The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle read by Derek Jacobi

the adventures of sherlock holmesThe definitive reading…

😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

As a huge fan of Holmes and Watson, it’s always a great pleasure to me to try out a new version of the stories. In this set, Derek Jacobi gives such wonderful readings that I think this will become the definitive audio version. These twelve unabridged stories give over 11 hours of enormous listening pleasure. The Adventures were the earliest Holmes short stories, of course, written when Conan Doyle was still enthusiastic for the character he later tried to kill off. Some of the best are here: The Red-Headed League, The Five Orange Pips, The Speckled Band.

If you are already a Holmesian, Jacobi’s readings will refresh the stories for you. Without in any way acting them out, he manages to subtly alter his voice and accent for each character thus bringing them individually to life. His Watson is as bluff and genial as we imagine, Holmes is quick and incisive and the rest of the huge cast of these stories are given individual characters as much by the reading as by Conan Doyle’s words.

Derek Jacobi
Derek Jacobi

If you have never read the stories and this is your first experience, I envy you! This combination of the master storyteller and the wonderful narration is a joy. Excitement, humour, horror and fear all await you…Highly recommended.

NB This disc set was provided for review by Amazon Vine UK. It is available as either a disc set or an Audible download in the UK, but appears to be available only as an Audible download in the US.

Amazon UK Link
Audible UK Link
Amazon US Link

31 thoughts on “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle read by Derek Jacobi

  1. Oh, Yay! Derek Jacobi as narrator? What’s not to like? No wonder you enjoyed this so much. Like you I’m always interested in how those stories are presented and this one certainly sounds a winner.

  2. This would probably be my way into Holmes, if it were available in the UK. Perhaps Audible will do something about that in the near future.

  3. I love anything Derek Jacobi reads, and as a dedicated Holmesian I shall make a point of listening to these.

    • Well, I’m shocked and appalled! You must remedy this immediately! And I assure you, it would be a very, very brave man who tried to rip Holmes – even that other famous Professor, Moriarty, learnt his lesson the hard way…

      • I do think the Holmesy stuff is better than The White Company. Truly I do. He would have saved us much suffering had he stuck to Holmes. But Doyle has always been quite vexing.

        Who’s Professor Moriarty? I’m sure he’s a bean.

        Och! Every time I read Doyle, I want to dig him up and beat him over the head with his femur or something!

        • 😆 Given his spiritualist tendencies (and his Scottishness), I feel that could be a very dangerous undertaking…

          The Holmes stuff is definitely mair braw than the historical (though don’t tell BigSister I said that – she partial to the histories). Professor Moriarty is the arch-enemy! Sir Arthur obviously had a thing for professors (which should endear him to you) – the first couple of Professor Challenger books are really good too.

          • Ooo, what spiritualist tendencies?

            You mean BigSister prefers The White Company? Impossible! I did a good ripping of that…that slosh a while back! 😀

            Interestingly enough, I’ve got The Lost World scheduled for a ripio this Tuesday! Should be great fun.

            I knew I didn’t like Doyle. He hates professors and he writes material that is brutal. (I’m assuming ‘mair braw’ means better in some way unbeknownst to the professor…)

            • Hoots, mon, ah cannae wait tae see yer ‘ripio’, so to speak. You’re treading on dangerous territory though – I may be forced to argue with you on this one…we’ll see! Your White Company rip must be from before we ‘met’ – I shall wend my way to the Punchy Lands fur a wee shuftie…

            • All you have to do to rip ‘Darcy’ is look at Nanny McPhee. Depressing. Very depressing. 😉

              Well! Dumas took up Sir Walter’s flag without causing great pain and fear. You see, I believe, Doyle’s heart may have been there, but through his writings he made everyone else heartless.

              But Scott…what a creature. He’s a beast, definitely. I’ve attempted Ivanhoe. I shall get through it one day, and then we shall have a great ripping get together.

              By the way, I absolutely love Doyle’s unkempt facial hair……….

            • 😆 Look, the English aristocracy have fallen on hard times. I think it was very noble of Darcy to find a new way to earn a living…

              No, no, not Ivanhoe – it’s one of the worst! Even I would probably be obliged to rip it.

              And in comparison to some people, Sir Arthur’s facial hair is kempt… 😉

            • I’m ashamed to say I haven’t read too many of them, but enjoyed Waverley, The Fair Maid of Perth and The Antiquary most.

              Funny you should mention The P & The P (coincidence that it’s so close to being P&P isn’t it?) – it’s next up on my fiction schedule. Should be starting it perhaps today or definitely tomorrow. It better be good… 🙂

            • 😀 Handsome fellow over there, eh? I’m so excited. You’re reading your first real book, I– I mean, you’re reading a great book! The complete works? You need to review more than just The P & the P! Right?

              I’m seriously planning on using that smiley-thingy you taught me… It’s coming…

  4. Heavens, I don’t know where to start…… Obviously, the Holmes stories are what he will be remembered for, and I love them, but the histories were where his heart was. You have to remember that he was trying to carry on the tradition of Scott at a time when Scottish writing had slipped into the doldrums and if you judge the books by those criteria, they stack up very well. But perhaps the Professor isn’t a Scott fan either?

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

