TBR Thursday 4…

Episode 4

Publishers rejoice! Books survive into the 24th century!
Proof that books survive into the 24th century!

The good news is that my TBR list has dropped…to 98! Admittedly that doesn’t take account of the books I’ve requested via NetGalley, nor of the fact that tonight is Amazon Vine night…

So I’m rather pleased that it’s been a fairly quiet week around the old blogosphere. And yet still my willpower has been severely tested.

Here, then, are the reviews that tempted me and the one that wriggled through the net onto the TBR…

Returned to the Wild

With grateful thanks to the reviewers/recommenders, here are the runners-up in this week’s contest:

mr bazalgette's agentA forgotten classic of crime…

Past Offences says: As a piece of detective fiction, this is very slight. Miriam simply wanders around hoping to catch sight of Mr Vining. There are no clues and no deduction. As a piece of comic fiction, it does much better (read it if you like Jerome K. Jerome). For me it also gives a refreshing view of Victorian womanhood – Miriam is strong-minded, independent, and far from docile.”

See the full review at Past Offences

*******

sinister intentPolice procedural from a new Australian writer

Reading, Writing and Reisling says An outstanding debut novel and a wonderful police procedural with enduring and empathetic characters, what more could you ask for? Karen M Davis has managed to capture the essence of a great crime read; a great narrative, a surprising ending, plenty of drama and suspense, an authentic voice and settings that are realistic.

See the full review at Reading, Writing and Reisling

*******

the humansHumour with aliens…

Bibliobeth says This is a beautifully told story with some real laugh out loud and poignant moments as the alien Professor learns about the person he is supposed to be, and discovers the fragility of his relationship with his wife and son. Told from the point of view of the alien, it was written in such a way that the reader feels that they are an exclusive part of his world, and sympathetic to his complaints and queries.”

See the full review at Bibliobeth

*******

dead men don't skiA busman’s holiday in Italy for a Scotland Yard detective…

Margot Kinberg says Dead Men Don’t Ski is a classic-style whodunit/howdunit with a more modern emphasis on characters. It features a refreshingly normal (if I can put it that way) sleuth who actually has a good relationship with his wife/‘partner detective.’ The setting is unique and Moyes places the reader distinctly there. …’

See the full review at Margot Kinberg

 

******

Catch of the Day…

 

murder at the maples

First in a new series of cozies – the Flora Lively mysteries…

Rebecca bradley says When Flora Lively inherits her father’s business she’s totally out of her depth. Shakers Removals is in trouble, and manager Marshall isn’t helping one bit – the ex-pat American delights only in winding her up. But Flora has other things on her mind, like Joy: surrogate grandmother and resident of the Maples Retirement Village. When Joy’s pet pug has a brush with death, Flora is pulled into a series of bizarre incidents at the Maples, where fear is starting to take hold.”

See the full review at Rebecca Bradley

Now all I have to do is find time to read it…

(It was a particularly difficult choice this week and I suspect both Mr Bazalgette’s Agent (only 88 pages!) and Sinister Intent (no publication date for the UK yet) will sneak on to the TBR too when my back’s turned.  😉 )

35 thoughts on “TBR Thursday 4…

  1. I have about a dozen book on my TBR – and I think that is a lot! How do you keep up? (I am working my way through mine and admittedly a lot are not released until early in the New Year – so not too much pressure here to read immediately.)

    When you get the chance you must read The Narrow Road to the Deep North – Richard Flanagan – it is amazing and is already being touted to be an award winner.

    PS I have requested Murder at The Maples from Good Reads – I hope I receive it.
    Happy reading 🙂

    • Haha! I don’t keep up – that’s the problem! And every book I enjoy means at least one other from the same author gets added to the list so it never goes down…

      I’ll look out for it – but STOP giving me recommendations, you wicked person, you! 😉

      Hope you get it. I’ve never requested anything through Goodreads – must look into it…

          • Yes I reviewed a few days ago….

            And yes you are right – the bar is set pretty high – I have had so many great reads these past few months.., it does make it difficult for the rest of my reads to meet that expectation. That is the great thing about digital books – the world is open to you ( mostly) I am reading such wonderful and different books so much better choice than when I just went to a bookshop (which usually only stocked “Top 10” type reads). There is so much choice now and I do find blogs and reviews such as yours helpful in when deciding what to look at next. Keep up the great work.

  2. I loved The Humans and highly recommend it! I could read it again, but like you, there just isn’t enough time to read the books I want to read first time. Murder in the Maples sounds wonderful doesn’t it 🙂

    • Drum roll, please…for the Winner! 😉

      Murder in the Maples does sound good – I had a look at the Kindle sample and I like the writing style too. And it would be nice to get in at the beginning of a series for a change…

    • But of course Mr Twain’s on there – three times! (And that’s not even counting his brand new autobiography…)

      Don’t you be rude about my lovely Jean-Luc, C-W-W, or I shall throw a Becky tantrum…

        • Huckleberry Finn, as part of my drive to find the Great American Novel. Puddenhead Wilson, ‘cos BigSister said I should. And The Innocents Abroad, ‘cos it’s the Professor’s favourite. (And of course, the brand new, not yet published autobiography – did I mention I got a free copy?)

          The I shall throw a FEF tantrum – trust me, that’s much worse!!

          • Gulp. Innocents Abroad? 😆

            Don’t let the BigSister influence you so! (Only the professor 😉 )

            Wilson was okay. There are two very vexing characters in that book who brought out the killing instinct in the professor–and Twain too, interestingly enough.

            But the professor is very safe over here. Can’t be touched, you see. And sometimes he can’t hear too well.

            • Yes, I feel I may hate IA, but we’ll see. And given that you feel no compuction to be polite about my recommendations, at least I won’t feel under any obligation to hold back… 😉

              I have no idea when I’ll get time to read PW – the next one will definitely be Huck Finn.

              But I can SHOUT VERY LOUD!!!

            • Yes, you might, and even if you do, the professor won’t pout. 😉 He’ll probably laugh or understand what you’re saying. And he’ll be sure to comment. 😉

              I’ve gone momentarily deaf–in both ears.

  3. 3 of those are on my TBR list as well. Although I am fortunate enough to have read an earlier version of Murder at the Maples, I look forward to reading the finished version now. I dread to count my TBR list:oh, ok, it is 44! (if you count some trilogies as one book)

      • Actually, I was underestimating the number: I’ve recounted all the books I have bought or borrowed and which are waiting on my shelves or my Kindle for consumption – and the number is 66. And yes, I am a victim of book bloggers as well…

    • While I was doing this, I looked at the reviews on Amazon and I don’t think you’re alone. Though lots of people loved it, lots really didn’t. I ended up feeling it might not be my kind of thing really – which is why it didn’t ‘win’ this week…

  4. ‘The Humans’ is sitting on my shelf just waiting for me to find time to pick it up. Once term starts all my good reading resolutions go flying out of the window.

    • I go through reading spurts and slumps every few weeks – maybe it’s to do with the moon!

      I’ll be interested to see what you think of The Humans when you do get around to it.

  5. FictionFan what a terrific set of books you’ve found. My TBR is nearly as big as yours and despite vowing not to go there I requested some from Netgalley today. Murder at the Maples may well sneak itself on there too.

    • Very crime heavy this week! NetGalley is far too tempting – I struggle to stop myself adding more and more. It’s really since I joined NG that my list has got so out of control – no time to read the other stuff.

      And two books from Vine tonight too…

      • I like crime novels so your choices worked for me. You were lucky with Vine – despite the fact that I have chosen mainly books in the time I’ve been a member I got offered one fantasy book in this weeks newsletter. I cleared my NG list and couldn’t resist.

        • Yes, I think the new rule changes have put publishers off placing books through Vine (and frankly have put me off taking them too). Neither of the two that I got were terribly exciting but they should be quick and easy to review… a book of poetry and the new Joanna Trollope Sense & Sensibility, which I confidently expect to hate! 😉

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

