TBR Thursday 13…

Episode 13

 

I don’t understand it – I’ve been so self-controlled for the last couple of weeks and yet the dreaded TBR has gone up to 103! Oh well, I don’t mind really – especially when I see some of the juicy reads coming up soon…

Coming to a blog near you soon:

 

bet your lifeThe second in Jane Casey’s YA series. Jess Tennant will keep me entertained while I wait eagerly for the next Maeve Kerrigan novel…

“Jess Tennant has now been living in Port Sentinel for three months, and is just beginning to relax and think of it as home after the murderous events of the summer. But in the small hours of a dark night, a teenage boy is left for dead by the side of the road. Seb Dawson has a serious head injury and may not survive – and Jess decides to find out who beat him up, and why? As she investigates, Jess discovers that Seb was involved in some very dangerous games. A secret predator around girls, he would do whatever it took to abuse them, from lying and blackmail to spiking drinks. Could a group of vengeful victims be behind his attack? Or is there someone else with a grudge against Seb and who will stop at nothing to silence him?”

*****

a very british murderInspired to read this book about the British obsession with murder by this review from Cleopatra Loves Books

“Murder – a dark, shameful deed, the last resort of the desperate or a vile tool of the greedy. And a very strange, very British obsession. But where did this fixation develop? And what does it tell us about ourselves? In A Very British Murder, Lucy Worsley explores this phenomenon in forensic detail, revisiting notorious crimes like the Ratcliff Highway Murders, which caused a nation-wide panic in the early nineteenth century, and the case of Frederick and Maria Manning, the suburban couple who were hanged after killing Maria’s lover and burying him under their kitchen floor. Our fascination with crimes like these became a form of national entertainment, inspiring novels and plays, puppet shows and paintings, poetry and true-crime journalism. At a point during the birth of modern Britain, murder entered our national psyche, and it’s been a part of us ever since.”

*****

dryadI know Sonya Solomonovich via blogging so in line with my usual rule probably won’t review this one, but I’m looking forward to reading it – it promises to be great fun…and isn’t the cover great?

Solena is a dryad from the South American rainforest who is scorned by other dryads for her obsession with the human world. But when the forest is threatened, it is Solena who is chosen to go on an undercover mission that leads to a breathtaking time travel adventure involving pirates, knights, and of course, a talking alligator. The dryad finds herself falling for the heir to the timber corporation, the handsome Rodney Love, but as her adventures take her back in time and deeper into the rainforest, she finds the possibility of another love, one that transcends time itself… Who will win the dryad’s heart: a smooth-talking billionaire who graces the cover of Narcissism Carnival or a wild and unruly jungle warrior?”

*****

fearie talesSome of the best horror writers getting together to give a modern spin to old tales. Perfect for Tuesday Terror? We shall see…

Two hundred years ago two brothers, Jacob and Wilhelm, collected together a large selection of folk and fairy tales and published them as Kinder- und Hausmärchen (Children’s and Household Tales). So successful was the first collection of 88 stories that they kept adding more to subsequent editions. Since then, the tales of the Brothers Grimm have been translated into upwards of a hundred different languages and are known and loved throughout the world. Now award-winning editor Stephen Jones has tasked some of the brightest and best horror writers in Britain, America and Europe with reinterpreting some of the traditional Hausmärchen, putting a decidedly darker spin on the classic stories.”

*****

All blurbs are taken from Amazon.

I have very high hopes for all of these…will they be fulfilled? Or dashed?

29 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 13…

    • I don’t mind a bit of romance if something else is happening too – a crazed serial killer stalking the lovers for instance… 😈

      (No – he could never compete with the Professor as a hero, so it seems unfair on him…)

      • Exactly! That’s what P&P needed. Bingley was the man, too. A pity.

        You know, you greatly confuse this professor. You don’t like romance, yet you like P&P. You don’t like fantasy, yet you like HP….

        (Robin Hood? Oh yes he could!)

        • A lovely complete stranger popped onto the blog the other day to rant about how she ‘despises’ Austen – I thought of sending her to your blog…but then I wondered if maybe she was you…or Mic… 😉

          You see, the thing is…and this sounds so rude but it’s true…an awful lot of fantasy and romance is really, really badly written. I don’t mind fantasy when it’s well written, but romance bores me unless there’s more depth to it – like P&P.

          (Really? Even though he wears tights? Perhaps I should read it then…)

  1. FictionFan – I can’t say I blame you one bit for succumbing. It looks as though you’ve added some really interesting titles to your TBR, and that’s all to the good. Consider it a public service to those authors who work very hard to bring you fine reading. 😉

  2. The last one in this list intrigues me the most. Now go away and read for at least—well—two weeks, so I can finish The Goldfinch in peace. I’ve got a conference coming up in a week, so I’m going to be down for the count for a bit. When I come back, you’ll get my response to this brick I’m using as my strength training program (don’t mean to sound negative, but even if it turns out to be a decent read, it’s still a brick).

    I don’t want to add any more books to my existing pile, so I will be turning a blind eye to your recs….unless you recommend something fabulous.

    • Yes, I like the look of that one too. I’ve read the first story – a modernisation of Rumpelstiltskin – and it was pretty good…

      The solution to The Goldfinch problem is to burn it – it might destroy the environment since it’s equivalent to about 10 acres of rainforest, but it’ll provide enough energy to heat a small town for a fortnight. One really good one coming up tomorrow and then I really think you’ll be safe for a while…so enjoy your conference! 🙂

  3. having just reinstated myself with NetGalley and spent a cosy afternoon reading the new Elly Griffiths, the Jane Casey is my next book. I really enjoyed the first Jess Tennant and would like to see Casey take her through into adult fiction and take her YA readers with her. I’m looking forward to seeing how this series progresses.

    • They really do provide a lot of great books, don’t they? I was just noticing today that this is my first anniversary with NG and I’ve read 99 books from them – hence my TBR issues. I’m trying to be a bit more restrained now!

      Yes, I liked the first Jess Tennant book too – I think it’s to be part of a trilogy rather than a long-running series, but who knows – if it’s successful she may extend it…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

