TBR Thursday 12…

Episode 12

 

With the TBR list sitting at 102, I really shouldn’t be adding to it at all…but it’s the 23rd of January, so well past time to break all those New Year resolutions. A particularly tough choice this week – the runner-ups are all extremely tempting…

So, with my usual grateful thanks to all the reviewers who’ve intrigued and inspired me over the last few weeks, here are:

The Runners-Up…

 

cosmicomicsEnchanting stories about the evolution of the universe…

Reading on Cloud 9 says: “These stories are dreamy, philosophical and funny at the same time. I think of them as bedtime stories for adults – they have the enchanted feel of a bedtime fairy tales, but not really the story structure, nor necessarily the happy endings. But these stories will make you think, make you feel in awe of this world, put a smile on your face and before you know it, you are ready to put yet another day away.

See the full review at Reading on Cloud 9

*******

i was amelia earhartA fictionalised account of Amelia Earhart’s last flight…

Women’s Prize for Fiction says “At only 146 pages in length the book is short but very sweet. Jane Mendelsohn has taken the ‘goddess of flight’, as she was described by the press, and brought her down to earth by encasing her feet in clay. But, though the author has endowed Amelia Earhart with flaws, insecurities and an occasional hint of self loathing, Amelia Earhart still remains a heroine.

See the full review at Women’s Prize for Fiction

*******

picnic at hanging rockA summer picnic turns into a mysterious disappearance…

Booksaremyfavouriteandbest says: “My feelings about this book have built gradually, after countless readings, the enchanting movie version directed by Peter Weir in 1975, and of course the fuss when the final chapter was released. So why do I love this story? Part of it is purely nostalgic but what truly stands out is Lindsay’s description of the Australian bush – you can feel that summer day and the descriptions of Hanging Rock are intimate.

See the full review at booksaremyfavouriteandbest

*******

elementalOne woman’s life story (This would have been a winner except that it’s horrendously overpriced in the UK at present. It will remain on my wishlist till the price drops…)

Angela Savage says: “Elemental is rich in historical detail, from the unforgettably harsh conditions of village life in remote coastal Scotland, to the challenges facing migrants in early twentieth century Freemantle. This detail is woven seamlessly and skilfully into the story, never jarring or slowing down the pace of the narrative.”

See the full review at Angela Savage’s blog

*******

And the winner is…

 

the other typistA Jazz Age thriller…

Raven Crime Reads says “I thoroughly enjoyed this tale of twisted loyalty resulting in murderous betrayal. From the perfect capturing of the period, to the locations, to the characterisation and the wonderfully placed reveals, this was a deeply satisfying read and I have no hesitation in recommending this to any reader who appreciates well written and sophisticated fiction, with a dark sting in the tale…

See the full review at Raven Crime Reads

*******

Now all I have to do is find time to read it…

26 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 12…

  1. FictionFan – I very much want to read both Elemental and The Other Typist as well. They sound absolutely compelling and I respect the reviewers’ judgement, too. I’ll be keen to see what you think of these.

    • Yes, I know I always say this, but a great bunch again this week. I hope the price of Elemental falls soon – I suspect it’s not been published over here yet and is being sold as an import.

  2. Thank you so much for including my review of ‘I was Amelia Earhart’ as a runner up. It is always pleasing to know that a review has encouraged someone to possibly read the book in the future. You have made my day.

    • 😀 My pleasure, Chris! I just wish I had time to read all the books that take my fancy. This genuinely is the hardest part of blogging for me – sometimes I pretty much just have to stick a pin in to find the ‘winner’!

    • Congratulations on being this week’s ‘winner’! 😉

      Your great review made The Other Typist sound so interesting I couldn’t resist! And Elemental sounds wonderful too, doesn’t it? This blogging business is so bad for the old TBR…

  3. What a wonderful list. I’m tempted to read the one on Amelia Earhart. The summary of The Other Typist is so intriguing that it’s hard not to put that on my TBR list too!

  4. I’m impressed you lasted until the 23rd with your resolutions! And that does look like a worthy winner…I’ll just add it to my wishlist for now then nudge it on to the TBR pile in a month or two – it makes me feel more virtuous than going out straight away to obtain a copy – as if I’ve made a considered decision rather than an impulse buy 🙂

  5. Yet another aside from my workshop at Squaw Valley this past summer: Ann Close (senior editor at Knopf and Alice Munro’s editor) headed one of our morning workshops. She’s also Mendelsohn’s editor. During a discussion of possible structures for a workshop participant’s novel, Close talked about how “I Was Amelia Earhart” came to be. Mendelsohn’s original version was 250 pages. When she finished it “the first time,” Mendelsohn felt that it was “too usual,” to close to routine structure. So she rewrote it in Earhart’s voice and cut the length nearly in half. What had been “too usual” was now more to her liking and described in at least one review as being “brilliantly imagined.”

    I would choose Mendelsohn’s and the one by Calvino. I think I’ll pick these up. Thanks!

    • See, I just love the idea of an author who cuts her work in half! There’s someone who thinks the work is more important than the ego. Personally, when I rule the world, all authors who produce a final draft longer than 400 pages will be forced to read Gatsby and tell me what in their book makes it worth more than twice that one…if they can, great – if not, back to the drawing board. Of course, the Booker committee won’t have helped by picking the longest book in the history of the universe (except War and Peace) – now all authors will be aiming to top 900 pages. (Not that I’ve read it yet – it might be brill and well worth its length.)

      I really would like to read the Calvino – I suspect it’s going to sneak on to the pile when I’ve got my back turned.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

