Pilgrim Soul (Douglas Brodie 3) by Gordon Ferris

pilgrim soulDarkest places of the soul…

😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

The first two novels in the Douglas Brodie series were very good noir thrillers – fast-paced, explosive and full of black humour. This one is very different and takes the Brodie series to another and much darker level.

Brodie is asked to investigate a spate of burglaries in Glasgow’s post-war Jewish community. But when the burglar is found murdered it gradually becomes clear that there is a connection that leads back to the horrors of the concentration camps – horrors that Brodie has been trying to forget since his role as interrogator of war criminals after the war.

Ferris handles this dark and difficult subject with a great deal of sensitivity and humanity. The details he gives of some of the dreadful acts that were carried out in the camps are kept to the minimum necessary for the development of the story – Ferris carefully avoids the use of gratuitous detail. Instead he concentrates on how these events are still affecting his characters, including a very moving portrayal of what we would now call post-traumatic stress disorder. As I read, I couldn’t help but think of the men of my father’s generation, the ones who came back – a generation who mainly bottled up their feelings about their war experiences, who talked of the camaraderie of war but not the horrors, and I felt that in some way Ferris was giving these men a voice that the stiff-upper-lip culture of the time had perhaps denied them.

Gordon Ferris (www.scotsman.com)
Gordon Ferris
(www.scotsman.com)

But although the subject matter means that this book is much darker than the previous ones, this is also a first-rate, tightly plotted thriller – well-paced, plenty of action and still with room for occasional flashes of humour. Brodie’s relationship with Sam is developed further and Danny McRae, hero of Ferris’ other series, plays a part in this one too. In a previous review, of Bitter Water, I compared Gordon Ferris to Ian Rankin. This book leads me to compare him to Reginald Hill, an author who could give his readers intelligently light entertainment in one book then take them to the darkest places of the human soul in the next. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed all of the Brodie books but this one also moved me deeply – highly recommended.

Amazon UK Link
Amazon US link

5 thoughts on “Pilgrim Soul (Douglas Brodie 3) by Gordon Ferris

    • I’ve loved all of Ferris’ books so far and they seem to get better each time. He’s become one of the ‘must read on publication day’ authors for me – sadly, an ever-growing list!

  1. I saw a review of this in the press, never having come across Ferris before and ordered it from the library on spec. What a discovery. I’ve now gone back to the beginning of the series and added Ferris to my list of authors whose new work I have to get hold of as soon as it comes out.

    • I think Pilgrim Soul is his best so far, but have enjoyed them all. I first came across him when The Hanging Shed took the Kindle charts by storm, but that was back before I started reviewing. I love the way he gets the Glaswegian dialect and humour just right.

      It was your post that reminded me to post this review – thank you! 🙂

Please leave a comment - I'd love to know who's visiting and what you think...of the post, of the book, of the blog, of life, of chocolate...

