TBR Thursday 9…

Episode 9

 

The TBR continues to grow exponentially – in fact, it’s way more frightening than anything that’s turned up on so far on Tuesday Terror! Here’s a few of the books that have added themselves to the list when my willpower was at a low ebb…

Courtesy of NetGalley:

 

the sleeperThis will be my fourth Gillian White since I discovered her earlier this year.  Two were very good, the other was great – which will this be…?

“The sins of the past haunt an isolated farmhouse as a snowstorm rages outside . . .

It’s not shaping up to be a very merry Christmas. Clover Moon feels trapped in her life as a farmer’s wife. She certainly doesn’t enjoy hosting Fergus’s mother, Violet, who always finds new ways to publicly humiliate her unsatisfactory daughter-in-law. But would Violet ever seek a more violent way of expressing her disapproval?

Violet is a medium, and the voices of the dead sometimes encourage her to do disturbing things. During her stay at the farmhouse, she claims to sense an intrusive presence. Fergus then discovers the dead body of a woman floating in their flooded cellar, and elderly Miss Bates, resident of a nearby senior home and a client of Violet’s, is missing . . .”

*****

we need new namesAnd this will be the fourth Booker shortlisted novel I’ve read. The Testament of Mary was great, Harvest was very good, A Tale for the Time Being was so-so…what will this be…?

“‘To play the country-game, we have to choose a country. Everybody wants to be the USA and Britain and Canada and Australia and Switzerland and them. Nobody wants to be rags of countries like Congo, like Somalia, like Iraq, like Sudan, like Haiti and not even this one we live in – who wants to be a terrible place of hunger and things falling apart?’

Darling and her friends live in a shanty called Paradise, which of course is no such thing. It isn’t all bad, though. There’s mischief and adventure, games of Find bin Laden, stealing guavas, singing Lady Gaga at the tops of their voices.

They dream of the paradises of America, Dubai, Europe, where Madonna and Barack Obama and David Beckham live. For Darling, that dream will come true. But, like the thousands of people all over the world trying to forge new lives far from home, Darling finds this new paradise brings its own set of challenges – for her and also for those she’s left behind.”

*****

the strangling on the stageMy first Simon Brett, though I’ve heard a couple of the Charles Paris BBC Radio 4 adaptions. Hopefully this will be a light and enjoyable romp…

“When Jude agrees to lend her vintage chaise longue for the local Amateur Dramatics Society’s production of George Bernard Shaw’s The Devil’s Disciple, little does she realize she’ll end up in a starring role. It’s an ambitious play, culminating in a dramatic execution scene: a scene that’s played for real when one of the leading actors is found hanging from the especially-constructed stage gallows during rehearsals. A tragic accident – or something more sinister? Carole and Jude make it their business to find out.”

*****

Pre-order:

 

days of fireI’m so far behind with factual reading (mainly because The Cave and the Light looks like it’ll take me about ten years to read) that I have no idea when I’ll get to this. But it should also be a fun romp…

“In Days of Fire, Peter Baker, Chief White House Correspondent for The New York Times, takes us on a gripping and intimate journey through the eight years of the Bush and Cheney administration in a tour-de-force narrative of a dramatic and controversial presidency.

Theirs was the most captivating American political partnership since Richard Nixon and Henry Kissinger: a bold and untested president and his seasoned, relentless vice president. Confronted by one crisis after another, they struggled to protect the country, remake the world, and define their own relationship along the way. In Days of Fire, Peter Baker chronicles the history of the most consequential presidency in modern times through the prism of its two most compelling characters, capturing the elusive and shifting alliance of George Walker Bush and Richard Bruce Cheney as no historian has done before. He brings to life with in-the-room immediacy all the drama of an era marked by devastating terror attacks, the Iraq War, Hurricane Katrina, and financial collapse.”

*****

Courtesy of Vine:

 

the tudorsJohn Guy is one of my favourite historians. Since I’ve read most of his long histories of the Tudors, I’m not sure whether this will add anything, but somehow those words ‘Very Short’ were irresistable…

“The monarchs of the Tudor period are among some of the most well-known figures in British history. John Guy presents a compelling and fascinating exploration of the Tudors in the new edition of this Very Short Introduction. Looking at all aspects of the period, from beginning to end, he considers Tudor politics, religion, and economics, as well as issues relating to gender and minority rule, and the art, architecture, and social and material culture of the time. Introducing all of the key Tudor monarchs, Guy considers the impact the Tudor period had not only at the time, but also the historical legacy it left behind. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.”

*****

All blurbs are taken from either Amazon or NetGalley.

What do you think? Any of these that you’re looking forward to too? Or are there other new releases you’re impatiently awaiting?

27 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 9…

  1. The next book the professor is going to get is KSM, truly.

    The first book on the list interests me the most. What can’t you like about a snowstorm and sins from the past? Very cool.

    And the tudors would interest this professor too. A nice, wicked family.

    I do feel bad for you, FEF. Every week there’s more books. The professor would believe you if you said you were reading as soon as you were born.

    • It’s going to be awful if you don’t like it, after all this… 😉

      Not Bush/Cheney? I think that’s the one I’m most looking forward to.

      There are times I feel sorry for myself! My campaign to reduce the number of books with a deadline is failing dramatically…perhaps I could sub-contract you to read some of them for me?

      • Oh, I’m sure I will. How couldn’t I?

        No, the professor would die if he heard about them again. Yucketh!

        Haha. The professor feels sorry for you all the time for a couple reasons. Well, maybe. But the professor is a very slow reader, I warn you.

      • I do like the sound of the Bush/Cheney book but it is going to be difficult not to go in without any preconceptions. Also thought about requesting We Need New Names on Netgalley but decided it might not be me. Look forward to your review to see whether I dodged a bullet or not.

        • Part of why I read them is to see if they can challenge my preconceptions. They don’t usually change my opinions of them as politicians but they sometimes make me like them better (or worse) as people.

          Must admit I’ve gone off the idea of We Need New Names, but having taken it, I feel obliged to read it. Maybe it’ll surprise me…

  2. FictionFan – You have made some fine additions to your TBR, although I know exactly what it’s like to add to a big TBR at all. I really do hope you’ll get the time for the Brett. I do love that Charles Paris series. He’s such a great character I always think. I’ll be looking forward to your reviews…

    • The NetGalley and Vine books always get priority since I feel obliged to review them, so I’ll definitely be reading the Brett soonish. Anyway after some pretty heavy reading recently, I could do with something a bit lighter…

  3. I’ve always wondered how good the “very short” series is. Please let me know.

    Also, I lived enough Bush/Cheney for the time being. It may take me a good 20-30 years before I’m ready to read about it without smoke coming out my ears.

    “We Need New Names” sounds interesting—and the Gillian White in a different way.

    Decisions, decisions…

    • I’ve heard good things about it, but this is my first. I’ll be reviewing it at some point over the next few weeks…Vine deadline!

      Haha! I get the distinct impression this book’s going to be a hard sell in the US! That’s kind of what a lot of us felt about Mrs Thatcher…not to mention Tony Blair!

      I’m not as inspired by this lot as I usually am by the TBR list (except for the Bush one) – I think I got trigger-happy with the NetGalley requests this month. No willpower!

  4. Yes, I fancy the Bush/Cheney one too, and I always enjoy Simon Brett, but I don’t much fancy the others. I’ve read so much Tudor history over the years that I don’t really see any need for any more.
    And “sweet” is the LAST thing I ever expected to be described as.

  5. Well Fiction Fan you didn’t return the favour. I read some Gillian White books (Copycat, Mothertime and Unhallowed Ground) years ago and thought they were fantastic but when I’ve looked since they’ve been out of print 😦 now I see that they’ve been re-released and there are lots more that I want. You’ve made me simultaneously very happy and sad because my TBR list has now grown so much!

    • I’ve been lucky – got all four of them via NetGalley as they were reissued. I hadn’t come across her before, but she’s now a firm favourite. I’m kinda hoping NG gradually supply me with her whole back catalogue…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

