TBR Thursday 34…

Episode 34

 

I’ve decided the problem is not so much the length of my TBR as my attitude to it. So instead of wailing and gnashing my teeth, this week I’d like to invite you to…

 

CELEBRATE THE TBR!

 

114

 

114 lovely books, all sitting there waiting…just for me!

 

Big books, little books, crime books, thrillers, classics, fiction, factual! Mine, all mine!

HahahahahaHA!

Thousands of pages! HUNDREDS of thousands of words! Millions – nay! ZILLIONS of letters all beautifully sorted just for me!

HahahahahaHAHAHA!

* * * * *

(Oh dear, must get a move on before they come round with the medication again…)

Here’s just a few of the soon-to-be-reads…

* * * * *

Crime

 

treachery in bordeauxCourtesy of NetGalley, this is the first in a series of mysteries set in the wine industry in France. I have already read a later one, Grand Cru Heist, and enjoyed it so hoping this will be good too…

The Blurb saysIn modern-day Bordeaux, there are few wine estates still within the city limits. The prestigious grand cru Moniales Haut-Brion is one of them. When some barrels turn, world-renowned winemaker turned gentleman detective Benjamin Cooker starts asking questions. Is it negligence or sabotage? Who would want to target this esteemed vintner? Cooker and his assistant Virgile Lanssien search the city and the vineyards for answers, giving readers an inside view of this famous wine region.

* * * * *

 

life or deathAgain courtesy of NetGalley, the newest thriller from Michael Robotham, due out next week in the UK. This isn’t part of his Joe O’Loughlin series apparently – it’s a standalone…

The Blurb saysWhy would a man escape from prison the day before he’s due to be released?

Audie Palmer has spent a decade in prison for an armed robbery in which four people died, including two of his gang. Five million dollars has never been recovered and everybody believes that Audie knows where the money is. For ten years he has been beaten, stabbed, throttled and threatened almost daily by fellow inmates and prison guards, who all want to answer this same question, but suddenly Audie vanishes, the day before he’s due to be released.

Everybody wants to find Audie, but he’s not running. Instead he’s trying to save a life . . . and not just his own.

* * * * *

Fiction

american pastoralThe next one for the Great American Novel Quest, this will be a re-read for me. I have a love/hate relationship with Roth, but I seem to recall loving this one. There is a description in it of how to make leather gloves that is so beautifully written I still think of it every time I see a woman wearing them…

The Blurb saysGood-looking, prosperous Swede, who has inherited his father’s glove factory in Newark, N.J., and married a former beauty queen, is not stupid, merely fulfilled. Is it this that gives him insufficient means to comprehend the Newark riots of 1967 or the transformation of his beloved daughter into a venomous teenage radical, a child capable of cold-blooded terrorism? Roth’s own means are more than sufficient. A writer who is unafraid to linger in the minds of furious men, he leads us fearlessly through this man’s grief, bewilderment and rage.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from NetGalley or Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

57 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 34…

  1. FictionFan – I can recommend Treachery in Bordeaux. Lovely depiction of life in France and the winemaking culture. And I’m a Robotham fan, too, so I think you’ve in for some fine treats.

  2. *laughing lots and lots and lots* That’s the ticket right there! The perfect way to look at the monstrous TBR. But I do fear the laughing was maybe a bit…well…well, not as happy as it should have been…

    Life Or Death! That just seems simply awesome! I bet this Audie fellow is a good guy.

    • Perhaps a mild note of hysteria might have been creeping in, I admit! But I’ve got a new plan – I’ll just split the TBR and put half of them on your list! I feel much happier now…

      It sounds a bit like the plot of that film that I can’t remember the name of – you know the one I mean – with that actor, whatisname, in it…

        • *laughing* Bet she could! But she’s probably read most of them already!

          Oh..you know…Morgan somebody…jail-break…trampoline made out of elastic bands…(I hope I didn’t imagine that last bit…)

    • I’ve got such a backlog of crime books for review that I’m having to concentrate on them at the moment. But hopefully back to being a bit more eclectic soon…

      Haha! It’s hopeless, isn’t it? I don’t put my TBR on Goodreads, but my Amazon wishlist is out of control…

  3. I’ve read (and enjoyed) the Roth, and the other two sound good. Oh dear! I am absolutely not starting any more series until I catch up with the ones I’m already trapped in. (Cackles manically).

  4. This isn’t a Roth I’ve read, but as I’ve loved the two I do know I might just be tempted by it if it wasn’t for my own ever growing tbr pile and my guilt ridden attitude towards it.

    • I’ve only read three or four myself, and found that I either loved or hated them – none of them left me ambivalent. But from memory, (it was a long time ago), I thought this one was great – and certainly a contender for GAN status. I’ll see if that’s still my opinion after a re-read…

  5. Well I’m really, really, really disappointed – I was sure that your opening I’d like to invite you to……….was going to end ‘ADD to it’ and I’d just gone away and prepared a little list from my bookshelves of several hundred titles to suggest.

    Sometimes I worry about you, I really do, convinced you are planning the perfect murder. At those times, I make sure the doors and windows are locked and closed, and I perfect my ‘disguise yourself as a sofa routine by covering myself with a lot of bedding and cushions and lying so still that the cats come and sit on me. I reckon, as i know you are a true cat lover, that if you peer through the locked and closed windows and see peacefully sleeping cats you would just tiptoe away, loathe to interrupt their dreams

    • Oh, that’s so kind of you! And now that I know you’re open to adding to TBRs, I’ve packed up a few cases of the books I was going to send to the charity shop, and sent them to you instead. Enjoy!

      Ah, but how do you know I haven’t already committed the perfect murder? But I’d never murder you! Not unless you stole my chocolate…

  6. Haha a brilliant attitude but having read all those psychological thrillers this reader senses an unreliable narrator! Fortunately my TBR is a mere hillock next to your mountain (in my dreams) and there is nothing on your list that I’m adding this week 🙂

    • Haha! I didn’t manage to fool you then? Something awful has happened to my TBR the last few weeks – it’s growing at a ridiculous rate. Must be all the sunshine! 😉

  7. I have a California wine country friend who would vote for the Bordeaux. I’m thinking Roth, though I’m trying to recall if I’ve ever made it through any of his….will have to peruse the shelves. Or I may be confusing him with another gentleman of his ilk.

    • Roth is a funny one for me – I really resist his books, the blurbs always make them sound awful and frankly I often hate the stories too (though I’ve only read a few). But I find them compelling once I start and really think this one could be a GAN contender…but it must be fifteen or so years since I read it, so we’ll see if I still feel that way now…

  8. I’m probably done with Roth, but have enjoyed some of his work. I would most likely try Treachery in Bourdeaux…

    • Yes, i don’t know if I’d have gone back to him if it wasn’t for the GAN quest, but I do remember thinking this one was great. The French wine books are nice little light reads – and beautifully short!

  9. I can’t remember the last time a crime novel made me cry before LIFE OR DEATH. It’s a wonderful read, cleverly plotted, with wonderful characters and acute observations about the USA (Robotham is a fellow Aussie).

    PS Love your attitude to the TBR pile. I don’t even dare count mine!

  10. You really inspire me to be positive towards my ever-growing TBR!
    And out out of the above mentioned books I’m really looking forward to read Life Or Death, hoping to read your review soon!

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

