TBR Thursday 11…

Episode 11

 

Despite some rigorous pruning the TBR remains stubbornly high at exactly 100 – and that doesn’t include all the recommendations arising from the Great American Novel Quest. Second only to all you bloggie people constantly tempting me, NetGalley is by far the worst offender…here’s just a few of the ones I couldn’t resist…

Courtesy of NetGalley:

 

black moonNot my usual fare at all and frankly I can’t remember why I picked it. But who knows, maybe it’ll be great…

…a black moon had risen, a sphere of sleeplessness that pulled at the tides of blood—an invisible explanation for the madness welling inside.

The world has stopped sleeping. Restless nights have grown into days of panic, delirium and, eventually, desperation. But few and far between, sleepers can still be found – a gift they quickly learn to hide. For those still with the ability to dream are about to enter a waking nightmare.

Kenneth Calhoun’s dark, hallucinatory and brilliantly realised debut confronts one of our deepest needs – and fears – with style, vision and a very human heart.”

*****

the future of the mindMichio Kaku always manages to make sciency stuff fairly palatable on TV, so now to find out if he can explain the mysteries of the mind simply enough for my poor mind to absorb…

“Recording memories, mind reading, videotaping our dreams, mind control, avatars, and telekinesis – no longer are these feats of the mind solely the province of overheated science fiction. As Michio Kaku reveals, not only are they possible, but with the latest advances in brain science and recent astonishing breakthroughs in technology, they already exist. In The Future of the Mind, the New York Times-bestselling author takes us on a stunning, provocative and exhilarating tour of the top laboratories around the world to meet the scientists who are already revolutionising the way we think about the brain – and ourselves.”

*****

paradeI enjoyed Shuichi Yoshida’s Villain apart from some translation issues, so will be interested to see how this one compares…

“Four twenty-somethings share an apartment in Tokyo. In Parade each tells their story: their lives, their hopes and fears, their loves, their secrets.

Kotomi waits by the phone for a boyfriend who never calls. Ryosuke wants someone that he can’t have. Mirai spends her days drawing and her nights hanging out in gay bars. Naoki works for a film company, and everyone treats him like an elder brother. Then Satoru turns up. He’s eighteen, homeless, and does night work of a very particular type.

In the next-door apartment something disturbing is going on. And outside, in the streets around their apartment block, there is violence in the air. From the writer of the cult classic Villain, Parade is a tense, disturbing, thrilling tale of life in the city.”

*****

failure and the american writerSeemed an appropriate choice since I’m intending to read so much classic American fiction this year…

“If America worships success, then why has the nation’s literature dwelled obsessively on failure? This book explores encounters with failure by nineteenth-century writers – ranging from Edgar Allan Poe and Herman Melville to Mark Twain and Sarah Orne Jewett – whose celebrated works more often struck readers as profoundly messy, flawed and even perverse. Reading textual inconsistency against the backdrop of a turbulent nineteenth century, Gavin Jones describes how the difficulties these writers faced in their faltering search for new styles, coherent characters and satisfactory endings uncovered experiences of blunder and inadequacy hidden in the culture at large. Through Jones’s treatment, these American writers emerge as the great theorists of failure who discovered ways to translate their own social insecurities into complex portrayals of a modern self, founded in moral fallibility, precarious knowledge and negative feelings. “

Of course, it might be entirely unreadable… 😉

*****

 

the outcast deadIt’s becoming a stretch to accept that an archaeologist gets involved in so many crimes, but I’m not quite ready to give up on the Ruth Galloway series yet…

“Forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway has excavated a body from the grounds of Norwich Castle, a forbidding edifice that was once a prison.

She believes the body may be that of infamous Victorian murderess Jemima Green. Called Mother Hook for her claw-like hand, Jemima was hanged in 1867 for the murder of five children in her care.

DCI Harry Nelson has no time for long-dead killers. Immersed in the case of three infants found dead, one after the other, in their King’s Lynn home, he’s convinced that a family member is responsible, though others on his team think differently.

Then a child goes missing. Could the abduction be linked to the long-dead Mother Hook? Ruth is pulled into the case, and back towards Nelson.”

*****

All blurbs are taken from either Amazon or NetGalley.

A mixed bunch this time – I’m hoping at least some of them will be great reads…

19 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 11…

  1. FictionFan – These all sound like really interesting choices. I’m not at all surprised that you couldn’t resist adding them to your list. I’m of course interested in your reviews of all of them, but I’m especially keen to see what you think of Parade. It sounds like a potentially very absorbing story.

    • I was impressed with the insight into modern Japanese society in ‘Villain’, so I have high hopes of ‘Parade’. I’m looking forward to the Elly Griffiths too – always very readable even if the plotting is becoming a bit unfeasible…

  2. Thank you very much – you only made me go out and buy ‘Villain’ now (I am dedicating this year to reading more Japanese fiction). Grrrr… and thank you, too, but there goes my any hope of reading all my existing books…

    • Ah, my work is done! 😉 I’m not at all widely read in Japanese fiction, but I do find them intriguing generally. Especially when they give some insight into modern society, which ‘Villain’ did, I feel. I’ll be interested to hear what you make of it…

    • Yes, I like her writing style very much, but I think it was a mistake making Ruth an archaeologist – it means the plots are becoming very contrived. I rather wish she’d end this series and start a new one…

  3. When I attempted to put a comment here the computer froze – is this an omen? I refuse to add to my TBR pile…. I refuse to add to my TBR pile……… repeat ad infinitum (and ad nauseam).

  4. Ooooh dear. “Black Moon” brings to mind “Blindness” by Saramago. Wonder if it will be as good. Very tempting.

    I’m definitely getting “The Future of the Mind” since I’m doing research on a book about hypnotism.

    And what American writer can resist “Failure and the American Writer”? I love that you say it might just be “entirely unreadable.” 😀

    • ‘Black Moon’ not due out till March, so it’ll be a few weeks before I read and review it. It does sound intrigung though…

      A fiction? Or a factual?

      Haha! I hadn’t thought of it that way when I said ‘entirely unreadable’ – but that would be ironic!

  5. I think you should abandon all hope of reducing the TBR now it has reached 3 figures, and aim for a whopping 4 figure TBR. Now, with that in mind, doesn’t 100 seem a piffly little figure?

    My TBR is rising cos i keep BUYING the wretched things!

    • 1000!!! (faints)

      I’m having one of my periodic ‘can’t be bothered reading’ phases – but it still doesn’t stop me adding books…thank goodness for Vine, eh? 😉

    • Is it not available for the US? Maybe it’ll turn up later – all the different countries seem to act separately even when it’s the same publisher. It’s not due out till March.

      It’s hopeless really…but I’m now removing anything that’s been on for a year on the grounds that if I haven’t read it in that time, I couldn’t have been all that enthusiastic to begin with.

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

