TBR Thursday 6…

Episode 6

 

Despite my best intentions, the old TBR pile is still sitting at 104 (not helped by the fact that inexplicably two of last week’s ‘losers’ seem to have added themselves to the list). Nothing daunted, I will add another and, fortified by lots of caffeine, I’m sure I’ll have them all read by 2020…

Two weeks worth of reviews from all you lovely (but deeply provoking) people resulted in a longlist of thirteen, which I have brutally cut down to a shortlist of 5.

Here, then, are the most tempting reviews of the last two weeks and the one that wears the crown…

The Courtiers…

 

With grateful thanks to the reviewers/recommenders, here are the runners-up in this week’s contest:

broken harbourDark crime based in Ireland…

Red Panda Reads says: As with her previous books, Tana French is able to create a unique and multidimensional character at the center of a complex crime investigation where no ground is as solid as it appears. The crime itself is almost a secondary concern to French; this book is an investigation into the dark side of the human psyche, and it’s very dark indeed.”

See the full review at Red Panda Reads

*******

the lowlandBooker shortlisted lit-fic – family and politics with an Indian setting

Ms. Wordopolis Reads says It’s not a fast-paced thriller or plot-heavy like the crime fiction I usually read, but it’s enveloping nonetheless. Even if you’ve read lots of Lahiri, there’s much to enjoy here, and, the ending was quite affecting. The Lowland is one of my favorite books of the year.”

See the full review at Ms. Wordopolis Reads

*******

spider woman's daughterCrime in the Navajo Nation…

Bill’s Book Reviews says Anne Hillerman has done a great job continuing the series, while making it her own. She has allowed Jim Chee’s wife, Bernadette, to tell the story. This gets the reader to accept the slight differences in writing style as a logical extension of the change in point of view. Everything feels so right and comfortable. My heart leaps with joy to have this series returned to me!”

See the full review at Bill’s Book Reviews

*******

equilibriumHistorical fiction with spirtualism and mystery…

Cleopatra Loves Books says I am not really a believer in the supernatural so I had some reservations about this book which were quickly dispelled… this is a fascinating study of women at the opposite ends of society at the turn of the twentieth century. This is a well-plotted story which offered so much more than I expected.

See the full review at Cleopatra Loves Books

******

And the Reigning Monarch is…

 

so brave

Ballad of the Vanishing West…

frayeddustjackets says Enger treats us to a ballad that is as evocative as “The Cowboy’s Lament,” creating characters both sad and silly, and all together memorable.  In the end Monte Becket, described as having “lost his medicine,” is made whole again.  The novel has all the elements of the great cowboy stories: young desperadoes,  gun slingers, Pinkertons, sharp shooters,  horse traders, and train robbers, all set against a pure American of the verge of losing its innocence.

See the full review at frayeddustjackets

It was a close run thing again this week, but in the end frayeddustjackets’ review made So Brave, Young and Handsome sound so interesting, I decided it’s worth stepping a little outside my comfort zone for. Now all I have to do is find time to read it…

26 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 6…

  1. FictionFan – I can see why you chose the winner you did. Of course, I’m drawn to historical books. I’ll be very interested in what you think of it if you do get the chance to read the Hillerman though. In general I don’t like characters carried on by someone other than their original creator. But as this author is the daughter of Chee and Leaphorn’s creator, who knows?

    • The Hillerman sounded really good – I liked the point that Bill made about her changing the main voice. But in the end I decided it would probably be better if I read the originals first…just as soon as I have time!

  2. Dash it all – this nuisance must cease! These ALL sound interesting. Now do you see why I don’t read blogs/reviews (other than yours)?

  3. I think I see the problem. FEF will read mostly any book. You should be more like the professor. It’s hard to refuse, but you’ll get quite good at it. 🙂

    The professor must admit the last one does sound quite interesting. Sharp shooters…train robbers… Can’t wait for the review!

  4. A very very very wise choice FF Leif Enger is a brilliant writer. I read his first, Peace Like a River, and raved, and when (years later, another slow writer worth waiting for pen to get put to paper again) this was published, raved again – funnily Enger 2 is waiting in the wings to have my Amazon rave recycled here.

    But, having read the Enger (not to say a re-read isn’t an attractive propostiion) the one on your list that has had me going ooo aaaaah is Cleopatra’s. I think THAT is going to make its way to a bedside table or a Kindle near me sometime very soon. (So…..going off to visit Cleopatra’s stall and also frayeddustjacket – any Enger fan is a friend of mine!

    • Ah, now, had you put your review up sooner, you could have been the first double-‘winner’! Thanks for the endorsement – (it makes me feel guilty about scheduling my Ozeki review for tomorrow, or maybe Monday… 😉 )

      And thanks for popping off to visit some of the links – this was one of the main purposes of TBR Thursday, but hardly anyone ever actually links through, leaving me feeling guilty about using other people’s reviews and them not getting any benefit from it. All round, I think TBR Thursday may require some kind of re-think…

      • That is typical FictionFan generosity, I must say. But i don’t think feeling guilty makes any sense! However it is used, you are spreading the word about our bookie passions, and i think people WILL visit the sites of books they are interested in – we all pick each other up from comments, posts I like and all that – and i suspect, whether anyone clicks through on or not, everyone must be pleased to be a bridesmaid, or even a bride. Nix that guilt man! You are basically giving other bloggers some lovely potential other visitors. Maybe (I don’t mean this!) everyone just waits for the book selection box to have the particular flavour they like. This week you had a couple of those dark chocolate liqueurs I so enjoy, rather than the hard caramel crunch which i never choose!

        • Well, you cheered me up – thank you! And since my creativity quivers at the thought of coming up with a replacement, I expect TBR Thursday will have to stick around for a while yet!

          If you do read the Evie Woolmore, and review it, that would allow it a second opportunity to make the shortlist… 😉

  5. Thanks for the mention. I am honored.
    I really did love the Chee and Leaphorn series. I’m really glad to have them back. Anne Hillerman knows her dad’s voice. Take the time to slowly read and enjoy the series, you won’t regret it.

    • It definitely does sound like the kind of series I would enjoy, and while it was tempting to leap in to the new one, it makes more sense to start with the originals, I suppose. I’m looking forward to reading them. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  6. PS You do realise of course that I’m deeply offended and heartbroken that you didn’t pick the ‘how to do simple surgical procedures on your friends and family using items from your kitchen cutlery drawer’ book i recently reviewed. I thought the descriptions of unwinding a kinked large intestine were particularly helpful, and i’m looking forward to shortening hospital waiting times and earning a few bucks enormously.

    Not having anaesthetics might be a bit of a problem but there is a nearby offie and I’m sure patients could pick up a couple of large bottles of brandy (for themselves rather than me – I would never operate under the influence. Any undrunk would double as wound disinfectant (must keep my costs down and my profits up by getting patients to bring their own disposable supplies

    • Much though I always enjoy gruesome and gory descriptions of primitive medical operations (!) the fact that I fainted three times whilst reading your review made me suspect the book might render me comatose…and I feared you might than feel you had to surgically intervene to resuscitate me…

      Good luck with the new business…I can think of many people who I’m sure would benefit from your treatments…mostly men, oddly…

      • I carefully omitted to mention the (to a female reader) infinitely more harrowing accounts of ob/gyn procedures, of which there are several – and the male medical author also renders these as MUCH more complex and difficult, for surgeons and patients, than the ‘snip’ which he presents as a pure breeze, for both parties. he seems to imply anyone can snip but the delivery room separates the women from the boys, and it is female obgyn in this book who is the one to call on when the going gets tough – the tough boys faint in droves!

        • Well, I think we know that’s true from merely observing our cats! Tommy recovered from the anaesthetic, took a quick look, shook his head in a puzzled fashion and got on with his life. Tuppence had to wear the cone of shame for a week, took every opportunity to pull out her stictches and quite literally climbed the walls! Seeping wound…even after the stitches were removed – primarily because of her own chewing, admittedly. Women, eh?

  7. Thanks for the mention, and I look forward to your thoughts on Enger. I haven’t read him but some of my friends have said good things about his stuff. Have a good week!

    • My pleasure! I’m looking forward to the Enger – the main benefit of blogging is reading other people’s reviews and finding out about books that I might never have come across otherwise…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

