Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple 1) by Carola Dunn

death at wentwater courtAn entertaining cosy…

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

It’s 1923, and the Honourable Daisy Dalrymple, daughter of a viscount, has broken with tradition by getting a job. Hired by an up-market magazine to write articles on stately homes, her aristocratic background is useful in allowing her to mingle on an equal footing with the owners and their families. So as the book begins, Daisy is on her way to stay at Wentwater Court, home of the Earl of Wentwater.

Daisy is not the only guest and she soon finds that the house is filled with tensions and misunderstandings. The Earl’s new young wife Annabel seems isolated and unhappy and is being pursued by another guest, the obviously wicked Lord Stephen Astwick. The Earls’ three grown-up children from his previous marriage are also visiting – James, showing every sign of resenting his new stepmother and hinting that she is returning Lord Stephen’s affections; Marjorie, who fancies herself in love with Lord Stephen and is wildly jealous of Annabel; and Geoffrey, his outwardly quiet manner hiding the fact that he has fallen in love with the wrong woman. Add in an old admirer of Daisy’s, and the house party is hardly set to be a great success. But when Lord Stephen falls to his death through the ice on the frozen lake at first everyone assumes it’s an accident…until Daisy’s photographs reveal that a human hand may have been at work…

This is a highly entertaining mystery with all the hallmarks of a ‘cosy’ – the deeply unlikeable victim who ‘deserves’ all he gets, a rural location with a limited cast of suspects, an amateur detective. All it needs is a nice romance – enter the delicious Detective Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher of the CID! Will he be the man who can help Daisy to get over the loss of her fiancé in the war? Within hours, Alec and Daisy have developed a mutual trust and understanding that sees them begin to work together as a team to solve the mystery of Lord Stephen’s death.

Carola Dunn
Carola Dunn

OK, the plot is a bit silly really, with the various misunderstandings being not unlike a Wodehouse plot on a particularly busy day. One quick conversation between Annabel and the Earl could have resolved everything long before murder was ever required, and the ending requires the reader not just to suspend disbelief but to strangle it. But then the book is very convincingly emulating the style of the Golden Age, and the same could be said of many of them. Both Daisy and Alec are attractive characters and their budding romance looks like it will be an enjoyable one. The book is well written, with plenty of humour but with enough weight to the plot to make it interesting as well as enjoyable. Altogether this is a fun read and I look forward to reading some of the others in the series – I believe there are more than twenty of them so far.

Amazon UK Link
Amazon US Link

52 thoughts on “Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple 1) by Carola Dunn

  1. Sounds like a good one – I have a feeling that I may have read one of these some time ago, and I have a vague idea that I enjoyed it, but then, the Golden Age is my natural home.

  2. Falls through the ice… What was he doing on the ice, that’s the question, I fear. Was he fishing?

    I love the cover, but I think the ’20’s would have scared me overall. People just looked a bit odd, then, you know.

  3. FictionFan – I have to say, I think this is a fun series – it really is. Parts of it may not be 100% realistic, but I think Dunn handles the ‘misunderstanding at the core of a mystery’ well. And I do like the sense of time and place. Glad you enjoyed this.

    • Yes, a pretty superior cosy, I thought, and I liked the relationship between Daisy and Alec – I can imagine that will provide lots of fun as the series progresses…

  4. Sounds like a fun read. Depending on the kind of silly, I do like to read silly stories. The kind that are meant to be silly. Such an enormous amount of drama! 😉

    • Yes, I like intentionally silly too. 🙂 This one is fun – there’s enough of a proper plot and mystery to stop it from being too lightweight. Enjoyable.

  5. I have tried to like cosies but somehow I can’t suspend my disbelief to that extent and end up wanting to strangle the author rather than anything else. But I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    • Haha! I do know what you mean – I like an occasional cosy but couldn’t take too many of them. But this one was a bit meatier than some of the more modern ones – a bit more like the true Golden Age novels.

  6. I’ve read a couple from this series – rather like Phrynne Fisher, they’re a bit of frothy fun, just the thing to unwind with after a series of dark, heavy books.
    For a slightly darker cosy set in the 1930s and featuring Josephine Tey, I can really recommend Nicola Upson. (To my shame, I used to mix up the two authors – still do, sometimes).

    • I’m ashamed to say I still haven’t read any of the Phrynne Fishers, despite the general enthusiasm for them across the blogosphere. But I like the idea of a slightly darker cosy, so must give the Upsons a try – I have a feeling I may have read one of them before – I have a vague memory of a theatre setting. If I’m thinking of the right book, then I did enjoy it – must just have lost sight of the series afterwards.

  7. Your reviews do make me smile, loving the ‘not just to suspend disbelief but to strangle it.’ I’m not sure this is for me but it does sound silly and fun and it’s good to have a change once in a while 🙂

    • 😀 Yes, I can only take a limited number of cosies, but they’re good for those times when I can’t find the concentration for something a bit more substantial.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

