TBR Thursday 31…

Episode 31

 

Tragically, the TBR list has grown to an incredible and devastating 105 during my absence from the blogosphere. No, don’t laugh – it’s not funny! It’s also not my fault! All the October pre-Christmas publications appeared on Amazon so the pre-ordering went a bit crazy. On the upside that’s months away, so plenty of time to get the list back down before they all arrive…isn’t there? Of course, there were other temptations too – and somehow I couldn’t resist. So here are a few that will reach the top of the list in the next few weeks…

* * * * *

Crime

 

strange loyaltiesThe last book in the Laidlaw Trilogy, I’ve had this one since last Christmas (thanks, BigSister!) but I don’t like to read books by the same author too close together. So now’s the time to find out if this one can live up to the high standards set by the first two…

The Blurb saysThis third book in the series begins with Jack Laidlaw’s despair and anger at his brother’s death in a banal road accident. His questions as to the dynamics of his bother’s death lead to larger questions about the nature of pain and injustice about meaning of his own life. Laidlaw is determined to learn more about the circumstances surrounding Scott Laidlaw’s death. His investigations will lead to a confrontation with his own past and a harrowing journey into the dark Glasgow underworld.

* * * * *

 

the ties that bindCourtesy of NetGalley, I was inspired to read this one by this review from one of my chief temptresses, Cleopatra Loves Books…

The Blurb saysLuke is a true crime writer in search of a story. When he flees to Brighton after an explosive break-up, the perfect subject lands in his lap: reformed gangster Joss Grand. Now in his eighties, Grand once ruled the Brighton underworld with his sadistic sidekick Jacky Nye – until Jacky washed up by the West Pier in 1968, strangled and thrown into the sea. Though Grand’s alibi seems cast-iron, Luke is sure there’s more to the story than meets the eye, and he convinces the criminal-turned-philanthropist to be interviewed for a book about his life.

Luke is drawn deeper into the mystery of Jacky Nye’s murder. Was Grand there that night? Is he really as reformed a character as he claims? And who was the girl in the red coat seen fleeing the murder scene? Soon Luke realises that in stirring up secrets from the past, he may have placed himself in terrible danger.

* * * * *

Fantasy

 

the adventures of siskin and valderanI’ve enjoyed reading Alastair Savage’s blog for a long time, particularly the hugely imaginative short stories he sometimes posts. In fact, one of his creations, an alien with lactating armpits, has gained a permanent place in my nightmares memory! So I’m looking forward to reading his newly published book, The Adventures of Siskin and Valderan

The Blurb saysSiskin and Valderan, swords for hire, are on a desperate chase to find mystic relics throughout the known world. Powerful forces are watching the heroes at every step, with monstrous servants at their command.

Aided by their talking monkey Jackanapes, Siskin and Valderan must cross the desolate steppe in search of a mysterious mound and the secret which it conceals. István, a bizarre creature from the tropical lands fears the discovery of the contents of the mound and will do anything to prevent Siskin and Valderan from reaching it.

Alone in the wilderness, far from their friends and allies, Siskin, Valderan and Jackanapes must fight for their lives as István’s ruthless servants lie in wait, ready to ambush them at any time.

* * * * *

Manga

 

p&p mangaYes, really – manga! No, I don’t know what I was thinking either! But you never know – it might be brilliant. And whatever – it can’t possibly be as awful as Joanna Trollope’s Sense and Sensibility. Can it?

Again, courtesy of NetGalley.

The Blurb saysBeloved by millions the world over, Pride & Prejudice is delightfully transformed in this bold, new manga adaptation. All of the joy, heartache, and romance of Jane Austen’s original, perfectly illuminated by the sumptuous art of manga-ka Po Tse, and faithfully adapted by Stacy E. King.

* * * * *

NB All blurbs taken from Goodreads or Amazon.

* * * * *

So…what do you think? Do any of these tempt you?

 

61 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 31…

  1. FictionFan – That’s right. Amazon and other blogs are wholly responsible for your TBR pile, aren’t they? What a brilliant rationalisation 😉 – In all seriousness, I don’t even want to think about my own TBR… Still, the Kelly does look tempting, and how can one not finish the Laidlaw books??

    • Haha! I admit in the early blogging days I wondered if you two were connected…but the fact that you apparently live in different hemispheres suggested not. Though there may be many marriages that would be improved by that… 😉

      • Hi Alastair. My ancestor Tobias Savage migrated to Australia from Liverpool, I believe. I’ve written a little about him here. I do seem to find cousins all over the place (see here for instance). I reawd that the Savage surname originated with an Irish prisoner in an English gaol.

        • They left Britain long before I know any of my ancestors but my great-grandfather, Frederick William Savage was a stonemason from London, who spent most of his life in Nottingham. I wonder if anyone can join the dots up there?

  2. Oh, dear, someone must have added to your TBR pile when you weren’t looking… I’m sure there’s a little goblin somewhere in the back of my shelves foisting new books on me all the time…
    I’d say the last in the Laidlaw trilogy – although I’ve only read one so far myself… saving it up, you see.

    • I know!! It’s so unfair – people never believe that it’s not my fault!

      Yes, I’m really looking forward to the Laidlaw – but a bit apprehensive too, just in case it doesn’t match the earlier ones…

  3. I had a mighty chuckle when I read that you were up to a whopping 105 on your TBR 🙂 I still have the first Laidlaw on my TBR on your recommendation and of course I will look forward to seeing what you think about the Erin Kelly book (thanks for the link)

  4. *laughing* You deserve the TBR! *triumphant laugh* And you didn’t post a pic of Darby. Good opportunity, too. And you can’t do it now, ’cause that would be cheating! BUS wouldn’t like that. It’s only okay for me to cheat–especially in monopoly.

    I like ‘the ties that bind.’ The girl in the red coat…maybe red riding hood?

  5. Manga-schmanga. But you will enjoy the Laidlaw – at least, I did. The blurb makes the Savage sound like every single one of the c. 2 million quest novels I have read, so I think I’ll wait for your review.

  6. I too have noticed the sudden increase in must read books – I too was trying to keep my TBR list down but sadly added a few to the list this week – thankfully your choices do not tempt me:) Is Christmas really that close??

    • I know! It’s horrifying that I still have books from last Christmas to read! But it does look as if there’s quite a lot of good stuff due out in October – though I must admit I’ve spotted more lit fic and factual than crime so far. maybe the crime books don’t get announced till later…

  7. Yes, I’m laughing uncontrollably, not just at the 105 and The Manga(seriously?), but i went to a second hand sale this morning and let’s just say my arms hurt. Two giant bags later and my TBR list has grown astronomically. haha

  8. I’m waiting for the Kelly to come from the library. I loved numbers one and three but couldn’t be doing with her second novel so this is one is gong to have to be a case of suck it and see – although not literally, of course!

    • She’s another one I haven’t read before, so here’s hoping this is a good one or it might put me off her completely. (Tuppence does like to suck it, quite literally! I have a constant battle to stop her chewing the corners of my book… 😉 )

  9. Don’t feel bad. On my ‘Goodreads’ list of books I want to read (500+ at last sign-in), I own about half of them, yet have so many to read still. 🙂

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

