TBR Thursday 33…

Episode 33

 

Now, before I tell you this week’s total I just want to make it clear that I will not tolerate any giggling, is that understood?

111. Yes, that’s right, one hundred and eleven. Or as Bilbo would say, eleventy-one! I’m beginning to understand why he vanished…

You three! What did I say about giggling? Yes, you three at the back – you know who you are! See me after class!

For the better behaved amongst you, here’s just a few of the soon-to-be-reads…

* * * * *

Crime

 

the childCourtesy of Audible. Half narration, half dramatisation and a stellar castlist for this spooky new crime thriller by Sebastian Fitzek on audio. I’m already about halfway through this and it’s got me totally hooked…

The Blurb saysMy name is Simon. I’m 10 years old. I’m a serial killer. Robert Stern (Rupert Penry-Jones), a successful defense attorney, doesn’t know what lies in store for him when he agrees to meet a new client in a derelict estate on the outskirts of Berlin. Stern is more than surprised, when his old love interest and professional nurse Carina (Emilia Fox) presents him with a ten year old boy as his new client: Simon (Jack Boulter), a terminally ill child, who is convinced he has murdered many men in a previous life.

* * * * *

Science fiction

 

the early sci-fi of philip k dickCourtesy of NetGalley, some early short stories of one of the great names of sci-fi, Philip K Dick – author of the classic Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep amongst many other things…

The Blurb saysThese gripping stories include “Second Variety”, which stars nasty little death-robots;  “The Crystal Crypt”, an account of a terrifying flight to Mars; “The Defenders”, featuring a self-aware weapon frightful enough to put an end to war; and “The Variable Man”, a tale of a handyman’s misadventures in the future. Additional selections include “Beyond the Door”, the story of the lonely bird inside a cuckoo clock; “Mr. Spaceship”, a fable concerning spacecraft controlled by the human brain; and “Beyond Lies the Wub”, in which intelligence lurks in an unlikely form.

* * * * *

Factual

augustusAgain courtesy of NetGalley, the story of the ‘first and greatest’ Emperor of Rome…still never managed to conquer Scotland though…

The Blurb saysCaesar Augustus’ story, one of the most riveting in western history, is filled with drama and contradiction, risky gambles and unexpected success. He began as a teenage warlord, whose only claim to power was as the heir of the murdered Julius Caesar. Mark Antony dubbed him “a boy who owes everything to a name,” but in the years to come the youth outmaneuvered all the older and more experienced politicians and was the last man standing in 30 BC. Over the next half century he reinvented himself as a servant of the state who gave Rome peace and stability, and created a new system of government—the Principate or rule of an emperor.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from NetGalley or Goodreads.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

65 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 33…

  1. Don’t worry, FictionFan – I’m not giggling. You should see my TBR list. No. You shouldn’t. At any rate, I think that book on Augustus looks interesting. But then, I really enjoy history, so I’m biased.

    • I reckon that’s the best part of a solid year’s reading on my list now! Yes, I think the Augustus should be really good – the author seems to have a good reputation, though I’ve not read any of his other stuff.

  2. There may have been a slight smirk at the back of the class… until I checked and found 371 books on my TBR list…. Just shoot me now…
    I’ve read other books by Sebastian Fitzek and he is very interesting: at the meeting point between crime fiction and psychonanalysis. But no, I haven’t read that one – which is a film as well, I believe?

    • 371!!! Oh dear, now I’m giggling – sorry! It’s hopeless isn’t it?

      I’ve not come across him before, but so far I’m really impressed – it’s quite hard to hold my attention with an audiobook, but this one has achieved it. It seems to be a new thing they’re trying – a mix of staright narration with a dramatised element and it’s working brilliantly, I think. I believe they’re actually issuing the audio over here before the book – intriguing…

  3. I was giggling! That’s a great, mountainous TBR! The professor would love to see you hit 200, I think.

    I love the first and the third… Especially the third one, actually. Well, I can’t say that. The first has really caught my fancy, too. Who plays his lawyer? I identify with the serial-killer kid, you know.

    • 200!!! That’s so mean! And stop giggling!! I knew you’d be one of the trouble-makers…

      Two excellent choices – I thought you might fancy the Roman one. He sounds as if he was very heroic. (Probably wore a skirt too…) And the audiobook is still going great – really enjoying it. I think the lawyer is Rupert Penry-Jones who you’ll never have heard of, but he’s a top actor over here. (I say I think because I still haven’t managed to get hold of a proper cast-list.) But I’ll have to see if I can’t get you interested in the sci-fi one too – it would be great if I could add all three to the Professorial TBR…

      • *laughs* I’ll stop! Everyone knows you can get through that amount (if you really tried) in about a month or so.

        I’m sure they didn’t call them skirts! He wore a toga. That’s it. He should have cargo pants, but…well…he was a bit outmoded. I would have been a general, I think. Or wanted to be one, at least. What’s on my TBR next, btw?

        • Haha! I wish I could! Maybe if they mastered cloning…

          I shall imagine him in cargo pants while I read – and a baseball cap, d’you think? Only for the formal occasions obviously. Well…you were quite taken by the idea of reading Laidlaw…and you thought you might enjoy Du Maurier’s The Birds and Other Stories…or Equilateral (which I will make you read one day, even if I have to drug you and tie you up first)…but I think you should read Allan Quatermain next, while you wait for me to be ready to start our Gods of Mars readalong…

          OR…Neil Gaiman’s The Truth is a Cave in the Black Moutains which I think you might LOVE! Or The Road…

          You should be able to get several of them done before The Child comes out on 7th August…

      • No, he probably wouldn’t dress like that. He had one of those helmet things with a red feather! Yes! I remember Laidlaw…and I remember Equilateral. Why do I really need to read that one again? Readalong? What am I supposed to read?

        *gulps* This list is frightening. Well, just recommend one next! (Was flipping through a book the other day, and there was a secret script said to be written in gnome speak. *laughs* Needed you to decipher it!)

        It’s coming out? It’s not fair you get to see all this stuff first!

        • And sandals. *laughing lots* Poor C-W-W! You’re sounding a bit panicky! Equilateral because it’s about Mars and aliens, Laidlaw because it’s about Glasgow. *laughing lots* We were going to both read God of Mars at the same time, remember? I think your mind may have started blanking book conversations out now…

          OK – I’ll narrow it down to two. Allen Quatermain if you’re looking for an adventure or The Road if you’re looking for something a bit more literary. (HahaHA! *digs out Gnome-American dictionary…)

          I know! *preens smugly* They just e-mailed me and asked if I’d like a copy. What could I say?

          • *laughs* I do not remember! Okay…I’d love to do a read along with you, so…is it God of Mars? You’ll have to give me time to get it! I don’t think we’ve ever read a book at the same time like that.

            Literary sounds so scary…does that mean more words?

            You must have feathers! *laughing* You deserve 111!

            • OK, get it then! But it’ll be a few weeks before I can get to it – plenty of time for you to read something else first. I think we started two books at the same time once – but I think I may have finished a month or two earlier! We’ll need to try to get our pacing right this time…

              *chortling* Oh, you do make me laugh so much, C-W-W!! Forget that I called it literary – pretend it’s an adventure – you’ll love it!

              Yes, like a gorgeous bird of paradise, or maybe a vulture…

            • The professor just added it to his list. I should get it in a jiffy. I’ll let you know when I do get it. No cheating and starting early! Or…Tuppence won’t be happy. Yes, don’t read too fast! *laughs*

              But you had to mean something by it! An adventure doesn’t sound too bad.

              *laughing* I think you’re a cat, madam.

            • Good-good! (Another impersonation I’ve been working on – do you like it?) I might have to give you a couple of weeks start… *wicked face*

              Well, I can’t define literary! Just…maybe…better written and…maybe with a deeper meaning. Maybe. But it’s good, and you might enjoy it. You enjoyed Steinbeck and he’s definitely literary…

              *purrs contentedly*

            • I do! You’re wonderful at it. It’s truly…amazing! You do not! I’m a fast reader…sometimes. Especially since John Carter will be in it. Would you believe I had to look it up and see what it was again?

              But I ripped his tonsils out! Ben-Hur must be literary. Or it’s like mud cake.

              *laughs*

            • Thank you! I thought it was pretty good too. *smug face* You are! But ’twill not be a race anyway… The Professor needs to get his memory oiled I think!

              Yes, but that doesn’t mean you didn’t like him! Look at P&P! I haven’t read Ben-Hur so don’t know if it’s literary, but mud cake’s probably more fun anyway.

            • *laughs* Yes, oiled and reinstalled.

              Mud/Ben-Hur…I almost got stuck in that! There are some good parts. Vicious, brutal stuff. Like P&P? I hated that! You know that…you do! Darby looked ridiculous.

  4. Sigh. I remember when I thought 111 was an impossibly high number of TBR books…until my list crept up well past 200–and those are just the ones I agreed to review! I had to stop accepting review requests. Well…I had to *try* to stop.

    • Haha! That makes me feel better! I try to be really strict about adding to the list and had got down to under a hundred – but it’s all gone horribly wrong again recently. And of course the figure doesn’t include all the unread stuff sitting on my Kindle… 😉

  5. You’re all doing it wrong:-
    a) stop counting;
    b) review list ruthlessly at intervals (once a month works for me) and if you either can’t remember what the book is about or why you thought you might read it, relegate it to “read next time I’m ill enough be in bed for a few weeks”; and
    c) next time you’re ill, reread something you really like instead.
    Having said that, the Augustus appeals.
    BUS.

  6. I not only giggled, I snickered, I chortled, I howled, I guffawed, I chuckled, I brayed, I hooted, and finally I ROFLMAOD.

    And then I gazed, smugly, virtuously, showing admirable restraint and bookie sobriety at the modest number on MY Kindle TBR – only 103. Mind you, the postman bought another real book from market place seller this morning. The REAL TBR pile(s) on the bedside table number about 30. And then there are more which somehow have been put on the bookshelves without yet being perused.

    Am considering asking Kirsty Young if I could possibly be cast away on that desert island for a year, and be allowed to take my loaded Kindle as my luxury. That should just about do it, provided i don’t have internet access, or any communication with bookie blogs and bloggers or Amazon reviewers

    PS don’t try to get me to do lines, I’m afraid I don’t have the time, I have some books to read

    PPS We agree re Rupert Penry-Jones, but I’ll pass the audible up. The Philip K Dick and the Augustus look interesting (you’ll note, vide your post yesterday, that I carefully made sure i included the full name of the science fiction writer). But I’m going to show some admirable restraint as I bought 3 Ben MacIntyre books yesterday which were on specials on Amazon. I have someone who emails me every time the Kindle deal of the day is something I’m likely to be tempted by. I no longer look at it myself, in a feeble attempt to avoid temptation.

    Must go 103 books waiting to be fed, plus some cats to be read

    • Yes, I knew you’d be one of the naughty ones!! Well, I hope it hurt!

      Oh, I don’t even count the Kindly unreads – probably about another 60 or so there. *sobs* But I’m not too bad at ensuring most of the paper books are read – only a few of them hovering around gathering dust at the moment.

      Haha! Yes, I’m grateful for your restraint re the naming of the sci-fi book! It’s getting fairly mixed reviews to be honest so I’m not sure whether it’s going to be a goodie or not, but I think the Augustus should be good. I’m just finishing A Spy Among Friends – got off to a slow start with it, but have really enjoyed it once I got properly into it.

      Anyway, get reading…

  7. I did chuckle just a bit—must be overwhelming to keep
    count. I just have some wannabes in the back of my
    mind usually–nothing too formal. Oh, I’ll help you out–
    just ditch the Augustus!

    • Yes, if I stopped keeping track of the TBR I’d probably have time to read an extra book a week! 😉

      Haha! I should send you my whole list – you have the right attitude!

  8. I haven’t dared count the number of books on my TBR list so I don’t know how I compare to your 111, but my guess is I wouldn’t be far behind! It’s always better to have too many books to read than none at all though, I think 😉 The Child sounds very interesting, I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it once you’ve finished!

    • Yes, I try to comfort myself with that thought too… 😉

      I’m really enjoying The Child – unless the ending is a huge letdown, I think it’s heading for a glowing review…

  9. Tried to get The Child in book form today with no luck. This german writer has few books translated into English/American. The Child is not one of them. I can’t even find it as a CD. Do you know where I can find a copy?

    • Ah, I believe it’s a new thing they’re trying – they’re going to issue this audio version before the book – in the UK anyway. The audio will be released on 7th August and will be available from Audible or Amazon to download – I’m not sure if they’re doing it on CD. I should have the proper info and links when I put up my review – which I’ll be doing sometime before the 7th August.

  10. 111’s not so bad! I’m scared to count up my list but I imagine it’s closer to 200. The Caesar Augustus book looks interesting. I grew up with my dad reading Roman history to us and our first dog was named Caesar so it’s somewhat ingrained!

    • It is bad! Especially when you consider how hard I’ve been trying to get it under control for a year now! 😉

      I haven’t read any Roman history for positively ages so it’s all a bit faded in my memory now. But this one looks as though it will hopefully be well written as well as interesting…

  11. I’ve just read a very iffy review of ‘The Child’ elsewhere, so I shall be very interested to see if you think any better of it.

    • These are very early ones apparently, maybe before he’d completely found his style. I’ve seen some mixed reviews, but hopefully they’ll be enjoyable. 🙂

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

