TBR Thursday 32…

Episode 32

 

Oh dear! 107 – need I say more? And I seem to be spending so much time adding books to the TBR that I’m not really managing to read many! Oh well (she said despairingly) better to have too many books than too few, eh? The only thing I can hope is that all the pre-Christmas books have been announced now. But (gulps!) the Booker shortlist is due to be announced next week…

Meantime, here are a few more that have risen close to the top of the list…

* * * * *

Crime

 

money treeA totally new departure from Gordon Ferris, following the conclusion of the great Douglas Brodie series. I’m excited to see how he deals with a modern setting…

The Blurb saysMONEY TREE is a modern-day thriller set among the glittering canyons of New York and the seething alleyways of New Delhi. At its heart is the story of Anila Jhabvala, a destitute woman in a dying village in central India, and her struggle against the daily embrace of usury. Into her fraught existence blunder two westerners: Ted Saddler, a has-been American reporter living off the faded glory of a Pulitzer Prize, and Erin Wishart, a hard-bitten Scottish banker with a late-developing conscience. As the tension mounts, their three storylines interweave and fuse in a thundering and moving climax.

In pointing up the gulf between rich and poor, and the misguided efforts of western institutions to meddle in developing countries, Gordon pays homage to Professor Yunus, winner of the 2006 Nobel Prize for Peace and founder of the Grameen Bank in Bangladesh.

* * * * *

 

lostCourtesy of NetGalley, I’ve been enjoying reading some of the early books in the Joe O’Loughlin series, which have been made available in advance of his forthcoming new one, Life or Death, due out in August in the UK. My review of the first in the series, The Suspect, will appear tomorrow. This second one has also been particularly recommended to me by the blogosphere’s own Queen of Crime, Margot Kinberg, so I have high expectations…

The Blurb saysDetective Inspector Vincent Ruiz doesn’t know who wants him dead. He has no recollection of the firefight that landed him in the Thames, covered in his own blood and that of at least two other people. A photo of missing child Mickey Carlyle is found in his pocket—but Carlyle’s killer is already in jail. And Ruiz is the detective who put him there.

Accused of faking amnesia, Ruiz reaches out to psychologist Joe O’Loughlin to help him unearth his memory and clear his name. Together they battle against an internal affairs investigator convinced Ruiz is hiding the truth, and a ruthless criminal who claims Ruiz has something of his that can’t be replaced. As Ruiz’s memories begin to resurface, they offer tantalizing glimpses at a shocking discovery.

* * * * *

forty acresAgain courtesy of NetGalley (who really have a lot to answer for concerning the state of my TBR), I was persuaded to request this one by this great review from Raven Crime Reads (who really has a lot to answer for concerning the state of my TBR)…

The Blurb saysA young black attorney is thrown headlong into controversial issues of race and power in this page-turning and provocative new novel.

Martin Grey, a smart, talented. young lawyer working out of a storefront in Queens, is taken under the wing of a secretive group made up of America’s most powerful, wealthy, and esteemed black men. He’s dazzled by what they have accomplished, and they seem to think he has the potential to be one of them They invite him for a weekend away from it all – no wives, no cell phones, no talk of business. But what he discovers, far from home, is a disturbing alternative reality which challenges his deepest convictions…

* * * * *

Fiction

 

the sun also risesHemingway’s name hovered around the Great American Novel Quest list but didn’t quite make it on – and then that dratted NetGalley offered this one…and of course I couldn’t resist…

The Blurb says “The Sun Also Rises is a classic example of Hemingway’s spare but powerful writing style. A poignant look at the disillusionment and angst of the post-World War I generation, the novel introduces two of Hemingway’s most unforgettable characters: Jake Barnes and Lady Brett Ashley. The story follows the flamboyant Brett and the hapless Jake as they journey from the wild nightlife of 1920s Paris to the brutal bullfighting rings of Spain with a motley group of expatriates. It is an age of moral bankruptcy, spiritual dissolution, unrealized love and vanishing illusions. First published in 1926, The Sun Also Rises is “an absorbing, beautifully and tenderly absurd, heartbreaking narrative…a truly gripping story, told in lean, hard, athletic prose” (The New York Times).

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from NetGalley or Amazon.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

(And please don’t write any enticing reviews for at least the next 3 weeks…)

 

62 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 32…

  1. FictionFan – Thanks so much for the kind mention *blush.* And I do hope you’ll like Lost. I think Robotham is a very skilled writer, and it’s a corker of a read in my opinion. The Hemingway may not have made the list for your GAN quest, but I think that one’s a fine novel too. I’ll be interested to see what you think of both.

    • My pleasure, Margot! I think I will like it – I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the two books of his I’ve read so far. I’ve never read any Hemingway, so looking forward to it…with just a touch of apprehension!

  2. *laughing* 107! Unprecedented. You know, FEF, I think I’m the only one who ever detracts from your reading list! Well, sort of. I mean, my reviews are ripios.

    The last one is the most interesting! “Tenderly absurd…” fetched my interest! And I see you’re reading it right now.

    • How mean to laugh! And once I’ve added the HP books to your TBR, you won’t be far behind me. Hmm…somehow even your ripios have a way of ending up on my TBR though. I reckon maybe 8 or 9 books I’ve either read or have on my list are your fault…

      I’ve just started it – haven’t read enough to decide yet, but…could be good. Maybe. Have you read any Hemingway?

      • But you don’t know the deal yet! *laughs wickedly like FEF does all the time* Really? That many? Fabulous! I can’t believe I’m that unsuccessful at what I do! *growl*

        I read the one with the fish and that old guy. And I know someone who’s seen his house! Is this your first?

        • *trembles* Don’t keep me in suspense! You must tell me! *pauses dramatically, struck by a sudden and awful thought* Oh dear, if you start ripping fims, will I end up watching them too? Lego Man??? *cuts off electricity supply to home*

          It is my first! Did you enjoy the one you read? (The Old Man and the Sea?) Where’s his house?

          • I hope not. *laughing lots* Don’t do that to your poor house! We’ll ripio them so you don’t have to watch them. I think…that’s how it will work. Lego Man…might be good!

            I did. It was…different, for sure. (Yes, that’s it!) I think it’s in Key West.

            • Phew! I couldn’t handle it if I ended up qwith a TBW list too! That last sentence just makes no sense though…

              So far I haven’t decided what I think of The Sun Also Rises – hmm. Is that Florida? Heat and crocodiles?

          • That would be nice! *thinking about how we can do that* My sentence?!

            Let me know! Ripio it! Yes! And bugs. It’s horrid down there. They have lizards that just run around–like squirrels! It’s better up here. Too cold and rainy over in that Scotland, I hear.

            • No it would not!! Yes, the “Lego Man…might be good!” sentence – sounds like something Shnoddy might say after a long day in the sun.

              I will! (Unless I enjoy it…) Yeah, can’t understand why anyway would live in these hot, swampy places. *shudders and reaches for fresh ice lolly* We’re having a heatwave here at the moment – so they keep telling us anyway. About as hot as an average spring day where you are, I suspect…

            • Oh…it might be! Think of all the fabulous voice actors that made Lego Man! I think it’s called the Lego Movie! Shnoddy plants violets, you know. I hope they grow in Scotland.

              Some people prefer the hot, humid, hot, humid, and warm weather, I suppose. A heatwave! Sounds fabulous. I suppose it gets hot here in the summer–sometimes. But it gets really cold in the winter too! I freeze and burn, you see.

            • Hmm…I’ll take your word for it, I think! Ah good, I’m gald he’s got a hobby – maybe he’ll enjoy it so much he’ll become less downright miserable!

              We get rain. Cold rain in the winter and less cold rain in the summer. That’s the weather report from Scotland!

  3. The Sun Also Rises was the first Hemingway novel I read and I really enjoyed it. The prose is sparse, but powerful. I’d highly recommend it!

    • Good to know – thanks, Gemma! I’ve always rather avoided him but I’ve been enjoying the American fiction I’ve been reading recently, so thought I should at least try him…

  4. I don’t know what to tell you. I’ve started two Hemingway novels, but I’ve not finished either of them. I know he’s known for his “spare” prose style, but I often feel like his female characters are characterless. The only thing I’ve ever finished was his short story, Hills Like White Elephants, which was about abortion before anyone could write openly about abortion. I thought it was a good short story, but nowhere near as fabulous as James Joyce’s short stories in the Dubliners. I think the Dubliners is one of the greatest story collections of all time. Not that I’m biased or anything.

  5. My TBR list will suffer as much as yours, as I just added a few new titles… I’m scared to start using Netgalley, because I know my poor TBR list will explode as soon as I do. 😉

    • NetGalley really is a mixed blessing. I love getting the books, partly because they’re free, but partly because I enjoy getting advance copies before the ‘crowd’. But it’s killed my TBR and now I really struggle to fit in anything except new releases…no willpower, that’s my problem! 😉

  6. 107 TBR?? I hope that doesn’t mean what I think it means. (I have 49 books on my to read list, and I was already starting to despair)

    • HahaHA! I fear it does! I think I was probably around 49 before I started reading blogs, and got involved with NetGalley. But 107 is my worst ever, and I really need to stop adding anything else till it’s down a bit…but it’s so hard… 😉

  7. 107 seems perfectly reasonable to me (it makes me feel less embarrassed about my 120). and like you still I keep acquiring more…. Hemingway doesn’t light my fire I’m afraid. I find his prose too bare and controlled.

    • Haha! And your 120 makes me feel better too! I’ve just started the Hemingway and so far it could go either way for me…but he’ll have to work hard to overcome my preconceptions about him.

  8. Ooh Hemingway, NetGalley. I read masses of Hemingway in my teens, but had similar annoyances to Jilanne with his women, AND I adored F Scott Fitzgerald at that time and bought ALL his books – and read biographies of him, and thought Hemingway was mean to him. So MY revenge was to borrow Hemingway in the main from libraries. I have ALL Scott F’s still gathering dust on my shelves, ready for re re reads, but think I may not have this, a re-read might indeed be on the cards if NG are willing. Thanks!

    • Oops, sorry – I think it may have been archived. Quite often I’ve had these books hanging about for ages before they reach the top of the TBR. I started it last night but feel it could go either way at the moment…certainly not grabbing me by the throat the way Fitzgerald did on first reading…

  9. Well that has added a bit of merriment – did you say 107? I do like how everyone, except your cat, seems to be blamed for the state of your TBR too… I have to admit Lost looks really good but I really can’t get into any more series unless it is truly spectacular.

    • Go on, that’s right – rub it in! And I’m fairly convinced my cat does have something to do with it – I suspect she’s on the computer ordering books at night while I’m asleep. 😉

      I know what you mean about more series – this one really is good though. However, apparently his new book is a standalone, and I’ll be reading/reviewing it soon – so that might be an easier way to try him, if it takes your fancy.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

