The New-to-Me Crime Meme…

new-to-me

 

 

 

Since I’ve joined the blogosphere and NetGalley, I’ve been reading loads of authors I haven’t tried before, even though some of them have been around for a long time. So taking part in the Best New-to-Me Author meme being hosted by Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise seems an ideal way share my new discoveries and at the same time pick up even more recommendations.

On looking back at April, May and June, I find I’ve read a ridiculous total of 13 crime novels by authors I’d never tried before.

Here are the ones I liked best…

My Second Death by Lydia Cooper

The Stranger by Camilla Läckberg

Someone to Watch Over Me by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir

The Execution of Noa P Singleton by Elizabeth L. Silver

Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker

Laidlaw by William McIlvanney

The reviews will tell you about the books, but what does this obsession with crime say about me? Please select all that you feel apply!

And finally…  my top pick for this meme is…

 

laidlaw

 

 

 

Not only has this book been hugely influential on so many writers, but it has stood the test of time and is still a great read.

 

 

 

 

Thanks, Kerrie, for an enjoyable meme!

27 thoughts on “The New-to-Me Crime Meme…

  1. I love that poll! And you’ve got a very nice variety of books in your ‘new to me’ list. I’ve found too that since I’ve started blogging, I’ve ‘met’ all sorts of great new authors, and that’s part of the joy of blogging.

  2. I too have read a surprising number of new to me (old) crime novels lately – I can heartily recommend these authors; Loren D. Estleman, Dorothy Uhnak, R D Rosen… So many books…even with the time I have on my hands I am not making much of an impact on my TBR list. 🙂 The list just keeps growing.

    • Hehe! Thanks for the votes! I’d also have stuck in Gillian White but I read her outwith the period covered in this meme. My TBR list is completely out of control now – in fact, I think I spend more time trying to work out how to fit it all in than I do reading!

    • Oh, I hope you get it and, if you do, that you enjoy it. I think you will, on the basis of stuff you’ve reviewed that I’ve also liked. But that TBR pile never seems to get any smaller, does it? 🙂

    • I’m far too polite to say! But it’s not 13 in total – it’s 13 by authors I’ve never tried before. I think they should ban new books for ten years or so to give us all a chance to catch up…

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

