link
Amazon US Link  – for reasons too deep for me to fathom, the title in the US has been changed to Big Little Lies.

33 thoughts on “Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

  1. FictionFan – I loved Cleo’s review too. And your enthusiastic recommendation has convinced me even more that I ought to read this one. From what both of you have said, Moriarty draws characters that are very realistic, and I always consider that a ‘plus’ when I’m reading. And the wit doesn’t hurt either!

    • Yes, I found the characters completely believable and really enjoyed spending time with them – especially Madeline. A great depiction of how mutual support works in the real world – though it doesn’t always lead to a murder, I hope… 😉

    • I loved this one, as you can tell! I’m so glad you recommended it. 🙂 They were just so true to life, and such fun. And yet it managed to cover some serious stuff too without trivialising it – very cleverly done!

  2. And, of course, that’s a better title! It’s a name I’d pick, I think.

    What a wonder! I love how the books starts…then wisks one back into the past. Now…I must needs know if one of the kids is murdered. That’s an interest.

    (Women are such complainers!)

    • Tchah! You colonials! Just have to be different… (Hmm…just had a thought. If we vote Yes, does that mean…I’ll be a colonial??)

      No, no! Even FF isn’t mean enough to think murdering children is funny. Locking them up is sufficient…

      (*laughing* Was that provoked by something in the review? Or just a general comment… )

  3. I loved it as well. I was feeling quite disheartened about the book I was reading and Little Lies just called my attention from the review copies pile. So I decided to give it a try and I swear it saved me and my reading “mojo”. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a fast-paced, psychologically-clever reading! And of course, to all crime fiction fans.

    • I was the same! I’d had a run of books that I was eiother struggling with or just finding a bit dull, so this one was like a breath of fresh air. It’s so good when you find a book that’s just such a pleasure to read…

      Thanks for popping in and commenting! 😀

  4. There you’ve gone and done it! That earthquake I just felt was my pile falling over. Thank you for exacerbating the complicated plate tectonics of the Bay Area. 😀

    Apparently the American title is “Big Little Lies.” Don’t know why they bothered to change it. It will be mine as soon as the library gets it in stock. You see, I’ve gotten a bit smarter about allowing books with indeterminate visas into my home.

    • Hurray!! I really think you’ll love this one. Especiaally having a child at school yourself – I’ll be amazed if you don’t recognise some of these mothers…maybe even yourself… 😯

      Can’t understand the title change at all – and just to confuse the issue it’s available under both titles over here! Publishers, eh?

  5. This sounds great! I particularly like books where characters are drawn believably and your point about the ending being both surprising yet still fitting with what went before, has sold this book to me! Great review 🙂

  6. Having on one occasion had to break up a fight in the school hall between two warring mothers I’m not sure I would be able to read this without traumatic memories coming back to haunt me 🙂

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

