TBR Thursday 21…

Episode 21 – The People’s Choice – The Result!

 

Thank you to everyone who voted in last week’s poll to decide which book should be added to my TBR pile. I am delighted (and not a little surprised) to announce that the runaway winner with 50% of all votes cast is…

ethan frome

Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton

I will be reading and reviewing the book in the near(ish) future.

Thanks again to Margaret at Books Please for her review of this book!

* * * * * * *

Meantime the TBR pile has grown again this week  – to 96. This is primarily because the thrill of getting down to 95 last week eroded my self-control and several of you managed to slip past my defences with enticing reviews and recommendations.

So with my usual grateful thanks to all the reviewers who’ve intrigued and inspired me over the last few weeks, here are:

Some of This Week’s Additions…

 

dark matterThe Blurb – London, 1937. Jack is poor, lonely and desperate to change his life, so when he’s offered the chance to join an Arctic expedition, he jumps at it. Spirits are high as the ship leaves Norway and at last they reach the remote, uninhabited bay where they will camp for the next year. But the Arctic summer is brief. As night returns to claim the land, Jack feels a creeping unease. One by one, his companions are forced to leave. Soon Jack will see the last of the sun, the sea will freeze and escape will be impossible.

And Jack is not alone. Something walks there in the dark…

LF says: “Paver slowly ratchets up the endless darkness and a brooding malevolence in the limitless, icy wastes, where anything begins to be plausible, because imagination will make the impossible real. Oh there certainly are recountings and happenings to make the hairs stand up on the back of the neck, but, for me, it is the confrontation with insidious thoughts and reflections which are the real chill.

See the full review at Lady Fancifull

*******

at night we walk in circlesThe BlurbNelson’s life is not turning out the way he hoped. His girlfriend is sleeping with another man, his brother has left their South American country, leaving Nelson to care for their widowed mother, and his acting career can’t seem to get off the ground. That is, until he lands a starring role in a touring revival of The Idiot President, a legendary play by Nelson’s hero, Henry Nunez, leader of the storied guerrilla theater troupe Diciembre. And that’s when the real trouble begins.

The tour takes Nelson out of the shelter of the city and across a landscape he’s never seen, which still bears the scars of the civil war. With each performance, Nelson grows closer to his fellow actors, becoming hopelessly entangled in their complicated lives, until, during one memorable performance, a long-buried betrayal surfaces to force the troupe into chaos.

Matt says: “This novel, by a talented young Peruvian immigrant to America, tells the story of a young man in an unnamed country that’s clearly Peru. A ten-page first chapter sets the stage in pitch-perfect prose, delivering the history of a leftist theater group long since disbanded, and its aging principals who will take Nelson along on one last tour of the political play one of them penned back when. If ever there was a book that sets out its contract with the reader in the first ten pages, and delivers on it in the next three hundred or so, this is it.

Matt Geyer doesn’t blog but you can see his review on Amazon US

 

*******

the man who loved books too muchThe BlurbIn the tradition of ‘The Orchid Thief’, a compelling narrative set within the strange and genteel world of rare-book collecting: the true story of an infamous book thief, his victims, and the man determined to catch him.

Rare-book theft is even more widespread than fine-art theft. Most thieves, of course, steal for profit. John Charles Gilkey steals purely for the love of books. In an attempt to understand him better, journalist Allison Hoover Bartlett plunged herself into the world of book lust and discovered just how dangerous it can be.

Jilanne says: “I found Bartlett’s book to be as intriguing as The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary. And although I’ll never be a true collector of rare editions, I do love the vicarious thrill, similar, as Bartlett’s points out, to the discovery of lost treasure. So go ahead and get lost in the world of fine libraries and leather-bound tomes with a few unscrupulous people who LOVE rare books and the things those books represent: class and intelligence and no small amount of reverence.

See the full review at Jilanne Hoffman

*******

NB All blurbs are taken from Goodreads.

See why I find it all so difficult? My TBR mountain is not my fault…it’s yours!

 

43 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 21…

  1. FictionFan – I’ll be really interested in what you think of Ethan Frome. You’ve got some other really interesting choices there, too. But as far as TBR piles and blaming us for yours goes, people who live in glass houses… 😉

  2. Dark Matter: if I were poor, lonely and desperate as is Jack in London, 1937, the very last
    thing I’d do would be hop a freighter to Antarctica. But, that’s me. I’m sorry things aren’t
    turning out as he hoped. As to that feeling that creepy feeling that “someone walks there
    in the dark . . .”–don’t worry, I think that’s just some lost sled dogs from another expedition.
    And they’ll be fun for Jack!

    • Oh Books and Buttons, how could you be so sensible! – The journey to the Arctic offers a JOB and the chance to get back into the world of science again. Means he can leave the job he hates and get back to what he thinks he might love. Now I think we are going to have to pop you into a hut on Svalbard all on your own for a year AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS!

  3. Well I think all of these look remarkably fetching (well i would say that about Dark Matter, as i was well and truly fetched, and I have ALREADY ordered Jilanne’s recc, so I’m just going to do a quiet tiptoe over to Matt’s review and see what happens……….(which is clearly my watchphrase for today (see above)

    • Yes, a particularly interesting bunch this week, but who knows when I’ll get to them! I might still be reading The Luminaries this time next year… (haven’t abandoned it yet though, so that’s a fairly positive sign so far…)

  4. Dark Matter is the way to go, for sure! I can’t wait for your review on that. I bet the professor is the other thing walking there.

    See? I should have voted a hundred times…did you notice I lost?

    • It sounds great, doesn’t it? But I suspect it’s the Giant Ice-Monster…I would tame him and keep him as a pet. I’d call him Popsicle.

      I’m gobsmacked by the result – I thought for sure that Sleep Tight would win. But don’t worry – I’ve added it to your TBR…

        • I’d treat him the way I treat Tommy – tickle his tummy while saying ‘Who’s my gorgeous Popsicle then? What a pretty ice-monster!’ and then I’d sing him a special Popsicle song…and then I’d kiss his pretty pink nose… (Too much information there really, wasn’t there?)

          *laughing wickedly* Ooh, have you seen they’ve changed the wicked smiley? 😈 Still not as good as the old one though…

  5. Well, I really hope you enjoy “Ethan Frome”. It’s a long time since I read it, but I remember it well, which is usually a good sign.

  6. I’m gutted that Ethan Frome won but had been tempted by Margaret’s review, it does sound like an interesting read. The Man Who Loved Books Too much is tempting too but having just spent a weekend counting my TBR…. 😉

  7. Yay! Ethan Frome! Can’t wait to hear what you have to say about it!

    Thank you for the mention. I’m soooooooooooooo glad I could finally get revenge. Consider it payback, for all the books you’ve enticed me to buy. 😀

    And I’m turning a blind eye to your other recs—for now….

    • Well, I’ve just started The Luminaries so it may be several months (years) before I get around to it!

      This could become a major battle – with the only winners being the booksellers. I really, really think you should consider the other two carefully though…I’m sure your TBR has room for just a couple more… 😈

  8. Oh, Jack signed up for the *Arctic*! I thought it was Antarctica. Now THAT makes
    all the difference! (No, it doesn’t, I’m still not going.) Ah,Ah, a-a-a-h, LF, can’t get
    rid of me that easily- -; )

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

