TBR Thursday 35…

Episode 35

 

The TBR has stayed steady this week…on 114! Unfortunately I seem to be in reading lull – I’m enjoying the three books I’m currently reading, but seem to be going slower than a snail on a go-slow. I may run out of reviews soon and be forced to ‘entertain’ you all with a sing-a-long. Though I’m not really sure that you deserve that…

Crime

 

Anyway, I’m starting this week with a question to all you crime aficionados…

 

Falling freely On the grounds of having seen so many rave reviews around the crimosphere for Leif GW Persson, I cheerfully pressed the NetGalley request button for this one…

The Blurb saysIt’s August 2007, and Lars Martin Johansson, chief of the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation in Sweden has opened the files on the unsolved murder of Prime Minister Olof Palme. With his retirement quickly closing in, Johansson forms a new group comprised of a few trustworthy detectives who doggedly wade through mountains of paperwork and pursue new leads in a case that has all but gone cold despite the open wound the assassination has left on the consciousness of Swedish society. Yet the closer the group gets to the truth, the more Johansson compromises the greater good for personal gain, becoming a pawn for the private vendetta of a shady political spin doctor. Sharply detailed and boldly plotted, Persson’s work lifts the veil on one of history’s greatest unsolved crimes in a novel that goes toe-to-toe with the best of true crime books.

 

between summer's longingHowever, what the blurb doesn’t say is that this is apparently the third in his The Story of a Crime series. So the question is do they standalone or must they be read in order? Just in case, I’ve downloaded no. 1 in the series…

The Blurb saysA young man falls to his death from a window in a student dorm in Stockholm, his loose shoe striking and killing the little dog being taken for his evening walk by an old man. It seems to be a mundane suicide—at least that’s what the police choose to think. But the young man is American, not Swedish, and there are a couple of odd things about his room when they search it. . . .

From these tiny beginnings, Leif GW Persson slowly begins to unravel a puzzle that gets larger and larger as it becomes more and more complex, until it sweeps us into a web of international espionage, backroom politics, greed, sheer incompetence, and the shoddy work of Sweden’s intelligence force that leads to the murder of the prime minister.

* * * * *

And a couple of others that I hope to read sometime in the ever more distant future…

Fiction

 

a separate peaceCourtesy of NetGalley again. Two things attracted me to this one – it’s described as ‘an American classic’ and, more importantly, it’s short…

The Blurb saysAn American coming-of-age tale during a period when the entire country was losing its innocence to the second world war.

Set at a boys’ boarding school in New England during the early years of World War II, A Separate Peace is a harrowing and luminous parable of the dark side of adolescence. Gene is a lonely, introverted intellectual. Phineas is a handsome, taunting, daredevil athlete. What happens between the two friends one summer, like the war itself, banishes the innocence of these boys and their world.

* * * * *

the dubliners

I really don’t like James Joyce, and I tried and failed once before (a long, long time ago) to read The Dubliners. But regular commenter Jilanne Hoffman sandbagged me on a comments thread a few weeks ago and in a moment of weakness I downloaded it. Jilanne says that reading the story The Dead may cause me to die of heartbreak. Er…I better thank you in advance then, Jilanne, eh?

The Blurb saysThis work of art reflects life in Ireland at the turn of the last century, and by rejecting euphemism, reveals to the Irish their unromantic reality. Each of the 15 stories offers glimpses into the lives of ordinary Dubliners, and collectively they paint a portrait of a nation.

 

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from NetGalley or Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

34 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 35…

  1. Interesting choices, FF! In my opinion (but it’s just my view only!!), you can read the Persson books out of order. But there are some story arcs that make more sense if you don’t. And as to the Knowles, I’ll be keen to know what you think of that.

    • Well, that’s good news, Margot – thanks! If I get time I’ll read them in order, but I suspect that, in order to review near publication date, in reality I’ll have to read the third one first. The Knowles does look intriguing…

  2. I love “The Dubliners”, and indeed Joyce in general, so hope you find it more to your taste this time round. The “coming of age novel” doesn’t appeal at all, and I have to ask myself, can one life accommodate any more Nordic crime and corruption?

    • Well, I hope so too, but I’m dubious. However, I shall endeavour to approach the matter with an open mind… 😉

      Ah, but these ones are supposed to be superior – and involve a kind of true-life investigation of the Olof Palme murder too. We shall see…

  3. *laughing* A snail on a go-slow! That’s splendid. I read like that. I’m sure you’re faster. Maybe you should take a long vacation from reading?

    Now this professor hasn’t read much crime, but…I’d go with no.1 first! Don’t be lazy. Read in order!

    • I’m not really a fast reader – I just read for quite long periods of time. Funny you should say that – I’m thinking about it…

      Huh! That’s easy for you to say! That means I’d have to read all three of them before the third is published – in two months. Along with all the other ones… *twitches nervously*

        • Which are you shocked about – that I’m not a fast reader or that I’m thinking of of a reading vacation? It’s really more the reviewing/blogging that I might have to stop for a while…till I get some energy/enthusiasm for it back. Either that, or I’ll just eat more chocolate…

          No problem – you could just move on to audiobooks!

          • Oh, I know you’re a fast reader. At least, much faster than you give yourself credit for. The vacation, of course!!! Ooo…don’t go completely away! Maybe just do a few posts or something… You wouldn’t want me to pout, would you?

            *laughs* I really think you’re heartless too!

            • My enthusiasm might perk up again, but if not then I’ll probably cut all the Tuesday and Thursday stuff and just review the books I’ve been given as I read them…for a while. I’m thrilled to bits with the idea that I would have the power to make you pout… *proud face*

              *gasps* I was just trying to be helpful… *whistles*

            • Rats! When I get bored of something I change it up. (Like PL Reporter is on the way out.) But definitely do what feels right, but you can’t disappear! I will pout. And I’d miss you something awful.

              I bet you’re whistling “Run Lama Run”!

            • Yes, but that’s because you’re creative. I can hardly ever think of anything new to do and anyway the title of my blog tends to lead people to expect book reviews! But I’ll probably get back into it – it’s just a slump. (Is it? I’ll miss it – it’s always good fun. But I’m sure I’ll enjoy whatever you come up with instead…) Thank you – that’s nice to know… *smiles like Woola just after he’s had his tummy tickled*

              *laughing* OK, Mr Sneaky, you know I can’t resist youtubing these! Better drums in that, don’t you think? Doing something more than just keeping time.

            • Slumps are awful. I do hope you get back into it. You will! And you are creative! Look what you do on Tuesdays and Thursdays! Maybe you could cut down the week like this professor did? (Well, I’m not entirely sure…we’ll see!) *laughing* Lovely smile!

              *smiles bigly big* I do like the drums in that one! And the clarinet. Sorry for being naughty!

            • Well, I’ll probably stick with the full week for a couple more weeks and see if inspiration returns, and if not I’ll cut the week down a bit as you say…but I’m sure I won’t give up completely. (We will! I hate to say it, but I’d probably miss that befuddled old fool’s proverbs…)

              *laughing* You are not sorry! And you know I enjoy it…

            • Nah! Mic e-mailed me to say you’re actually gorgeous. He explained that’s why you have to wear a disguise – it might be dangerous to the blood pressure of your frailer fans to suddenly see the real you…

  4. Well, not much help here because I think you might read TWO books
    on the list—A Separate Peace would be very fast reading for you–and
    well worth the time. And Dubliners is one to read now and again and
    again. Fifteen stories, fifteen days . . .lucky you to have these two good
    books ahead of you.

    • Ah, this one isn’t a choice week – these are ALL on the TBR! So here’s hoping…but if the Dubliners drives me to drink I’ll split the blame between Jilanne and you… 😉

  5. Well I think I concur with books and buttons. I enjoyed the Knowles, though you’ll find that generations of young people forced to read this in school have enjoyed it LESS than us more mature when we came to its. I’d also say you should take any advice Jilanne gives you, because, well. I’m not quite sure why, but you SHOULD

    Re your snail-go-slow – does this mean you are sitting there generating sticky froth (is that a ripio coming on?) as that is what snails seem to do in repose?

    It sounds like you need a gripping 800 page blockbuster…….or perhaps even a griping 800 page bonkbuster. or, if it’s review fodder, you could always branch out into early reading books, which tend to be SHORT WITH BIG LETTERS AND A LOT OF PICTURES. A is for anthropologist , B is for borborygmos type of stuff.#

    I have a couple of doorstep books awaiting, one suggested by Jilanne……..

    • I don’t know why they force kids to read classics – it just puts most of them off books for life. Let them all read Harry Potter, I say!

      Just checked and phew! No froth so far! However I think I shall become a sloth instead, just to be on the safe side. They don’t have peculiar personal habits, do they? Do they??

      NO!!! Jilanne already has me reading A Fine Balance which is 650 pages of tiny print! Gosh, I’m going to have to have my arms stretched to be able to read paper books soon. Just off to look up borborygmos now…

      …oooh! Extremely cool image searches came up for that…

  6. I read the third in the Persson series before reading the others (I’ve heard book 1 is tough to get through and that 2 is good), and I didn’t feel too lost. Hope you enjoy it, FictionFan.

    • That’s good to know Rebecca – thanks! I just don’t think I’ll have time to read them all before the review for the third is due, so I’ll probably read the third first and work backwards then…

  7. I swear I would cave in at a 114 TBR! Am continually impressed at all the reading you do!

    Must admit when I read this entry, everything else faded upon seeing Dubliners. I shall never forget my English exam on Joyce — ever. It was not on Dubliners though (and I did enjoy Dubliners), but on Ulysses. Still…..iti’s odd how things come back to one, and overshadow other items!

    Hope your reading picks up in speed then…. chocolate is good!

    • I am caving in, I think! I need an extra pair of eyes…

      Ooh, the very thought of an exam on Ulysses brings me out in a rash! I don’t think I made it past page 10. The Dubliners didn’t affect me so badly when I tried it, and maybe I’ll appreciate it more this time…I hope! And chocolate is ALWAYS good!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

